Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

5 stars
Based on 25 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


29 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Mathews Elementary School 5

Posted August 19, 2013
- a parent
Mathews Elementary is a small, very diverse public school with very active and involved group of parents, teachers, and administrators. The teachers are invested in the education and well being of their students. I Love this school!

Mathews Elementary School 5

Posted August 13, 2013
- a parent
We moved into the UT family housing when my daughter was going to enter kindergarten. We couldn't have asked for a better neighborhood school. She absolutely loved it and thrived in the environment. Though we have had to move out of state, my daughter still mentions how much she misses her friends and teachers there. If we are ever going to be in Austin again, Mathews will be our priority school.


Mathews Elementary School 5

Posted July 17, 2013
- a community member
As a former student of Mathews, I can honestly going to this school was one of the best educational experiences of my life. Not only did it help me grow academically but socially as well. I made some of my best friends in the world there. The teachers are invested in the education and well being of their students and the staff members are always willing to help with any problem. The school has one of the most diverse student bodies you will see at an elementary school. Every student is given the experience of taking part in Cultural Festivals and sponsored nights like Science NIght and a Sock Hop! Overall this school allowed me to grow as a person while getting an education that exceeds all others.

Mathews Elementary School 5

Posted January 22, 2012
- a community member
I went to Mathews from Pre-K through 6th Grade, and it was the best experience for my childhood. I loved every single teacher and had a great group of friends. There is no finer staff that can be found, here they teach kids from all around. I am currently a Sophomore at UT and I plan on staying in Austin when I have children and I am sending them to Mathews.

Mathews Elementary School 5

Posted October 29, 2011
- a community member
i love this school it has wonderful staff members and everyone knows each other. most of the kids are nice and you get to have a great experience as you go through the grades. i wish everybody could go there and learn lots of things.


Mathews Elementary School 5

Posted July 09, 2011
- a parent
This is an amazing school! The staff is so supportive and helpful! With their support, my son blossomed into a happy kid who actually cared about his grades! I wish they offered 7th and 8th grade too!

Mathews Elementary School 5

Posted October 12, 2010
- a parent
Celebrates diversity and therefore everybody feels welcomed and proud of who they are and their origin. An exemplary school, it thrives encouraging great parent involvement as well as community support. Many of us moved to the area to remain in Mathews.

Mathews Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted October 29, 2009
- a parent
Mathews Elementary is a small, very diverse public school with a very active and involved group of parents, teachers and administrators. More that half of the students come from economically disadvantaged homes and 10 percent are considered homeless. We also have many international students whose parents are attending graduate school at UT. There are around 20 different languages spoken by the diverse student body. The teacher turn around is extremely low because everyone loves the school so much, it is a fabulous place to work. It feels like one big family. One parent said that every time she walks into the school it is like receiving a big hug and I think that sums it up pretty well. The icing on the cake is that we are so academically strong, we are ranked exemplary.


Mathews Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted October 29, 2009
- a parent
This is the best neighborhood school ever! A great principal and great teachers really make a difference. I wish every child had the opportunity to go to a school like Mathews!

Mathews Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted October 29, 2009
- a parent
Mathews Elementary is a wonderfully diverse and dedicated school with incredible community support. We feel so lucky that our children attend such an amazing school and are so happy as parents to be involved in our community.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Mathews Elementary School
906 West Lynn Street, Austin, TX  78703
(512) 414-4406
Last modified Mathews Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Mathews Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 29 reviews. Top