Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Pius X Catholic School

Private | K-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Dallas

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $96,800. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $700.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 6 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

37 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 1, 2010

I have had children in this school for 17 years and I just enrolled a kindergartener. I will have children in this school for a total of 26 years. I love IT!!! The teachers are first rate, there are many wonderful programs and they really work with the slower learner.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2010

I am a grandparent who attended and graduated from SPX in 1961. I have a grandson who is currently a 7th grader who came to live with me when he was going into the 2nd grade. There was never a doubt in my mind where I would send him to grade school. All of my best memories are of SPX. He needs the discipline and the encouragement they offer. As a matter of fact, all four of my grandchildren attend SPX. It is a wonderful school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2010

I am a grandparent whose children and grandchildren have gone to St. Pius. I have seen the encouragement offered to students and teacher involvement to offer help and support to each student. Yes, there is discipline and I believe that is part of the success of the school. My children and grandchildren have blossomed, even the most shy and introverted child, because of the attention given to each child as an individual. The parents are very supportive of the school, the administration, and the teaching staff. It is really a family, looking out for each other.


Posted March 15, 2010

I was hesitant to switch my children from the public school system over to St. Pius, but after a few years there, I can say that it was one of the best decisions I have ever made. I watched my children benefit from the smaller class sizes, as well as the personal attention given to their individual strengths. I love the interaction between the parents and the school, but the parents truly look out for one another's children. It is great to be part of this community!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2010

Strong efforts to mold young people into moraly strong and well prepared for high school. Unfortunately many well meaning parents want to influence policy without putting in an effort to be part of the community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2010

St. Pius was a fantastic environment for both of my kids. My daughter is a high achiever but was not bored. My son has ADHD and has required more patience and support from his teachers. Not only his 1st and 2nd grade teachers, but also the principal, went above and beyond to encourage my son, rather than just criticizing as some school do with these kids. My daughter enjoyed the excellent library and art instruction, played flute in band, and was in choir. We left due to a job opportunity in another state, otherwise we would definitely have stayed through 8th grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2010

Awesome Christian environment! The teachers are through, disciplined in their craft, and really support the students. We are not practicing catholics, but we have been accepted and respected as a Christians. Excellent campus for your student to grow and develop in confidence.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2009

St Pius X is a great school with a strong Catholic environment. The school is well-structured, without being overly strict. Teachers are easily accessible and more than willing to help children with individual needs. Staff is awesome they always have an answer to your question and you don t feel bad for asking! Extra-curricular activities are encouraged to promote a well-rounded education. Parental volunteerism and involvement is expected. The sense of community at St. Pius X is like no other parish or school anywhere. While my two children have certainly had their growing pains, this school has given them a great educational base. They have the confidence to succeed and the freedom to be themselves thanks to their St. Pius X experience. I d recommend this school to anyone who believes it takes a village to raise a child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2009

The school is very disappointing. There is no communication with the staff there. All they care about is the money and are closed minded to ideas for the school. It seems to me that with the amount of money being paid to the school that they would have their priorities strait which should be the children. All they see are dollar signs and are not up to par in their educational skills for schooling. There principal is very closed minded when it comes to other activities and clubs for the children.Apparently SPORTS is better and more fun! All they do is fund raising and none of the money goes to what the money claims to be for. This saddens me because the tuition goes up every year and nothing gets resolved or improves. It is all promises, promises, promises, and nothing. Please think twice before sending your children there!


Posted March 10, 2008

When our children started attending school there years ago, we were very pleased with the quality of education that they were receiving, however in the past few years the quality of the school s leadership has deteriorated. The same is true of the physical facility itself. At this point, the school seems to be collapsing into chaos without good leadership. Tuition has gone up each year and yet good teachers are defecting. Parents as well as students are unhappy. The school s top administrators seem rigid and closed. They are not in tune with the needs of today s students and don't appreciate points of view other than their own. It s very sad to see the direction that the school has taken.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2008

Excellent school. My four children graduated and excelled at Bishop Lynch H.S. and in college. Two have graduated college, one law school. The other two are still in college. I highly recommend St. Pius X because this school gave my children the academic foundation to be successful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2007

Google this school and do your homework before you put your child in this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2006

This school requires alot of parent involvement but is well worth it. Very structured environment is what kids need and that is what they get here. This is my first year to have any of my children at the school and it was a great decision I made.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2005

St. Pius seems to be more concerned with the money than with the children. There is no appropriate place for the children who are in daycare to work on their homework afterschool. There is little or no supervisory help, they just put all the kids in one big room and let them go wild.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2003

This school has growing pains. It is not a bad school but new ideas seem to be pushing public school ideas on to a Catholic school mentality,causing a lot of stress for both students and staff. The K thru 3rd grades are outstanding, with dedicated teachers. The rest of the grades one has to be really careful about which teacher your child gets. SPX has adopted the book The Essential '55' as its rule guide. It would be a good thing for a new parent to read this book before deciding if SPX is the right school for their child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2003

Good private school in East Dallas provides education in a traditional Catholic environment. Most teachers are great and very dedicated. Heavy parental involvement and student discipline are expected. Extracurricular activities include Chess Club and 'Destination Imagination'. Big on football and basketball, but no soccer team.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2003

Teachers in the primary thru 6th grade are beyond fantastic. Imaginative, enthusiastic, and very, very positive. The best you will find anywhere. The 4th grade teachers are legendary. My children really loved their teachers and loved school... until lthey hit 7th grade. There seems to be a lot of turnover among the 7th and 8th grade teacher--except for a couple of the teachers you pray will leave, but don't. The school has a problem finding enlightened, helpful math and science teachers. I have been unimpressed and disappointed in the quality of the instruction in these areas in the 7th and 8th grade. The school has e-mail set up for each of the teachers, and for the most part it's a great way to stay attuned to what's going on. Most of the teachers are very good about responding, either by e-mail or by phone if the matter requires more extensive conversation. St. Pius also has web pages set up for the teachers so each one of them can post weekly what's coming up, what they're working on, so parents can stay on top of their child's schoolwork and homework. However, some teachers are really good about posting their week's agenda, others are really lax. This was new in the 2002-03 school year so maybe some teachers just are not comfortable yet. Maybe an edit from the principal and some decent training will get the less-web-inclined up to speed. This is a very useful too. All in all, St. Pius is the best school in this area--and the least expensive of all the private schools. I've sent 4 children thru the school (two have graduated, two are still there), and the graduates have done very well in high school (both in private high schools), except in math, where they tend to be behind the curve. So I know they are preparing the kids well. Just wish they could get their act together on the 7th & 8th grade math and science teachers. Parents are very involved in every facet. Volunteerism is very high on the list of priorities. Great group of people.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 39% 51%
White 32% 31%
Asian or Pacific Islander 17% 4%
Two or more races 6% 2%
Black 5% 13%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Dallas
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3030 Gus Thomasson Road
Dallas, TX 75228
Phone: (972) 279-2339

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT