Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

College Park High School

Public | 9-12 | 2695 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 16, 2011

I just transferred a couple of months ago, and I already love this school. I am in my sophmore year and I already met a lot of very special people. The education is great. Although a lot of teachers are coaches, they still do their job very fine. I am very thankfull that I found this school and very proud to be a cavalier. Go Cavs!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 19, 2010

My daughter has attended there since sophomore year and is a senior now. They have good opportunities there in many areas. She took advantage of the Cosmetology program and will have her license by the time she graduates school. She loves the program. We moved here from another state so she naturally likes her old school better. She has made good friends, but just like others schools too you have to watch out for the bad mix of students. Overall it's a good school with great opportunities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

College Park offers so many diverse and interesting courses. It's teachers a dedicated and they keep the kids motivated.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 10, 2009

I Just moved to the woodlands, texas and i attended college park my sophmore year. And to be honest, i hated this school. I got straight As, the education is easy. But it was very hard to make friends, easy to get mixed up in the wrong crowds. There were some girls that made fun of me too, just didnt like the people here. I'm glad to be transferring, I'd suggest a different school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 7, 2009

I am a sophomore at College Park, and I have attended alot of schools in different states and districts, but College Park by far is the best school I have ever attended. The teachers are amazing, they push each student and give them every chance and every opportunity to excel in their classroom. Yes, there are quite a number of coaches, but they do their job just fine. The school expects alot from each student, there is no slacking. But all in all, I would never go to another school under any circumstance. College Park gives students every preparation for College and I am proud to be a Cavalier.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 17, 2009

My daughter is a Junior at College Park and I cannot imagine ever sending her somewhere else. She has excelled under the teachers and programs here and is going to be ready for college. What more can you ask from a school. A great campus as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2009

CPHS is a great school, I'm so thankful they built it, rather than continuing to over-crowd the other Woodlands high school. It's a beautiful campus, there are so many opportunities for kids to be involved and the faculty are top-notch! We have had some coach teachers that did not do a good job of teaching (spanish), but my oldest is doing fantastic in college due to the preparation from the majority of TWCP teachers. Many of the teachers are tough, but they care about the kids and want them to succeed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2008

While the variety of classes was very good, too many of the teachers and teaching methods were a disappointment. For a struggling student, I found help was hard to come by. My child found the most of the kids too superficial as well. She felt more warehoused than a part of things. We moved to a smaller school when she was a sophomore, and she was happier. Even though the school she ended up in is usually rated lower than College Park, she learned more and is doing fine in college.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2008

I am a student at TWCP, and I have to say..it is one of the best high schools i have been too, unfortunatley the teachers and the teaching methods do need improvement. There are way too many coaches here at this school, and mostly the way they teach is giving notes, then a quiz, then a test. There is not really much teaching involved.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 25, 2007

This is a great school..whoever says the academics are below their standards is incorrect. My daughter has gone to many exemplary schools in the Houston area and this is by far the best and most challenging..even as she is in all honors and AP classes. College Park High is a beautiful school with a warm, intelligent staff and the kids are just as polite, welcoming my daughter as a transfer student. I highly recommend this school to any parent that is picky about where their child is educated and who their peers are.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 28, 2007

I have been somewhat disappointed by the quality of my child's teachers, many of whom are coaches. Many of these teachers minored in a subject area but their hearts are in their sports and not in the classroom. They are certainly not 'steeped' in their subject areas in most cases. Yes, there are exceptions to the rule but, for the most part, what I'm saying is true---I have many years of teaching experience myself and can speak with some authority. Also, I was hoping that he would be exposed to some of the newer experiences in learning: team teaching, collaborative learning, projects, etc. This school is 'old school' when it comes to teaching methods. As an example, he did very little in the way of labs in science.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2006

A great School .My Son is in His junior year and the Teachers and Staff are Tough but Great with My Son.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 89% in 2011.

640 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
99%
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2011.

630 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 91% in 2011.

588 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
97%
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2011.

585 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
88%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2011.

587 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
89%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 93% in 2011.

584 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 95% in 2013.

605 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
98%
Math

The state average for Math was 89% in 2013.

604 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
96%
Science

The state average for Science was 95% in 2013.

602 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
96%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 98% in 2013.

606 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students98%
Female98%
Male98%
Black or African American100%
Asian100%
Hispanic95%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged95%
Special education81%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a

Math

All Students94%
Female93%
Male95%
Black or African American89%
Asian100%
Hispanic88%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged92%
Special education67%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a

Science

All Students97%
Female97%
Male96%
Black or African American89%
Asian100%
Hispanic92%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged88%
Special education55%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a

Social Studies

All Students99%
Female99%
Male100%
Black or African American100%
Asian100%
Hispanic98%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White99%
Economically disadvantaged97%
Special education90%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

  • In 2010-2011, this school was rated "Academically Acceptable".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Recognized".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Recognized".

About the tests


Texas uses Accountability Ratings to indicate the overall performance of each school and district. The ratings are based on TAKS test results, dropout rates for grades 7 and 8 and school completion rates for grades 9 through 12. Schools and districts rated under standard accountability procedures are designated as Exemplary, Recognized, Academically Acceptable or Academically Unacceptable. Schools and districts rated under alternative education accountability (AEA) procedures are designated as either AEA: Academically Acceptable or AEA: Academically Unacceptable.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 78% in 2013.

423 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
90%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 97% in 2013.

244 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
100%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 85% in 2013.

695 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
95%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 84% in 2013.

614 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
63%
English I Reading

The state average for English I Reading was 65% in 2013.

706 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
86%
English I Writing

The state average for English I Writing was 48% in 2013.

726 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
78%
English II Reading

The state average for English II Reading was 78% in 2013.

616 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
n/a
English II Writing

The state average for English II Writing was 52% in 2013.

620 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
n/a
English III Reading

The state average for English III Reading was 63% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English III Writing

The state average for English III Writing was 42% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 86% in 2013.

570 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
100%
Physics

The state average for Physics was 81% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
77%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
88%
World Geography

The state average for World Geography was 75% in 2013.

695 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
93%
World History

The state average for World History was 70% in 2013.

625 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Algebra I

All Students89%
Female87%
Male91%
Black or African American84%
Asian88%
Hispanic87%
Multiracial81%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White91%
Economically disadvantaged85%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Special education47%
Not special education91%
Limited English proficient (LEP)50%
Proficient in English90%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant89%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted89%
Bilingualn/a

Algebra II

All Students99%
Female100%
Male98%
Black or African American100%
Asian100%
Hispanic100%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White99%
Economically disadvantaged94%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education99%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English99%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant99%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted99%
Bilingualn/a

Biology I

All Students96%
Female95%
Male96%
Black or African American85%
Asian96%
Hispanic94%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged91%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Special education64%
Not special education97%
Limited English proficient (LEP)62%
Proficient in English96%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant96%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted95%
Bilingualn/a

Chemistry

All Students92%
Female94%
Male91%
Black or African American81%
Asian98%
Hispanic88%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White93%
Economically disadvantaged83%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Special education38%
Not special education94%
Limited English proficient (LEP)64%
Proficient in English93%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant92%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted91%
Bilingualn/a

English I Reading

All Students88%
Female89%
Male88%
Black or African American79%
Asian90%
Hispanic81%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White92%
Economically disadvantaged79%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Special education25%
Not special education90%
Limited English proficient (LEP)28%
Proficient in English91%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant88%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted86%
Bilingualn/a

English I Writing

All Students73%
Female76%
Male70%
Black or African American58%
Asian85%
Hispanic60%
Multiracial81%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White78%
Economically disadvantaged57%
Not economically disadvantaged76%
Special education0%
Not special education75%
Limited English proficient (LEP)16%
Proficient in English76%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant73%
Gifted/talented98%
Not Gifted69%
Bilingualn/a

English II Reading

All Students95%
Female96%
Male95%
Black or African American92%
Asian95%
Hispanic89%
Multiracial94%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged95%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Special education69%
Not special education96%
Limited English proficient (LEP)50%
Proficient in English97%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant95%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted95%
Bilingualn/a

English II Writing

All Students84%
Female86%
Male83%
Black or African American80%
Asian93%
Hispanic75%
Multiracial88%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White87%
Economically disadvantaged76%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Special education23%
Not special education86%
Limited English proficient (LEP)21%
Proficient in English86%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant84%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted81%
Bilingualn/a

English III Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Giftedn/a

English III Writing

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Giftedn/a

Geometry

All Students95%
Female95%
Male95%
Black or African American86%
Asian96%
Hispanic89%
Multiracial92%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged86%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Special education50%
Not special education96%
Limited English proficient (LEP)75%
Proficient in English96%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant95%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted95%
Bilingualn/a

Physics

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Giftedn/a

U.S. History

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Giftedn/a

World Geography

All Students93%
Female91%
Male95%
Black or African American80%
Asian96%
Hispanic89%
Multiracial96%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White96%
Economically disadvantaged83%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Special education55%
Not special education94%
Limited English proficient (LEP)53%
Proficient in English94%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant93%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted92%
Bilingualn/a

World History

All Students94%
Female93%
Male95%
Black or African American88%
Asian98%
Hispanic86%
Multiracial94%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged83%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Special education55%
Not special education95%
Limited English proficient (LEP)67%
Proficient in English95%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant94%
Gifted/talented99%
Not Gifted93%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 63% 29%
Hispanic 20% 52%
Asian or Pacific Islander 8% 4%
Black 6% 13%
Two or more races 3% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient (LEP) 3%N/A17%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Beginning teachers 1%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Visual arts
  • Architecture

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Architecture
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
  • Textile design
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
  • Theory
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • German
  • Japanese
  • Spanish
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MARK MURRELL
Fax number
  • (936) 709-3019

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • German
  • Japanese
  • Spanish

Resources

Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Architecture
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
  • Textile design
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
  • Theory
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3701 College Park Drive
Conroe, TX 77384
Website: Click here
Phone: (936) 709-3000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Pcal Christian School
The Woodlands, TX


Academy of S & T
Conroe, TX




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT