Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Jerry R Junkins Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 747 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

52 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 12, 2013

This is one of the worst schools in this area. Teachers are mean to kids. I kind of agree with the robot review as I have observed the same thing too. The supplies that you buy for your kid won't be used for your kid because they will never know whose supply is whose.. Their organization skills are the worst.. I withdrew my son after a week from this school because he got selected elsewhere. When I went there to get back the supplies that I provided i got only half of what I gave them and that too all the brands and sizes were different. That's how I realized that the supplies I buy for my son wont be used anyways on him. I feel very bad about it. The evening pick up is a horror story. There is absolutely no security. Anybody can scoop into the cafeteria during the evening pick up. The principal although a very good person lacks capabilities to control his staff. One day I observed that parents waited for 45 minutes without a single kid being released So parents if you want to experience all this first hand please go ahead and your child in this school.. If you have options then please don't put your kid in this school. I feel for parents who don't have a choice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2013

My grandson goes to this school, and he is an A/B student. I believe the teachers are very caring and professional, as is the rest of the school staff. This is his third year at this school, and he has really flourished!


Posted August 6, 2013

This school is looks like the kids are robot's, all the children dress a like, walk a certain way, and follow robot motions that the teachers instill. Then can't talk at all while then are walking, they can't talk in the cafeteria even when they are through eating lunch and have to put there heads on the nasty/dirty tables when they are done until they get released. If they forget and accidently talk the whole class looses recess. You can hear teachers yelling from down the hall at the kids. The tests scores are awful and the kids walk around like zombie's. The only positive thing I can say about this pathetic school is they have a great after school play program to those kids fortunate enough to go to the after school program. This program is only offered through the after school program. This is the ONLY thing that is school has to offer. Other than that plan on your kids coming home sick all the time and Not learning anything but dirty words and how to put their head on the lunch room tables when they are done eating. This school should be shut down! I am ashamed a school in Texas is run like this. Parents be warned.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2013

My child has been enrolled at Jerry Junkins since kinder w/ mrs. Tilley. Went on to 1st w/ Mrs Brumbelow and 2nd grade w/ Mrs Decker. 2nd grade was a challenge due to teacher on maternity leave. We were upset at the lack of communication the sub provided to us as a parent. The dual language program in my opinion needs work. The concept is great but the follow thru needs MAJOR help! We love Junkins but communication is key. We are parents that want to know what our child is struggling with so we can provide one on one help at home. Waiting until report cards are sent is not helping anyone, especially a child. Aside from that Junkins is a good school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2013

We recently moved to this area from another state and I was so pleased by the school and its staff. They welcomed my daughter mid school year and helped her catch up to her fellow students. When we arrived she was one of a few Kinder kids not reading, I am so excited that as the school year comes to and end she is reading well beyond a 1st grade level and is loving it. This school is great!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2011

We moved to DISD from CFBISD with overwhelming challenges, having lost my job, I was forced to move and did not want to change schools. Now, the kids grades and behavior have improved and things are still improving daily. It makes me happy to hear about good days at school when the kids get home. The teachers act proud of their school and students. They are serious, competitive, and respectful. School has never been better for my kids. Every time that I enter that school, the principal and office staff are actively involved. I see them greeting the students, motivating them, they walk and talk to everybody they can actually doing above and beyond on everything. At the end of the day, they are still smiling even with tired eyes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2010

I am extremely pleased with this school... it's teachers & principal. We were planning to attend private school, and I was very worried when I realized we would be in a DISD public school. I have been so pleasantly surprised! My son is enrolled in the dual language program, and we couldn't be happier with the level of learning he is receiving... both academically & socially.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2010

The teachers are awesome. They went to bat for my daughter who was one of the straight A students that the principal was going to have to take out of school. Because of her teachers my kids get to stay. I thank them very much for this.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2010

Great School - teachers are kind, loving, and passionate about their class - makes a big difference!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2010

Junkins Is An amazing school. I do recomend this school to anyone looking to move into another district.....Go Jerry Junkins
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2009

We knew Walker would'nt be around long and she will be missed. She created a strong learning foundation for our children, one that will continue at Bryan Adams. Goooo Bryan Adams and Ms. Walker! We are glad Calhoun is staying on and we will support her and the teachers. The new PTA president was very impressive and friendly. The opening was very smooth and the new musical is already on its way. We love JJ and good luck Walker!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2009

The school look great and organized i like all my kid teachers they are kind and carring .My dream is to see junklins recognizes
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2009

The school looks great and all ready for students Monday! Go recognized? We say, Go Exemplary!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2009

It is obvious that the instruction our children received at Junkins carried on to the middle and high school. True Ms. Walker is very pretty, but she is also down to earth, humble and knows her business. I have never met a principal with more enthusiasm about instruction and all of our kids love her and the teachers. Her teachers share her energy. What a talented group of people. This is the most fun warm and loving school and we will be sad when our last has to leave. We were going to take our kids out of DISD when they got to Walker but decided to stay because we thought they had a strong foundation at Junkins. They are doing well there and we have great faith in DISD thanks to Junkins. We do think DISD could do a better job cutting lawns at both schools. Go recognized Junkins!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2009

True Ms. Walker is very pretty, ALSO she is down to earth, humble and knows her business. I have never met a principal with more enthusiasm about instruction and all of our kids love her and the teachers. The teachers share her energy. What a talented group. This is the most fun warm and loving school and we will be sad when our last has to leave. We were going to take our kids out of DISD when they got to middle school but decided to stay because we thought they had a strong foundation at Junkins. They are doing well there and we have great faith in DISD thanks to Junkins. We do think DISD could do a better job cutting lawns at both schools. GO RECOGNIZED JUNKINS HAVE A GREAT YEAR!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 2, 2008

We agree. Great school, great leadership, seems parental involvement is low though. Looks like we are finally getting the sign out front!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2008

As a British national I am new to the American education system. My daughter just joined kindergarten this year and the support I receive from her teacher Mrs. Tilley is outstanding. I am very impressed with the whole structure and staff at Jerry Junkins. I would highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2008

In the two years at Junkins and children at Marsh and White when she was there, I have never heard Ms. Walker raise her voice. She has great respect for our chilldren. No respect for education? Ha! Have you seen the school's scores or ever visited a classsroom? Doubtful. Our school is great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2008

My son went to this school and this was the worse school. The teachers and the principals yell at kids, their mean, they try to make the kids feels as if they are not worthy of a good education, and they tolarate bullies. The previous comments has to be from a different school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2008

What the principle looks like doesnt have anything to do with the education our children get (although my brother agrees with you :). Once you talk to her though you know how smart and focused she is on this school and the students and staff. Let's talk about what a great year my kids are having! There are less students this year and we moved back because they begged to go to Junkins. One of our children is in the 4th grde science class after school and can't quit talking about it! We love Ms. Walker (yes I know) and Ms. Sandford. The website is very informtional. The dirt lot across the street is awful though and some of the crazy things parents do in their cars, beware! this school shows up any Carrollton school. I hope our teachers get to stay.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 89% in 2011.

73 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
88%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2011.

94 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2011.

102 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
88%
Math

The state average for Math was 88% in 2011.

120 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
86%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 90% in 2011.

102 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 82% in 2011.

61 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
97%
Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2011.

72 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
92%
Science

The state average for Science was 87% in 2011.

57 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students96%
Female97%
Male94%
Black or African American93%
Asiann/a
Hispanic97%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged94%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education96%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English96%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant96%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students93%
Female94%
Male90%
Black or African American92%
Asiann/a
Hispanic91%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged90%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special education80%
Not special education93%
Limited English proficient (LEP)87%
Proficient in English94%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant93%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students78%
Female85%
Male71%
Black or African American70%
Asian100%
Hispanic73%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White89%
Economically disadvantaged72%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Special educationn/a
Not special education79%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English77%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant78%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students89%
Female86%
Male93%
Black or African American85%
Asian100%
Hispanic84%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged84%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education90%
Limited English proficient (LEP)95%
Proficient in English88%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant89%
Gifted/talented100%

Writing

All Students91%
Female91%
Male91%
Black or African American81%
Asian92%
Hispanic93%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged88%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Special education60%
Not special education93%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English91%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant91%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students97%
Female100%
Male94%
Black or African American96%
Asiann/a
Hispanic96%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged96%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education97%
Limited English proficient (LEP)83%
Proficient in English98%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant97%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students96%
Female94%
Male97%
Black or African American95%
Asiann/a
Hispanic95%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged95%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education96%
Limited English proficient (LEP)88%
Proficient in English98%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant96%
Gifted/talented100%

Science

All Students93%
Female87%
Male97%
Black or African American91%
Asiann/a
Hispanic93%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged91%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education95%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English92%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant93%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 79% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
71%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
45%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 72% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
73%
Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
65%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 71% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
74%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 77% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
86%
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
68%
Science

The state average for Science was 73% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
67%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students90%
Female92%
Male89%
Black or African American84%
Asian100%
Hispanic89%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged87%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Special educationn/a
Not special education90%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English90%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant90%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted87%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students74%
Female78%
Male71%
Black or African American77%
Asian100%
Hispanic67%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged72%
Not economically disadvantaged80%
Special educationn/a
Not special education74%
Limited English proficient (LEP)55%
Proficient in English74%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant74%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted67%
Bilingual56%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students69%
Female73%
Male66%
Black or African American70%
Asian75%
Hispanic63%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White70%
Economically disadvantaged64%
Not economically disadvantaged78%
Special educationn/a
Not special education69%
Limited English proficient (LEP)67%
Proficient in English69%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant69%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted65%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students51%
Female59%
Male44%
Black or African American52%
Asian71%
Hispanic47%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White60%
Economically disadvantaged41%
Not economically disadvantaged78%
Special educationn/a
Not special education52%
Limited English proficient (LEP)42%
Proficient in English52%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant51%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted45%
Bilingual45%

Writing

All Students68%
Female73%
Male63%
Black or African American59%
Asian75%
Hispanic63%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White90%
Economically disadvantaged59%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Special educationn/a
Not special education69%
Limited English proficient (LEP)67%
Proficient in English67%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant68%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted63%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students85%
Female83%
Male87%
Black or African American91%
Asiann/a
Hispanic77%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White91%
Economically disadvantaged81%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Special education80%
Not special education86%
Limited English proficient (LEP)62%
Proficient in English86%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant85%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted83%
Bilingual67%

Math

All Students73%
Female81%
Male64%
Black or African American65%
Asiann/a
Hispanic72%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White82%
Economically disadvantaged66%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Special educationn/a
Not special education73%
Limited English proficient (LEP)68%
Proficient in English73%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant73%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted68%
Bilingual78%

Science

All Students77%
Female84%
Male70%
Black or African American68%
Asiann/a
Hispanic75%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged70%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Special educationn/a
Not special education78%
Limited English proficient (LEP)73%
Proficient in English78%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant77%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted73%
Bilingual80%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

  • In 2010-2011, this school was rated "Recognized".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Exemplary".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Recognized".

About the tests


Texas uses Accountability Ratings to indicate the overall performance of each school and district. The ratings are based on TAKS test results, dropout rates for grades 7 and 8 and school completion rates for grades 9 through 12. Schools and districts rated under standard accountability procedures are designated as Exemplary, Recognized, Academically Acceptable or Academically Unacceptable. Schools and districts rated under alternative education accountability (AEA) procedures are designated as either AEA: Academically Acceptable or AEA: Academically Unacceptable.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 51% 50%
Black 26% 13%
White 14% 31%
Asian 4% 3%
Two or more races 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Robby G Wilson
Fax number
  • (972) 502-2401

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2808 Running Duke Dr
Carrollton, TX 75204
Phone: (972) 502-2400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Newfound School
Carrollton, TX





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT