Advertisement
Advertisement

Bishop Lynch High School

Private | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Dallas

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $96,800. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $700.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

27 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 18, 2004

as a student at Bishop Lynchi do believe that i have a pretty accurate view of our school. at the moment im a freshman (class of 2007)and from my observations of this year,it seems to me that the teachers dont really pay much attention to their students...there are teachers who just teach for the money,teachers who teach for the recognition and then there's one teacher that just LOVES giving uniform citations. He spends more time scouting the halls trying to find whats wrong with you and your uniform(by now i think all blhs students know what teacher im talking about)than actually teaching. Upon visiting BL, you'll find that it is a very nicely put together high school, but once youre here you soon realize that the school revolves around the cheerleaders, football, and basketball players.These athletes shouldnt take offense to what ive said because i was a cheerleader this year...
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 26, 2004

Ok, as a student at Bishop Lynch, I can honestly confirm that Bishop Lynch is a school focused on sports (mostly football) and discipline! one time at an assembly, when we were supposed to be congratulating all of the athletics, 3/4 of the assembly was concentrated on football. it actually made us late for lunch and the first lunch only got about 10 minutes to eat and the others got the normal 30. the teachers are so much easier on the football players, discipline wise and education wise. it is almost like they dont care what they are doing. it should be a school concentrated on education not sports. can i get a little equality here?!
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 23, 2004

As a former graduate of this school, Bishop Lynch's facility and staff prepared me for the days ahead in college. I will never forget my teachers, and the guidance I recieved from the school is still apart of my life today.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 25, 2004

Bishop Lynch has great teachers although they tend to lack some quality in the administrative dept. Although the school is a Catholic private school their focus is more on education. Their current dean of students, lacks some experience with our youth. They have great parent participation during football season.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2004

Bishop Lynch is a great school. My daughter wnet to Bishop Lynch. She is now in college and doing very well. Bishop Lynch gave the opportunity to develope her talents. I would recommned Bishop Lynch as a great high school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

My daughter graduated last year from this wonderful school. It was the absolute best experience for both of us. I truly miss being a part of the community this year. I commend the BL faculty and staff for an outstanding four years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2003

Excellent private high school in east Dallas. Combination of dedicated teachers, parents and students with the school's strict no-tolerance policy and Catholic orientation provide for a high quality education. Very expensive, but worth it for the serious student.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 65% 37%
Hispanic 22% 47%
Black 5% 14%
Asian 3% N/A
Two or more races 3% N/A
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Edward E. Leyden  
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (214) 324-3600

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Dallas
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

9750 Ferguson Rd
Dallas, TX 75228
Website: Click here
Phone: (214) 324-3607

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Dallas Academy
Dallas, TX


Mesquite Academy
Mesquite, TX





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT