Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
21 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 31 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Edwin J Kiest Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted June 02, 2016
- a parent
They are loving and I feel safe dropping off my child every morning. Pnly down fall is durimg lunch when I cant protect my child from that unconsiderate lunch staff

Edwin J Kiest Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted June 02, 2016
- a parent
They are very considerateamd responsible with students as to where they are and whp theyre going home with.


Edwin J Kiest Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted June 02, 2016
- a parent
My child does well with homework. She likes to finish before dinner. She finds it challenging.

Edwin J Kiest Elementary School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted June 02, 2016
- a parent
My child comes home excited about learning. She likes dpimg her homework and spending time alone

Edwin J Kiest Elementary School
Develops respect: Disagree

Posted June 02, 2016
- a parent
The main office lady is non-attentive and always gives my child her lunch late only cause I didnt tell my daugher to pick it up herself. Terrible


Edwin J Kiest Elementary School
Develops empathy: Agree

Posted June 02, 2016
- a parent
Only the teachers have I seen have that desire to teach and embrace it to the kids.

Edwin J Kiest Elementary School
Develops honesty: Neutral

Posted June 02, 2016
- a parent
Teachers are awesome, only not when eating lunch. Lunch staff yell and agitate the kids instead of talking to the kids with respect and giving fair warnings. They want the cafeteria to be completely quiet. Plus my daughter has commented to me about the cafeteria staff making her choose another food item when all she wanted was a salad.

Edwin J Kiest Elementary School 2

Posted June 02, 2016
- a parent
Good and honest teachers, only cafeteria staff are very mean to the children during lunch. I myself feels threatend when im there to eat with my child. The kids get yelled at and get blown a loud whistle for talking to loud. I remember my ears hurting and just wanting to leave. I can only imagine the poor kids having to deal with this everyday. I am thinking about enrolling my child else where next year.


Edwin J Kiest Elementary School 3

Posted May 17, 2012
- a teacher
Communication, Compassion, Responsibility, Active Listening, Respect, Humbleness.........Not just from one group, but from all: administration, community, staff, and students. Please, ask yourself this question before leaving a comment: At the end of the day, did I do everything I could to make E.J. Kiest successful? Yes, E.J. Kiest is AU...This status has been ingested into our system and had time to marinate into our brains :), but it's time to move foward! Start changing your mindset!!!!! This mindset must come from every group: Administration, Staff, Parents, and Students. I guarantee once that mindset changes, you will see a powerful transformation that will make E.J Kiest EXEMPLARY! But it will take more than a few words written for a review, it will take believing in your administration, teachers, community, and students! Thank You!

Edwin J Kiest Elementary School 1

Posted May 16, 2012
- a teacher
Morale is still low don't be fooled. Humiliation, people are tricked into quitting, or released by the opinion of one inexperienced individual who wrote the last blog. Looks like administration. Thank God for freedom of speech. Some teachers can no longer be bullied. He fired us experienced teachers. Hopefully now its your turn.

Nearby schools

Edwin J Kiest Elementary School
2611 Healey Drive, Dallas, TX  75228
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 31 reviews. (972) 502-5600
Last modified Edwin J Kiest Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top