Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Stephens Episcopal School

Private | 6-12 | 656 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Austin

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $521,300. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,190.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 19, 2013

Both of our kids graduated from St. Stephen's and both loved their experiences there. Most of the teachers are absolutely fabulous, caring, creative, and highly intelligent. Most of the students are intellectually exceptional and very friendly, and the writing program is unsurpassed in Austin. The campus is beautiful. The small boarding program brings in kids from all over the world, which enhances the school in many ways. This is a warm and loving place. The volleyball, tennis, and soccer programs are also quite strong. Both of our kids are at Ivy League colleges and they say that St. Stephen's prepared them very, very well to get great grades in those settings.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2013

I have mixed feelings about this school. I think they are good at some things, such as writing, and weak at others, such as compter-related skills. Overall I am not sure it is worth the price tag. My daughters had a bit of trouble with rich, entitled classmates. We are not wealthy--grandparents paid the tuition--and my daughters felt out of place sometimes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2012

Excellent academics, sometimes indistinguishable from college-level courses. I attended all the classes on visiting days for parents, and was extremely impressed with the teachers. St Stephens had the reputation of teaching students how to write Ivy League-level essays, and this was true. My son loved St Stephens, and had such good training that his courses at a very competitive college didn't require any adjustment. There was no struggle at all. He wouldn't have switched to any other school in Austin.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2011

Great academics. Students will learn how to write like Ivy League College students by the time they're Juniors. Students get much support and help from teachers whether or not they want the help. A great place to play almost any sport you want competitively, with very strong Soccer, Tennis, and Volleyball programs; however, most other sports programs are fairly average.


Posted November 1, 2009

This school is about a full year ahead of our public school's pre-AP and GT classes/programs. The sports program allows everyone to participate, but not necessarily win (MS sports are not the school's strength). The teachers are awesome, caring, and challenge the kids. My son's work ethic and academic growth have been amazing since moving to St. Stephen's. I ask him if we wants to go back to his public school and get a resounding 'no'. Yes, he went from top of his class to now somewhere in the middle by changing schools, but now, he understands that just because you are bright you can't skate by, you must still work hard! Great life lesson!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 27, 2008

St. Stephen's is a wonderful school. As a parent of a middle-school student, I could not be more pleased. The school is expensive, but it is worth every penny. The academics are outstanding and the athletics are good in some areas. Although there are a few exceptions, the teachers are absolutely superb.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2008

Best school in the world! I cannot imagine my sons life without him not going there. I would highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2008

I am currently enrolled in this school, having just finished my junior year, and I can not imagine learning anywhere else. People are friendly. The teachers constantly challenge me in ways I never expected, and I feel more than prepared for what lies ahead. My only complaint is the administration and parents who believe St. Stephens needs to become an Exetor of the south when in reality St. Stephens small, liberal arts / intellectual feel is what makes this school great. School's Greatest Strength: Faculty School's Greatest Weakness: A growing population wealthy stuck up kids who feel that they are entitled to everything in life.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 26, 2008

Great academics, poor athletics and clubs and a lot of mis behaved students. But Great school, great teachers and great social activities!
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 19, 2008

Parent of a former student - a high stress place with spotty teaching and zero emotional support for stressed kids. Save your 20 k and look elsewhere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2007

Excellent environment for kids who might not have as many opportunities in public school. A student does not need to be super jock, super stud, or super cool, to fit in easily. Everyone is accepted by the inclusive student body. However, SSES is extremely challenging academically. Expect 3-4 hours minimum per night of homework, with many hours and dollars for tutoring. Most students are extremely bright. The international boarding students make SSES unique in Austin. Where else can your child intermix daily with students from Asia, Europe, South America and the Middle East? Unfortunately, the administration and Board of Trustees have been the school's weakest link. With them, money determines the rules.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2006

Excellent academic standards and the fine arts program is the best in Austin. The administration has been challenged in its handling of drugs and alcohol on campus and fails to treat all students equally. Failure at the highest levels to lead in a Christian-principaled manner.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2004

Our daughter is in her 4th year at St. Stephens. They have overcome many hurdles and misconceptions through the past couple of years. We are extremely happy in most every way with the leadership, values and commitment. Fundamentally and practically, there is no equal in providing a multicultural, challenging environment. We know our daughter will be very well prepared for college and life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2003

A wonderful school that provides an excellent atmosphere for learning, rigorous curriculum, and exposure to the best colleges and universitites in America.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 62% 31%
Asian or Pacific Islander 15% 4%
Hispanic 10% 51%
Black 6% 13%
Two or more races 6% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Episcopal
Associations
  • NAES
  • NAIS

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6500 Saint Stephens Drive
Austin, TX 78746
Website: Click here
Phone: (512) 327-1213

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT