Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-12
Private
Dallas, TX
Students enrolled: 482
 

4 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


13 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


The Covenant School 1

Posted December 06, 2014
- a parent
As a parent of a child who attended several years there, I was appalled by some of the things that occurred. Classical education - great idea. The homework is OUT OF CONTROL. Elementary aged students spend 4 - 5 hours a night with homework. If you are two parents working - the homework issue is really going to be a burden for you . It is over kill on the homework to such a degree that it is unhealthy. The school is very oriented to stressing the role of the father, so much so that mothers are not equal here in the administration's eyes. It does come into play in a very adverse way. If you are a single mom, you don't stand a chance here, you will not be respected. Don't even attempt it. If you are a working couple, your wife is not going to fit in very well. Predominantly stay at home mom's here. No after school program, so unless you can pick up your child right at 3:30, this school won't work for you. The board is all men, with the exception of one wealthy woman. More women need to be on the board, but that is not the nature of this school. We would not recommend this school to anyone. Rules are made up to fit situations by the administration.

The Covenant School 5

Posted September 06, 2013
- a parent
Wonderful school and excellent community. We have been impressed with the faculty and staff. 5-star families and a great education for my daughter. By the end of 6th grade, she will have memorized 40 scriptures. Love that!


The Covenant School 5

Posted August 06, 2013
- a parent
Covenant is a truly Classical Christian school that provides an excellent education through caring staff and teachers. The classical model is designed with parent involvement in mind and requires dedication from it's families. It is a rich curriculum provided on a campus that is a quaint academic village. Our family is grateful for this school and the education it is helping to provide to our two children.
1 person found this helpful

The Covenant School 5

Posted January 24, 2011
- a parent
Great school indeed. Very sound teachings. True to there word. School day is full an productive use of time. Students very well prepared, cannot compare to their peers, well ahead of the game in grammar, math concepts, literature and history. Well worth your money. The discipline is amazing really. Great communication from teachers. Great use of technology. They run a tight ship.

The Covenant School 0
no rating

Posted February 09, 2009
- a parent
The best teachers are at Covenant! They are not only qualified, but truly care about the students 'getting it'. The teachers are also fantastic about communitcating with the parents. Great families here too!


The Covenant School 0
no rating

Posted January 25, 2009
- a community member
The display that this school's athletic program, parents and supporters showed during the recent game against Dallas Academy sullies what a Christian school should represent. It is shameful and disgusting that the parents didn't stand up at half-time and demand that mercy was shown this much weaker team. As a Christian, I am appalled that the mission statement of the Covenant School reportedly teaches 'showing a Christ-like character'. You should all be ashamed.

The Covenant School 4

Posted January 28, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

The Covenant School 0
no rating

Posted January 14, 2008
- a student
Covenant is such a great school! We have just moved into our new campus off of LBJ and Hillcrest, and for the first time ever k-12 on the same campus. The teachers are amazing, as they help students love learning and soar acedemically. I am so glad to call Covenant my school!


The Covenant School 3

Posted September 06, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

The Covenant School 5

Posted September 04, 2007
- a parent
The faculty and staff at Covenant sincerely care about the students' spiritual, social and academic growth. The school provides a rigorous Christ-centered education and many opportunities for extracurricular activities. My students are high school age, and they have had the chance to participate in numerous sports, student government, yearbook, cheer, honor societies, drama, and academic and art competitions. Covenant families are heavily involved in supporting the students and work hard to create a very caring school community. The opportunity to combine both the elementary and upper grades on our new campus at the start of 2008 is exciting and will no doubt draw those of us in the Covenant community even closer together.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

The Covenant School
7300 Valley View Lane, Dallas, TX  75240
(214) 358-5818
Last modified The Covenant School is a Private school that serves grades K-12
The Covenant School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top