Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

3 stars
Based on 20 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


23 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Edwin J Kiest Elementary School 3

Posted May 17, 2012
- a teacher
Communication, Compassion, Responsibility, Active Listening, Respect, Humbleness.........Not just from one group, but from all: administration, community, staff, and students. Please, ask yourself this question before leaving a comment: At the end of the day, did I do everything I could to make E.J. Kiest successful? Yes, E.J. Kiest is AU...This status has been ingested into our system and had time to marinate into our brains :), but it's time to move foward! Start changing your mindset!!!!! This mindset must come from every group: Administration, Staff, Parents, and Students. I guarantee once that mindset changes, you will see a powerful transformation that will make E.J Kiest EXEMPLARY! But it will take more than a few words written for a review, it will take believing in your administration, teachers, community, and students! Thank You!

Edwin J Kiest Elementary School 1

Posted May 16, 2012
- a teacher
Morale is still low don't be fooled. Humiliation, people are tricked into quitting, or released by the opinion of one inexperienced individual who wrote the last blog. Looks like administration. Thank God for freedom of speech. Some teachers can no longer be bullied. He fired us experienced teachers. Hopefully now its your turn.


Edwin J Kiest Elementary School 4

Posted May 15, 2012
- a teacher
I feel this school is on an upward trend. Morale was quite low several years ago with both teacher and parent complaints however, it has come a long way since that time. Staff seems to be learning more and being held accountable to the children's needs. They for the most part also seem attentive to the communitys' needs. I would also like to note that the only academic area for growth that this school has is in writing. Reading, Math, and Science were all at the Recognized range.

Edwin J Kiest Elementary School 1

Posted March 25, 2012
- a community member
The school was recognized because the teachers were able to use their knowledge and talents to help all students. They are well prepared and up to date in educational needs. Now with this administration that does not know anything about running a successful school it became unacceptable. If the administrators continue at this school it is doomed to fail again. Both, the principal and the assistant principal are tyrants and are misusing their powers. Their program is not working because according to them is based research, ignoring the needs of the students in the neighborhood. Worst leaders ever

Edwin J Kiest Elementary School 1

Posted February 01, 2012
- a community member
Stop making weird and noneffective experiments with the students switching languages and firing experienced teachers replacing them with brand new ones so they wont complain about the lack of organization and awful treat. This school is a mess, and I wont recommend anyone to enroll their kids here, go to mesquite or garland better!! DISD is a complete chaos and it will get worse next year.


Edwin J Kiest Elementary School 1

Posted October 03, 2011
- a parent
This school is worth a flip just like DISD. The only district in dfw that is constantly in the news about some scandal going on or missing funds. This school is unorganized and lacks leadership. School year started in august and in October they decide to make all these teacher changes and classroom changes. Couldn't they have figured this out before school started? I'm still waiting on the parent guide that I was told was in the process of printing back in august. My fourth grade son doesn't even get a locker so he has to carry a heavy backpack filled to the max? Really? No wonder this school performed poorly and is rated below average. The administration is a joke and needs to be fired and started from scratch. Poor kids and parents that are stuck attending here. This school and district is the reason why I'm ashamed to say I live in Dallas .

Edwin J Kiest Elementary School 2

Posted September 06, 2011
- a parent
I have found with this school that if something is not going well with your child, do not expect a phone call from them. Last year my son was bullyed all year with the teachers and the ass. priciple knowing about it. I called a nuber of times to get this all worked out. Never got a call! Till my son at 9 yrs old took it into his own hands, when one of the bullies stole his hat.He fought back and in the end was suspended for a day :( why is it that he had to do that and the teacher was no where to be found. Never got a phone call about the suspention!!! My mother in law almost called the cops because he never came out of the school. NO PHONE CALL!!!!

Edwin J Kiest Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted October 03, 2009
- a parent
I love the school, both of my children attended. I have not had this problem out of all the years my children have attended if anything they were calling and telling too much but never not telling enough. Never any racial favorites.


Edwin J Kiest Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted September 28, 2009
- a parent
lack of supervision...racial favorets, and lack of teaches telling parents about things that happen to there child, that r defintly the parents right to decide what is best for there child.

Edwin J Kiest Elementary School 2

Posted May 19, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Edwin J Kiest Elementary School
2611 Healey Drive, Dallas, TX  75228
(972) 502-5600
Last modified Edwin J Kiest Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Edwin J Kiest Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 23 reviews. Top