Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
40 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Parent (1 response)
characters left.
There are 48 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Highland Park High School
Teacher effectiveness: Ineffective

Posted December 08, 2015
- a community member
Teachers in difficult subjects like science simply don't have the competence to promote interest in students.

Highland Park High School 2

Posted December 08, 2015
- a community member
The lack of diversity simply makes this an undesirable school system given that many companies are promoting diversity across the country. Having diversity of thought is an important aspect of the culture of a school.


Highland Park High School 3

Posted September 26, 2014
- a student
i am a current sophomore at hp and i can tell you that your experience at hphs will be how you make it. yes, we are very non-diverse school with only 5 african american people in our school of about 2000. the pressure at hp can get very very overwhelming. theres is always the pressure to keep up with all the fancy new things people are wearing or buying and the drug and alchohol influence is very high considering about 98% of the highschool's population drinks. If you are a confident person who isnt afraid to be themselves, highland park high school would be a great choice for you. If you are easily influenced and/or have low self assurance i would say hp is not a great choice.

Highland Park High School 3

Posted September 22, 2014
- a community member
Segregated white high school in a little city separated from the surrounding community by a bubble. Today the school suspended seven books already being read in classes because parents complained the books addressed adult issues. One writer's visit was canceled. The books included The Working Poor; Invisible in America and Song of Solomon, among other establisheand acclaimed works. The thought control may work. The students may grow up to be as closed-minded as their parents.

Highland Park High School 4

Posted April 15, 2012
- a parent
Nothing will prepare you for the amount of pressure your child will go through. There is a massive amount of homework, that often requires these kids to be up until 1am to finish. The academic sector operates as if there are no sports, and the sport sectors operate as if there is no academcs. We came from a private school environment that focused on teaching course material rather than teaching college exams. My children no longer enjoy school, and my daughter sometimes gets up in the morning throwing up because of the pressure. Yes, the "Bubble" is beautiful, but this school is the example of the pressure cited in the movie "Road to Nowhere."


Highland Park High School 5

Posted December 18, 2008
- a parent
Great extracurricular activities, and fantastic teachers. One of the best schools (private or public) you can possibly enroll your child in.

Highland Park High School 5

Posted November 16, 2008
- a parent
One of the best in the nation! It doesn't get any better in public education, and beats many private schools as well.

Highland Park High School 5

Posted July 30, 2007
- a parent
I've had three children graduate from HPISD, the last in '07. It is a very challenging environment. Parents are very involved.


Highland Park High School 5

Posted March 31, 2007
- a student
I went to Bradfield,The Middle School and I'll be in the highschool next year. Highland Park is a great school and we learn alot. Sure its hard socially and academically, but if your not up for the challenge go home its tough but we work hard and thats what were known for. I love HP I and I dont want to leave in 4 years.

Highland Park High School 5

Posted June 05, 2006
- a parent
Fantastic school as long as you have attended the elementary and middle schools that feed students into this school. Most other public schools will not have prepared your children for the demands that the school places on the students.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Highland Park High School
4220 Emerson Avenue, Dallas, TX  75205
(214) 780-3700
Last modified Highland Park High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Highland Park High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 48 reviews. Top