Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 39 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


40 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Highland Park High School 3

Posted September 26, 2014
- a student
i am a current sophomore at hp and i can tell you that your experience at hphs will be how you make it. yes, we are very non-diverse school with only 5 african american people in our school of about 2000. the pressure at hp can get very very overwhelming. theres is always the pressure to keep up with all the fancy new things people are wearing or buying and the drug and alchohol influence is very high considering about 98% of the highschool's population drinks. If you are a confident person who isnt afraid to be themselves, highland park high school would be a great choice for you. If you are easily influenced and/or have low self assurance i would say hp is not a great choice.
1 person found this helpful

Highland Park High School 3

Posted September 22, 2014
- a community member
Segregated white high school in a little city separated from the surrounding community by a bubble. Today the school suspended seven books already being read in classes because parents complained the books addressed adult issues. One writer's visit was canceled. The books included The Working Poor; Invisible in America and Song of Solomon, among other establisheand acclaimed works. The thought control may work. The students may grow up to be as closed-minded as their parents.


Highland Park High School 4

Posted April 15, 2012
- a parent
Nothing will prepare you for the amount of pressure your child will go through. There is a massive amount of homework, that often requires these kids to be up until 1am to finish. The academic sector operates as if there are no sports, and the sport sectors operate as if there is no academcs. We came from a private school environment that focused on teaching course material rather than teaching college exams. My children no longer enjoy school, and my daughter sometimes gets up in the morning throwing up because of the pressure. Yes, the "Bubble" is beautiful, but this school is the example of the pressure cited in the movie "Road to Nowhere."

Highland Park High School 1

Posted December 13, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Highland Park High School 5

Posted August 23, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Highland Park High School 5

Posted April 09, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Highland Park High School 1

Posted January 08, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Highland Park High School 5

Posted December 18, 2008
- a parent
Great extracurricular activities, and fantastic teachers. One of the best schools (private or public) you can possibly enroll your child in.


Highland Park High School 5

Posted November 16, 2008
- a parent
One of the best in the nation! It doesn't get any better in public education, and beats many private schools as well.

Highland Park High School 5

Posted March 19, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Highland Park High School
4220 Emerson Avenue, Dallas, TX  75205
(214) 780-3700
Last modified Highland Park High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Highland Park High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 40 reviews. Top