Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Casey Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 654 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 12, 2014

My son loves this school and I've found both of his teachers to be great. They do activities to get parents involved and are over all run very well. The Principal and Vice Principal are both very accessible. If I wasn't moving out of the whole district I'd definitely keep him enrolled here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2014

I Have A 4Th Grader & 2Nd Grader Who Have Been At Casey For Two Years.We Moved,But I Kept Them Enrolled At Casey,Since The Teachers & Curriculum Met Our Standards. Principal & vise Principal Are Very Pro Active With There Students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2014

Casey ES have a great SpEd program. All the teachers and staff works really good with the students with learning disabilities. My son is part of the SCORES program, he had Aspergers syndrome and he loves his school and his teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2013

I love this school and my kiddos too. Have a great staff and teachers. I really recommended this awesome school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2013

My son was at this school for pre k last year an I loved it so much that when we moved I kept him here. However this year has been a NIGHTMARE! My son came home on Friday with a note informing me that it was his teachers last day. The reason this is such a big deal is that this already happened once before. No child especially at such a young age should go through that at all let alone twice. No warning whatsoever they just "had personal issues" and had to leave according to the principal who by they way you can't trust for a minute. She'll tell you anything you want to hear true or not. So I don't buy the "personal issues" bit. I feel as though something more is going on here, somethings being covered up and she clearly does not have what's best for the children in mind. I would NOT in a million years recommend this school. One thing I do have to say is that my sons actually teachers have been wonderful esp given the circumstances they must have to put up with.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2011

This Elementary School is great and is Recognized by the TASK. The Principal is very involved and the teacher are great. My kids love this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2009

The teachers are wonderful but the principal is trying to do to much herself. The school is very organized and the kids know what they are suppose to do. I think it's great! My kids have been here for 5 years and there has been such a change over the last couple of years but there still needs more change with administration.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2009

I have five grandchildren at Casey and I will tell you that the best thing about the school is the Teacher quality. Most of the Teachers at this school are excellent. My greatest concern is about safety, however, in that pick-up after school is done in a way that, it is more important to keep the traffic moving...than it is in seeing that that the person picking up the children, has the authorization to do so. Sometimes, children are late coming out, which also adds to the backup of traffic for picking up children. Even when I have picked up children from the school office, I have never been asked to see an ID. An office staff member is very rude, to the children & adults...when children are not picked up on time. This school lacks after school programs.


Posted August 7, 2008

Casey is one of the best Austin ISD elementary schools. Teachers are wonderful and very smart. Can't wait for school to start!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2007

My children have been at Casey for several years and I'm ready to get out(so are they). When we first started looking at schools, I was all for Casey. I had heard it was a good school and that's what I wanted for my children. Well, now I just can't wait to get out of there! The principal is not at all friendly. The clerks in the admin office are very unfriendly. I will admit though, some of those teachers, esp the ones that have been there the longest, are very good at their job and they care about the kids at Casey.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2007

The teachers at Casey do an amazing job. The district has cut funding for summer school, tutoring and a number of other programs so any tutoring given by teachers is provided by school funds or the teacher just going the extra mile. My daughter is a struggling reader, but her first grade teacher spent hours working with her. The school is friendly and my children feel safe and supported there. The PTA is small and need lots more support from other parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2006

The parent involvement is very low with regards to PTA, etc. There are only a few really great teachers available at this school. I feel comfortable with the safety of the campus. The music teacher (Mr. Finkle) is wonderful, but of course the children don't get enough of the arts like all public schools. This school has well over 900 students, i feel that is way to large for a elementary school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2006

The staff and teachers at Casey have an emphasis on parent involvement at all levels. There is a 'team' environment that involves the student, each of the students teachers and the parents. This has created a very comfortable atmosphere for my child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2006

Some teachers and staffs are inconsiderate and not adequately trained in elementary school environment. Level of parernt involvement is low, and stay away if you can. We are moving out of this school district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2005

I think you can count the good teachers with one hand. The principal is not really friendly even though that she tries. Every year the traffic gets worst and the new traffic patterns do not work. Music teacher (Mr. Finkle) is awesome!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2005

Casey Elementary is a safe learning environment. We have been lucky with all of our son's teachers through the third grade. Some other teachers we have heard about...well, we would not want our son in their class. They do not tolerate bullying, which is a major plus. Academically the problems with Casey are systemic throughout all the public schools--the object seems to be to make sure every child meets certain minimum criteria instead of striving for every child to do the best that they can. Our son loved his teacher, was liked by his classmates, did exceptional on his report cards, commendable on the TAKS test and he still asked us to find him a new school because 'they do the same thing over and over again.' ON the bright side, the music teacher is excellent and the art teacher is good. hope this helps.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2004

My son and I moved here from Los Angeles, California approx. 1 1/2 years ago. He came in the middle of first grade. He struggled with reading at that point. He is now in third grade and has really thrived here at this school and his grades have dramatically increased. The staff and teachers have all been so wonderful and encouraging and helpful. Thank you Casey Elementary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2004

The teachers and students here are wonderful! It has been a joy being a parent of a student here. I feel they have done a great job in preparing us for the move to middle school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 89% in 2011.

90 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
93%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2011.

90 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2011.

102 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
78%
Math

The state average for Math was 88% in 2011.

103 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
87%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 90% in 2011.

102 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 82% in 2011.

89 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
86%
Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2011.

89 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
85%
Science

The state average for Science was 87% in 2011.

87 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
74%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students93%
Female98%
Male88%
Black or African American83%
Asiann/a
Hispanic93%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged90%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Special educationn/a
Not special education94%
Limited English proficient (LEP)88%
Proficient in English95%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant93%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students96%
Female96%
Male95%
Black or African American92%
Asiann/a
Hispanic95%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged94%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Special educationn/a
Not special education97%
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Proficient in English95%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant96%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students88%
Female85%
Male91%
Black or African American100%
Asian100%
Hispanic81%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged85%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Special education100%
Not special education87%
Limited English proficient (LEP)74%
Proficient in English95%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant88%
Gifted/talentedn/a

Math

All Students93%
Female93%
Male93%
Black or African American86%
Asian100%
Hispanic91%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged90%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special education89%
Not special education94%
Limited English proficient (LEP)87%
Proficient in English95%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant93%
Gifted/talentedn/a

Writing

All Students90%
Female93%
Male88%
Black or African American60%
Asian83%
Hispanic92%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White92%
Economically disadvantaged89%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Special education56%
Not special education94%
Limited English proficient (LEP)83%
Proficient in English92%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant90%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students85%
Female87%
Male82%
Black or African American63%
Asiann/a
Hispanic85%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged84%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Special education86%
Not special education85%
Limited English proficient (LEP)63%
Proficient in English87%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant85%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students89%
Female85%
Male94%
Black or African American88%
Asiann/a
Hispanic87%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged85%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Special education100%
Not special education88%
Limited English proficient (LEP)63%
Proficient in English91%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant89%
Gifted/talented100%

Science

All Students86%
Female87%
Male85%
Black or African American67%
Asiann/a
Hispanic85%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged85%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Special education71%
Not special education88%
Limited English proficient (LEP)63%
Proficient in English88%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant86%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 79% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
86%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
81%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 72% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
84%
Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
67%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 71% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
70%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 77% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
91%
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
88%
Science

The state average for Science was 73% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
85%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students83%
Female86%
Male81%
Black or African American80%
Asiann/a
Hispanic80%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White96%
Economically disadvantaged82%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Special education80%
Not special education84%
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Proficient in English83%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant83%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Gifted83%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students68%
Female78%
Male61%
Black or African American70%
Asiann/a
Hispanic56%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged59%
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Special education86%
Not special education67%
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Proficient in English67%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant68%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Gifted67%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students77%
Female84%
Male68%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic69%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged75%
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Special education71%
Not special education78%
Limited English proficient (LEP)67%
Proficient in English78%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant77%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Gifted76%
Bilingual67%

Math

All Students70%
Female82%
Male56%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic75%
Multiracial60%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White58%
Economically disadvantaged71%
Not economically disadvantaged68%
Special education30%
Not special education75%
Limited English proficient (LEP)67%
Proficient in English72%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant70%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Gifted69%
Bilingual67%

Writing

All Students81%
Female92%
Male66%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic79%
Multiracial80%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged82%
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Special education25%
Not special education86%
Limited English proficient (LEP)87%
Proficient in English82%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant81%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Gifted80%
Bilingual100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students90%
Female85%
Male95%
Black or African American100%
Asiann/a
Hispanic87%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White92%
Economically disadvantaged88%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Special education17%
Not special education95%
Limited English proficient (LEP)63%
Proficient in English92%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant90%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted89%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students90%
Female91%
Male89%
Black or African American67%
Asiann/a
Hispanic92%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged85%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Special education33%
Not special education96%
Limited English proficient (LEP)63%
Proficient in English91%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant90%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted89%
Bilingualn/a

Science

All Students80%
Female74%
Male87%
Black or African American58%
Asiann/a
Hispanic79%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged75%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Special education40%
Not special education85%
Limited English proficient (LEP)63%
Proficient in English81%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant80%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted79%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

  • In 2010-2011, this school was rated "Recognized".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Academically Acceptable".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Recognized".

About the tests


Texas uses Accountability Ratings to indicate the overall performance of each school and district. The ratings are based on TAKS test results, dropout rates for grades 7 and 8 and school completion rates for grades 9 through 12. Schools and districts rated under standard accountability procedures are designated as Exemplary, Recognized, Academically Acceptable or Academically Unacceptable. Schools and districts rated under alternative education accountability (AEA) procedures are designated as either AEA: Academically Acceptable or AEA: Academically Unacceptable.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 67% 52%
White 20% 29%
Black 6% 13%
Two or more races 4% 2%
Asian or Pacific Islander 2% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient (LEP) 18%N/A17%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Beginning teachers 5%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

9400 Texas Oaks Drive
Austin, TX 78748
Phone: (512) 841-6900

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT