Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Mireles Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 632 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

22 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 15, 2013

Mireles Elementary is an outstanding school with wonderful teachers! The teachers and staff all help to give students knowledge to follow their dreams and succeed!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2013

Mireles Elementary is a wonderful school. I have two children currently enrolled and they excel in their class. The teachers and staff are always willing to help the students. The parent involvement that you see is outstanding. I recommend Mireles Elementary to every parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2013

I would recommend Mireles Elementary School to anyone of my friends or family. I had kids in 2 different schools last year and was able to see a huge difference in the schools. Mireles out did the other school in every area. The teachers and staff are awesome and care about each student. I feel my girls are getting one on one attention in a class of around 22 kids. My girls love going to Mireles elementary school and sometime its hard to get them to leave. LOL
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2013

Mireles Elementary is amazing school. The Teachers, Administrators, and Staff are dedicated and hard working. There are many evenings after 6:00 pm, that have driven by the school and the parking lot is still half full. My children have loved Mireles. They have exceded my expectations with their academic achievements. They have made great friends. I honestly could not ask for a better experience then we have had at Mireles Elementary. Being a parent of two elementary age children, the only thing I wish this school had were more after school enrichment programs, for K-3rd graders.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2013

I love this school! My son went kindergarten through fifth grade here and he received an awesome education. Even though we had a few bumps in his younger years with immaturity, and I wasn't a big fan of the "card system" on behavior, I still have to give it five stars because of the excellent teachers, administrators and academics. I have to agree with another reviewer who mentioned other schools give the children a chance to flip card back to a good behavior color if their day improves. This would be the only thing I would change at the school, oh and allowing a pink, purple or any other "girl" color into the dress code. I still have a daughter there! Kids do have to learn to do well on tests, that's a fact of life and they will do well if they attend this school and have the support of their parents! This school has a lot to offer our youth, book clubs, running club, dance team etc. The teachers are great about keeping the parents up to speed on what's going on daily. I can't say enough about this outstanding school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2013

We have had a great experience with this school. They have amazing teachers, staff and support. Their interaction is great, they produce strong students. We have come to know many of the teachers, and they all strive to do so much and give so much to the kids. They are constantly looking for new and interesting activities. The whole school participates in events, such as decorating for Holidays, or the school festival. We will possible be moving soon and I really hope we can find a similar, loving place when we do.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2011

Having been at Mireles since it opened in 2000 and been actively involved in the school I can say that I highly recommend it to anyone. The only critisizm I hear is that it can be too strict - I disagree - if the students behave well, as most of them do, then there is not a problem. The school sets high standards and that is reflected in the successes of the students. All Texas schools have to focus on TAKS scores and if the students are receiving the excellent attention they receive at Mireles then good results can only follow. Students considered "at risk" or those needing special help are given extra coaching by after school tutoring, and by parent volunteers. The parent involvement is high, families are encouraged into the school at various school and PTA events and the staff are always willing to discuss individual concerns.I cannot rate this school highly enough for organization, communication, dedication and professionalism of staff, personal attention to students and family /volunteer involvement. Mireles has one of the highest numbers of volunteer hours in CCISD and every teacher and volunteer genuinely cares about the success of the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2011

I have two children who attend Mireles. My older child does well there. They do focus a LOT on passing the test but overall the teachers and staff are great. It seems a lot like a private school with the uniforms and all. My other child needs a lot of "extra help" with his work and I find that he is going to fall behind more because he's not really "test worthy". So I have to split the difference on the pro and con. It's tough.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 21, 2010

We are new to the area and chose Mireles based on greatschools reviews. Once there, my two daughters are doing great. The school is beautiful and they have very nice materials & library. The PTA is very active and the principal and Vice-principal are always around the children - not back in their offices unaccessible. I think the boys seem to have a harder time with the rules, and I feel bad for them. Girls seem more able to sit and do work - but that is probably true most places. Academics is highly regarded - the cafeteria even has college banners up and the idea of going to college is already put into their minds. Overall, we are very pleased
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2009

The school is well cared for and most of the teachers and staff are friendly. However, I feel that this school really misses the mark when it comes down to the individual child. The goal of any school should be 'what is best for the child' and not what is most convenient. I know firsthand how ineffective the discipline chart is for kindergarteners at this school. Nearby schools that use the same type of discipline chart actually allow children to 'flip' their cards back if their day improves. The administrators at Mireles are blinded by their egos and refuse to see what is best for their students. I would not recommend this school to any parent wants to continue to inspire their child to be an independent thinker.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2008

This is a very active school. The administration, teachers and parents are very involved! The rules are sometimes too strict and inconvenient for more flexible parents. They do try to maintain a high test and attendance average that is both a pro and a con. I sometimes wish they would be more concerned about the individual needs of the student body instead of over-focusing on school averages. However, all and all, it is a good school. I was reading about the over-crowding, and that has been taken care of last year (2007) when they opened Faye Webb, a new school...it is back to a healthy student/teacher ratio.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2008

This school is only concerned with test scores. It is also known to be harsh with the kids and has poor communication with the parents. We are a military family and would not recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2007

Mireles Elementary is truly the best elementary school in Corpus Christi. The fine leadership of the principal, compassion and devotion of the teachers and outstanding parental involvement are a few aspects that make Mireles a great place to be. Look at our TAKS scores this year. They alone speak volumes!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2007

We are very pleased with Mireles. Our daughter is in 5th grade and we love her teacher. It shows in her tests (She got 100% in the TAKS tests) and also for the first time she has shown interest in other extra-curricular activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2006

best elementary school in Corpus - Truly committed teachers and staff who do whatever it takes to make sure no child is left behind!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 11, 2006

This is the perfect school for new comers to Kindergarten. They are very welcoming to children from out of state and very academically driven. As well as given the best information for us to make the best decision for our child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2005

This is a very nice public school, fairly overcrowded though, and unfortunately the Corpus Christi public school system did away with any advanced classes ('Ace') program a couple of years ago. The current principal and staff is excellent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2004

My son attended Mireles in the 1st and 2nd grades. The school really focuses on reading. It also rewards those students who achieve high academically. My son's teachers were great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2004

Overall, Mireles is an amazing school. Wonderful teachers, great principal, very active parent volunteers. The overcrowding is a problem and with new development all over the area, will probably become more so of a problem in the future. My son eats lunch at 1 pm, as they have no room in the cafeteria. Lunches begin at 10am and end after 1 pm, in order to accomadate all the students. I can not imagine what they are going to do in years to come. Academically, this is a great school, as proven by the test scores. The teachers and principal have very high expectations for these students, and the students achieve them. I would highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2004

There is a very peaceful and calm atmosphere at Mireles Elementary. Despite its large student population, the school is well organized and focuses on learning, school safety and parent involvement. It has a very large parent volunteer base and the administrators always welcome parent input and parent involvement. The teachers are dedicated and genuinely love their students. The school faces challenges daily from overcrowded parking to increased portable classroom usage. The staff, faculty and adminstrators have taken on these challenges and have found workable solutions to most of the problems they present. I would not hesitate to send my child to Mireles Elementary School.
—Submitted by a staff


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 89% in 2011.

91 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
100%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2011.

91 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2011.

98 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
98%
Math

The state average for Math was 88% in 2011.

99 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
98%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 90% in 2011.

98 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 82% in 2011.

94 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
100%
Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2011.

94 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
99%
Science

The state average for Science was 87% in 2011.

93 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students99%
Female100%
Male97%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian100%
Hispanic98%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Special educationn/a
Not special education99%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English99%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant99%
Gifted/talentedn/a

Math

All Students98%
Female96%
Male100%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian100%
Hispanic98%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged95%
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Special educationn/a
Not special education98%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English98%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant98%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students95%
Female94%
Male95%
Black or African American88%
Asian100%
Hispanic98%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White92%
Economically disadvantaged96%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Special educationn/a
Not special education95%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English95%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant95%
Gifted/talentedn/a

Math

All Students98%
Female100%
Male97%
Black or African American100%
Asian100%
Hispanic95%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged96%
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Special educationn/a
Not special education98%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English98%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant98%
Gifted/talentedn/a

Writing

All Students99%
Female100%
Male98%
Black or African American100%
Asian100%
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Special educationn/a
Not special education99%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English99%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant99%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students97%
Female96%
Male98%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian100%
Hispanic95%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged89%
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Special educationn/a
Not special education97%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English97%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant97%
Gifted/talentedn/a

Math

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian100%
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education100%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant100%
Gifted/talentedn/a

Science

All Students95%
Female91%
Male98%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian100%
Hispanic93%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged89%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Special educationn/a
Not special education96%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English94%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant95%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 79% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
88%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
84%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 72% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
95%
Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
87%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 71% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
91%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 77% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
90%
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
91%
Science

The state average for Science was 73% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
87%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students93%
Female94%
Male91%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian100%
Hispanic91%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged93%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Special education67%
Not special education95%
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Proficient in English92%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant93%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted93%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students85%
Female81%
Male89%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian100%
Hispanic83%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged89%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Special education67%
Not special education86%
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Proficient in English84%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant85%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted85%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students80%
Female85%
Male74%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian90%
Hispanic81%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White80%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Special educationn/a
Not special education81%
Limited English proficient (LEP)80%
Proficient in English81%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant80%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted80%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students76%
Female77%
Male74%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian80%
Hispanic74%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White80%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Special educationn/a
Not special education75%
Limited English proficient (LEP)60%
Proficient in English77%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant76%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted76%
Bilingualn/a

Writing

All Students87%
Female94%
Male80%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian90%
Hispanic83%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged73%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Special educationn/a
Not special education89%
Limited English proficient (LEP)60%
Proficient in English88%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant87%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted87%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students95%
Female98%
Male89%
Black or African American100%
Asian80%
Hispanic95%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged85%
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Special education100%
Not special education95%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English95%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant95%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted95%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students90%
Female95%
Male80%
Black or African American80%
Asian100%
Hispanic88%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White93%
Economically disadvantaged78%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Special education83%
Not special education90%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English90%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant90%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted90%
Bilingualn/a

Science

All Students82%
Female83%
Male81%
Black or African American60%
Asian100%
Hispanic76%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White93%
Economically disadvantaged73%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Special education83%
Not special education82%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English82%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant82%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted82%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

  • In 2010-2011, this school was rated "Exemplary".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Exemplary".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Exemplary".

About the tests


Texas uses Accountability Ratings to indicate the overall performance of each school and district. The ratings are based on TAKS test results, dropout rates for grades 7 and 8 and school completion rates for grades 9 through 12. Schools and districts rated under standard accountability procedures are designated as Exemplary, Recognized, Academically Acceptable or Academically Unacceptable. Schools and districts rated under alternative education accountability (AEA) procedures are designated as either AEA: Academically Acceptable or AEA: Academically Unacceptable.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 56% 52%
White 33% 29%
Asian or Pacific Islander 6% 4%
Black 5% 13%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Two or more races N/A 2%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient (LEP) 5%N/A17%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Beginning teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: CRDC, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7658 Cimarron Boulevard
Corpus Christi, TX 78414
Website: Click here
Phone: (361) 994-6960

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Yorktown Christian Academy
Corpus Christi, TX


Jones Elementary School
Corpus Christi, TX


Rise Academy
Corpus Christi, TX


Moore Elementary School
Corpus Christi, TX


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT