Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Austin Waldorf School

Private | K-12 | 375 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Austin

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $290,200. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $880.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 7 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

38 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 19, 2009

This is the most wonderful school in Austin. My kid have been going for I've 10 years. They love it. You have to see it for your self.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2009

My two daughters attended K-12th grade. It's an oasis in an over-commercialized desert.


Posted September 19, 2009

The students always amaze me - they speak confidently, look you in the eye, and always have so many educational, athletic and artistic interests. The school is helping students grow into great adults!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2009

Amazing faculty and parents. Kids that will change the world and are taught to think and love to learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2009

Austin Waldorf is the best school because it nurtures mind, body, and spirit in a chalanging yet loving and natural environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2009

It is much different than most schools. All the students are made to feel they are able to do anything, music, art, sports, acting, sculpture,knitting, crochet, foreign language, all academic subjects, and they all succeed. My granddaughter, who will graduate in 2010, has gotten an excellent education at Austin Waldorf School


Posted September 18, 2009

Mr. Paredes is a great teacher!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2009

Very committed teachers and parents with a less technology-focused lifestyle result in a close-knit community that is more than just a school. The children don't get burned out with worksheets in first grade, and instead focus on creative play and stories rich in vocabulary. By the time they reach 3rd grade most are reading at or above level and are hungry for homework as it is introduced in 3rd grade and gradually increased. A strong bond with class and teacher is formed as they keep the same teacher in 1-8. And my 5th grader could tell you about every student in K-8 if asked, so don't buy the 'student's don't learn socialization' stuff. The high school is college prep and very rigorous academically and one of the biggest complaints is that it can't accept every student from 8th grade. Its a great school for creating independent adults ready for the 21st century.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2007

Bad points: 1.Students never fully learn socialization. They remain with their same small class and teacher from each year to the next. 2. Academics are not emphasized. Good Points: 1. Very beautiful, natural campus. The kids are very sheltered and protected here. They keep a sense of that childhood innocence much longer than average. 2. The arts here are extraordinary. You won't believe the craftmanship and artwork from the little kids!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2007

My daughter attends the Austin Waldorf School, and I am very grateful we made the decision to enroll her there. The balanced approach of 'heart, hands and mind' has helped her grow and develop emotionally, physically and intellectually. That being said, the Waldorf approach is not for everyone. Any educational system works best when it is supported by the home life. If you are enamored with early computer use for young children, I would encourage you to look elsewhere. But if you are hoping to find a pragmatic, integrated and respectful education for your child, the Austin Waldorf School is worth a visit to find out more. My wife is a former student, and recently completed her Ph.D.. A Waldorf education was an excellent foundation for her.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2007

My family was thrilled that we sent our children to Austin Waldorf. They are all(4) well rounded,loving and creative adults now. They all seemed to have chosen a livlihood that speaks to them and one they will love to get up every morning for. They are all artists and have given me joy to see, hear touch and feel the fruits of their creativity.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2007

Our son was enrolled - he is no longer attending because the school is not the arts integrated curriculum we first saw upon enrollment. Please look into Anthroposophy and the teachings of Rudolf Steiner (who the school and curriculum is based upon)before you enroll.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2006

An excellent thorough and balanced program that requires a significant commitment to the child and their developmental environment. Elementary work is typically nurturing. The middle- and high school curriculum is challenging but academically rewarding. The atmosphere is generally relaxed, but structure, self-discipline, and personal respect are integral to the process. If you don t view these concepts as essential to education, consider an alternate choice. Do take the time to fully understand the school s non-denominational pedagogy: it is not right for every child (or parent). The small enrollment typically creates a family-like bond between students and provides a desirable teacher/student ratio. For the same reason the school lacks resources to accommodate a wide range of special needs. Be honest about the needs of - and expectations for - your child. If you are not willing to meet the large personal and financial commitments, this is not the school for you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2006

Superb age/developmental approach, especially in grade school levels; music and arts outstanding to develop love of learning and the world; good at basic skills, social development; unique system of learning that makes transfer out more difficult.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2006

Very strict on many lifestyle issues. Not the laidback atmosphere we thought it would be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2006

The school claims to be non-denominational but we were told during the admissions process, by the teacher our child would have, that the school is Christian-focused. Also, know that you must prepare to change your entire lifestyle, at home and everywhere, if your child enters school here. Unless you were raised on a farm with no electronic media, it will be a shock to the system for junior (no TV, no radio, no computer, etc. until age 9 - they insist, and the other kids will snitch if they find out one of their peers isn't following the rules).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2005

Do your 'due diligence' before going through the admissions process. Check out Waldorf education and Anthroposophy in depth before you decide this is the place for your child. We found that there is much more than meets the eye to this particular cirriculum. Do the research, it can be tough if you, as parents do not believe in the Waldorf pedagogy. Ask for full disclosure.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2005

Although the quality of the programs and parent involvement here are extremely high, the social environment is rather oppressive. If your child attends this school, prepare to be judged and to possibly have your heart broken, no matter how devoted you are to the Waldorf philosophy. Infamous for expelling children with 'special needs' despite their politically correct PR. Highly recommend having a Plan B in mind.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 93% 31%
Hispanic 5% 51%
Asian or Pacific Islander 1% 4%
Black 1% 13%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • AWSNA
Fax number
  • (512) 301-8997

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Waldorf
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8700 South View Road
Austin, TX 78737
Website: Click here
Phone: (512) 288-5942

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Mr Darcy's Class
Austin, TX







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT