Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Uplift Education-Williams Prep High School

Charter | 9-12 | 439 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Dallas

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $66,900. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $850.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 18, 2013

Honestly, I love my school. Yes, we have had some bumps on the road where the teachers are being overloaded and the organization is not the best sometimes. But what do you expect? Last Year we had horrible administrators. They couldn't give two ounces of water for us the students, the parents, or the teachers. By the way things are going right now, I see a lot of progress. I've been at Williams for more than 6 years and I know how much the school has changed. Its an amazing place. I've grown up so much and I've valued what I have. The school is college prep and it gives you exactly college prep. I cant be passing unless I attend tutoring for some classes. Its that difficult, but I don't mind it. Because studying and taking time to review outside of the classroom is college-bound. This new administration has really been on it, academic wise and student-body wise. They really want to see the school progress unlike last year. I really recommend putting your child at Williams. Even if they complain, the work load, that its so strict. Its much better for them than any public school. They'll be happy they attend Williams when they start their college process.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 26, 2013

I think with the new Principal of Williams Preparatory, we can say that with great confidence and know that any thing or situation, we are sure you will be heard. Thanks Williams Preparatory and all the staff
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2013

The vice principal is highly unorganized, unprofessional, and unproductive in the work place. Forget about a timely and professional response teachers do not want to deal with her and when they have too they often walk away without help anyways. The lack of planning and organization takes a big toll on the teachers and in turn takes a toll on the scholars. I have much more to say about this subject but will cut it short because this is only a review not a small book. I'm disappointed in the lack of quality in the way this school treats and cares for their employees. Turn over rate in high for a reason.


Posted August 2, 2013

Seeing Williams Preparatory values taught to students, I feel much more fortunate that this school has accepted my children. I have seen my children have changed and learned to value life in a safer way. For us, his parents, has meant a chance to see much more clearly where our children finish their studies in a successful manner and can grow as people out to this great country. We are not U.S. citizens, but this is our home, and we love and respect this country to help us care for our children. Many Thanks Williams Preparatory, we greatly appreciate all the support you give us to provide value to our family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2013

I would like to know if any body feels the same about the last review posted on february 14, 2013 because I'm looking a school for my kid since I moved to Dallas just 1 week ago..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2013

I agree with all the reviews below for the 2011-2012 school year. However, The entire teacher body it seemed has turned over at the beginning of this school year and it is medicre at best. The school is going downhill at an alarming rate and I am going to pull my child out because they are treating them like guinea pigs this year. The teachers' morale has dropped, and it does not have the high standards it has had years before under the previous director. I'd given this school 10 stars last year, but this year ALL the supportive teachers and administrators she had last hear have RESIGNED and found other jobs. (Bad sign!) She isnt learning anything anymore and I feel that a DISD magnet school will be better than this. Be forewarned going forward, parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 20, 2012

It has a lot of academic rigor, but a warm environment where student will feel more than capable of taking on a challenge. All the staff is very dedicated and available. Besides having a beautiful campus, the technology available for a student is great. College is the priority! It's not about "will I go to college?" It's about "where will I go to college?"
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 23, 2012

I absolutely love this school I have seen the maturity in my son's attitude and admiration towards college. Teachers sometimes stay with him till 6:30pm if necessary to make sure he achieves every subject he is in. Not only do they stay late but often they come 6:30am for other reasons. I haven't heard of any other school that does this for their students, which makes Williams one of the best educational places in the Dallas area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2012

Teachers truly care about their students and will do anything to help them learn the academics being taught. The staff and teachers make students feel like a family. Some of the rules and regulations are too harsh. All the amazing teachers get promoted which dilutes the quality of teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2011

My children are glad that they were accepted because this is the next best thing to private school. My children have always attended private school but we could no longer for high school so we gave public school a shot and well it didn't work out. I am glad to see my children excited about learning again and feel blessed to have found this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2011

The teachers are simply amazing. They devote most of their time if not their lives to their students and the school. They are energetic and knowledgeable about their subject areas. The staff is friendly and become close to the students. They help one print or copy articles for home work or presentations. Everyone really does care about the well being and education of the students.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 17, 2011

Williams Prep has been the best thing to happen for my son. Before he began attending Williams Prep he had no drive to learn or try to excel in his school work. The teachers challenge him everyday and he not only loves learning, he tries to keep me informed of his work. Thanks to all of the teachers and staff at Williams Prep.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 89% in 2011.

114 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
94%
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2011.

114 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 91% in 2011.

59 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
98%
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2011.

55 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
95%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2011.

55 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
90%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 93% in 2011.

55 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 95% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
100%
Math

The state average for Math was 89% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
98%
Science

The state average for Science was 95% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 98% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students98%
Female100%
Male96%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic98%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged99%
Special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%

Math

All Students97%
Female96%
Male98%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic97%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged98%
Special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)96%

Science

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%

Social Studies

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

  • In 2010-2011, this school was rated "Exemplary".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Exemplary".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Recognized".

About the tests


Texas uses Accountability Ratings to indicate the overall performance of each school and district. The ratings are based on TAKS test results, dropout rates for grades 7 and 8 and school completion rates for grades 9 through 12. Schools and districts rated under standard accountability procedures are designated as Exemplary, Recognized, Academically Acceptable or Academically Unacceptable. Schools and districts rated under alternative education accountability (AEA) procedures are designated as either AEA: Academically Acceptable or AEA: Academically Unacceptable.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 78% in 2013.

22 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
71%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 97% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
n/a
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 85% in 2013.

137 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
98%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 84% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
n/a
English I Reading

The state average for English I Reading was 65% in 2013.

146 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
83%
English I Writing

The state average for English I Writing was 48% in 2013.

148 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
66%
English II Reading

The state average for English II Reading was 78% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
n/a
English II Writing

The state average for English II Writing was 52% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
n/a
English III Reading

The state average for English III Reading was 63% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
81%
English III Writing

The state average for English III Writing was 42% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
60%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 86% in 2013.

134 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
97%
Physics

The state average for Physics was 81% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
17%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
World Geography

The state average for World Geography was 75% in 2013.

141 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
93%
World History

The state average for World History was 70% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Algebra I

All Students64%
Female80%
Male50%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic64%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged68%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special education40%
Not special education71%
Limited English proficient (LEP)80%
Proficient in English50%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant67%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted64%
Bilingualn/a

Algebra II

All Students86%
Female86%
Male86%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic86%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged85%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special education87%
Limited English proficient (LEP)77%
Proficient in English92%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant86%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted86%
Bilingualn/a

Biology I

All Students90%
Female91%
Male89%
Black or African American78%
Asiann/a
Hispanic91%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged90%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Special education88%
Not special education90%
Limited English proficient (LEP)90%
Proficient in English89%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant90%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted90%
Bilingualn/a

Chemistry

All Students94%
Female92%
Male97%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic94%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged94%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education94%
Limited English proficient (LEP)93%
Proficient in English95%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant94%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted94%
Bilingualn/a

English I Reading

All Students73%
Female78%
Male70%
Black or African American82%
Asiann/a
Hispanic73%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged75%
Not economically disadvantaged43%
Special education57%
Not special education74%
Limited English proficient (LEP)72%
Proficient in English74%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant73%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted73%
Bilingualn/a

English I Writing

All Students52%
Female60%
Male46%
Black or African American70%
Asiann/a
Hispanic51%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged52%
Not economically disadvantaged57%
Special education11%
Not special education55%
Limited English proficient (LEP)46%
Proficient in English59%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant52%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted52%
Bilingualn/a

English II Reading

All Students93%
Female95%
Male91%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic93%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged93%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special education40%
Not special education96%
Limited English proficient (LEP)91%
Proficient in English94%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant93%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted93%
Bilingualn/a

English II Writing

All Students75%
Female79%
Male70%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic75%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged74%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special education60%
Not special education76%
Limited English proficient (LEP)67%
Proficient in English80%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant75%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted75%
Bilingualn/a

English III Reading

All Students91%
Female96%
Male87%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic92%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged91%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Special educationn/a
Not special education93%
Limited English proficient (LEP)84%
Proficient in English92%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant91%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted91%

English III Writing

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

Geometry

All Students78%
Female76%
Male80%
Black or African American70%
Asiann/a
Hispanic79%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged78%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Special education71%
Not special education79%
Limited English proficient (LEP)84%
Proficient in English71%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant78%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted78%
Bilingualn/a

Physics

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

U.S. History

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

World Geography

All Students84%
Female82%
Male86%
Black or African American67%
Asiann/a
Hispanic86%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged84%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Special education50%
Not special education87%
Limited English proficient (LEP)85%
Proficient in English84%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant85%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted84%
Bilingualn/a

World History

All Students86%
Female87%
Male86%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic86%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged87%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Special education0%
Not special education91%
Limited English proficient (LEP)83%
Proficient in English89%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant86%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted86%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 97% 52%
Black 3% 13%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Asian or Pacific Islander N/A 4%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Two or more races N/A 2%
White N/A 29%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient (LEP) 45%N/A17%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Beginning teachers 10%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • PAUL FULCE
Fax number
  • (214) 276-0363

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1825 Market Center Boulevard
Dallas, TX 75207
Phone: (214) 276-0352

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT