Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public district
Dallas, TX
Students enrolled: 2,106
 

4 stars
Based on 39 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

22 reviews of this school


Highland Park High School 3

Posted September 26, 2014
- a student
i am a current sophomore at hp and i can tell you that your experience at hphs will be how you make it. yes, we are very non-diverse school with only 5 african american people in our school of about 2000. the pressure at hp can get very very overwhelming. theres is always the pressure to keep up with all the fancy new things people are wearing or buying and the drug and alchohol influence is very high considering about 98% of the highschool's population drinks. If you are a confident person who isnt afraid to be themselves, highland park high school would be a great choice for you. If you are easily influenced and/or have low self assurance i would say hp is not a great choice.

Highland Park High School 3

Posted September 22, 2014
- a community member
Segregated white high school in a little city separated from the surrounding community by a bubble. Today the school suspended seven books already being read in classes because parents complained the books addressed adult issues. One writer's visit was canceled. The books included The Working Poor; Invisible in America and Song of Solomon, among other establisheand acclaimed works. The thought control may work. The students may grow up to be as closed-minded as their parents.


Highland Park High School 4

Posted April 15, 2012
- a parent
Nothing will prepare you for the amount of pressure your child will go through. There is a massive amount of homework, that often requires these kids to be up until 1am to finish. The academic sector operates as if there are no sports, and the sport sectors operate as if there is no academcs. We came from a private school environment that focused on teaching course material rather than teaching college exams. My children no longer enjoy school, and my daughter sometimes gets up in the morning throwing up because of the pressure. Yes, the "Bubble" is beautiful, but this school is the example of the pressure cited in the movie "Road to Nowhere."

Highland Park High School 5

Posted December 18, 2008
- a parent
Great extracurricular activities, and fantastic teachers. One of the best schools (private or public) you can possibly enroll your child in.

Highland Park High School 5

Posted November 16, 2008
- a parent
One of the best in the nation! It doesn't get any better in public education, and beats many private schools as well.


Highland Park High School 5

Posted July 30, 2007
- a parent
I've had three children graduate from HPISD, the last in '07. It is a very challenging environment. Parents are very involved.

Highland Park High School 5

Posted March 31, 2007
- a student
I went to Bradfield,The Middle School and I'll be in the highschool next year. Highland Park is a great school and we learn alot. Sure its hard socially and academically, but if your not up for the challenge go home its tough but we work hard and thats what were known for. I love HP I and I dont want to leave in 4 years.

Highland Park High School 5

Posted June 05, 2006
- a parent
Fantastic school as long as you have attended the elementary and middle schools that feed students into this school. Most other public schools will not have prepared your children for the demands that the school places on the students.


Highland Park High School 5

Posted January 15, 2006
- a student
I just moved from Colorado to Highland Park, and the students there were so kind and nice to me, it wasn't hard to make friends at all. And the teachers are very supportive and most of the time they are reasonable. HP is a great school and a wonderful learning enviornment. Go SCOTS!

Highland Park High School 5

Posted October 26, 2005
- a student
Extreme parental involvement makes for a highly competitive atmosphere. Most students rank very high in academic achievement and are pushed to take honors classes. Very good educational opportunities as well as a great sports program.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Highland Park High School
4220 Emerson Avenue, Dallas, TX  75205
(214) 780-3700
Last modified Highland Park High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Highland Park High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 39 reviews. Top