Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
33 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 35 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


J L Long Middle School 5

Posted March 19, 2014
- a community member
Many parents would like their child in another schools but many children that are in in 5th grade their years continue what about your child many things have change this year many children move living their elementary school friends that they now for 7 years

J L Long Middle School 1

Posted February 10, 2014
- a community member
My sister goes to this school and it's the worst school ever! This will be the last year she will be there. The teachers are no good and just don't care about their students and behavior. I would NOT recommend this school!


J L Long Middle School 1

Posted February 05, 2014
- a parent
I would not consider this school to be a learning friendly school. The principal is wonderful and cutting edge with her ideas but unfortunately she is only one person fighting for and with a truly overly burdened school.

J L Long Middle School 1

Posted December 11, 2013
- a parent
This is my 7th consecutive year of being a parent at JL Long (my other kids have moved on to high school)...and after the last few weeks of some very poor communication and unprofessional actions on the administration's part...I no longer recommend this school. It has been a nightmare to say the least...and in my 18 years of being a DISD Parent I've never had to file a formal complaint until now.

J L Long Middle School 1

Posted July 01, 2013
- a community member
im a student there, and my life has been threatened! teachers are being fired for harassment, and the principle is rude and no respect for the people or staff! I've been bullied constantly with scars and bruises and the counselors send women who laugh every word u speak! my parents have threatened to sue the school for me being beaten in front of teachers! this school needs to be shut down fast!


J L Long Middle School 4

Posted July 19, 2012
- a parent
My daughter is starting her third year and has had a good experience. She has enjoyed Pre-AP classes, sports, choir, science team. Staying informed just takes going out to the website and getting the e-newsletter. Looking forward to 2012 and more parent / community involvement. GO LONG!

J L Long Middle School 1

Posted July 15, 2012
- a community member
WORST SCHOOL I'VE EVER BEEN TO! The kids harass, the principal doesn't know anyhting, and the teachers don't care about you. At all.

J L Long Middle School 1

Posted May 06, 2012
- a community member
I HATE J.L. LONG!! I was bullied there ALOT and it took a long time for them to stop it. There are kid with drugs there to even in 6th grade. The only thing good about the school is some of its teachers including the choir teacher! The choir teacher was so much fun and i had a blast in her class!!! ~a student at jl long


J L Long Middle School 1

Posted March 23, 2012
- a community member
This school is horriable and they lable every student the same as a bad child. my sister came from a small town where she made ab honor roll every year to j.l long where she gets no kind of help by any of the teachers and they daily tell her she is bad and wont go far you dont tell a 13 year old girl these things. they have never taken the time to give her a honest chance from day one they did nothing but treat her like a bad child who all in all was just confused. horriable teachers and admin. and i cant wait to move and put her in a school that actually puts forth and effort to see the children do good in all aspects of life.,

J L Long Middle School 5

Posted March 06, 2012
- a parent
Long now offers International Baccalaureate curriculum plus Mandarin Chinese. Excellent principal who grew up in the area and has her own child in the school - truly dedicated and I hope she will stay for many years, which I believe is her intention.

Nearby schools

J L Long Middle School
6116 Reiger Avenue, Dallas, TX  75214
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 35 reviews. (972) 502-4700
Last modified J L Long Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top