Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-12|Private
482 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
12 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 21 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


The Covenant School 5

Posted January 13, 2016
- a parent
I am perplexed by the rating from Dec 6, 2014 about the hours of homework in elementary school and father-oriented lean. This is categorically not true. I have a child who is in her 3rd year at this school and we maybe have 20 minutes of homework a night. It is a couple of math worksheets/workbook pages and/or one fact sheet, and in 1st grade there was also a spelling sheet. Those are easily done in 20 minutes. The 15 minutes of reading most parents to anyway before bed, so counting that is silly. We had one of the arguably "harder" teachers for 1st grade and what I described above was not "out of control". Like many parents, I sometimes volunteer at the school and there was a good balance of moms and dads. Some fathers are very involved in the really fun activities like Spring Fling and Living History Day, but so are tons of mothers. There are many working mothers who pick up their kids in the afternoons, if you don't do the car line but get out and chat with some of them you would know some mothers are teachers, professors, lawyers, auditors, pharma reps, IT professionals (as I am, PT)...you name it. Not all are married. There is a chess club, science lab and other activities after school. No school is perfect and TCS is a newer school which is still growing and adding programs, but if you want a small, caring and sweet environment which complements a strong classical academic program, this school is a great choice.

The Covenant School 5

Posted November 04, 2015
- a parent
We are new to Covenant this year, but could not be happier with our move. The community has welcomed our family in and we feel as if we have been here forever. The education our children are receiving is clearly challenging, but done is such a loving, nurturing way. We were concerned because our background is not in classical christian education, but the teachers care so much about helping our children understand, and our they are doing well. The campus is beautiful. There are plenty of extracurricular activities to keep you busy if you choose. The administration seems to genuinely hear any concerns. Such a happy place to be. You can see in the eyes of the students every morning during carpool, they are excited to come to school. In our short time here, we have quickly grown to love Covenant.


The Covenant School 1

Posted December 06, 2014
- a parent
As a parent of a child who attended several years there, I was appalled by some of the things that occurred. Classical education - great idea. The homework is OUT OF CONTROL. Elementary aged students spend 4 - 5 hours a night with homework. If you are two parents working - the homework issue is really going to be a burden for you . It is over kill on the homework to such a degree that it is unhealthy. The school is very oriented to stressing the role of the father, so much so that mothers are not equal here in the administration's eyes. It does come into play in a very adverse way. If you are a single mom, you don't stand a chance here, you will not be respected. Don't even attempt it. If you are a working couple, your wife is not going to fit in very well. Predominantly stay at home mom's here. No after school program, so unless you can pick up your child right at 3:30, this school won't work for you. The board is all men, with the exception of one wealthy woman. More women need to be on the board, but that is not the nature of this school. We would not recommend this school to anyone. Rules are made up to fit situations by the administration.

The Covenant School 5

Posted September 06, 2013
- a parent
Wonderful school and excellent community. We have been impressed with the faculty and staff. 5-star families and a great education for my daughter. By the end of 6th grade, she will have memorized 40 scriptures. Love that!

The Covenant School 5

Posted August 06, 2013
- a parent
Covenant is a truly Classical Christian school that provides an excellent education through caring staff and teachers. The classical model is designed with parent involvement in mind and requires dedication from it's families. It is a rich curriculum provided on a campus that is a quaint academic village. Our family is grateful for this school and the education it is helping to provide to our two children.


The Covenant School 5

Posted January 24, 2011
- a parent
Great school indeed. Very sound teachings. True to there word. School day is full an productive use of time. Students very well prepared, cannot compare to their peers, well ahead of the game in grammar, math concepts, literature and history. Well worth your money. The discipline is amazing really. Great communication from teachers. Great use of technology. They run a tight ship.

The Covenant School
no rating

Posted February 09, 2009
- a parent
The best teachers are at Covenant! They are not only qualified, but truly care about the students 'getting it'. The teachers are also fantastic about communitcating with the parents. Great families here too!

The Covenant School
no rating

Posted January 25, 2009
- a community member
The display that this school's athletic program, parents and supporters showed during the recent game against Dallas Academy sullies what a Christian school should represent. It is shameful and disgusting that the parents didn't stand up at half-time and demand that mercy was shown this much weaker team. As a Christian, I am appalled that the mission statement of the Covenant School reportedly teaches 'showing a Christ-like character'. You should all be ashamed.


The Covenant School
no rating

Posted January 14, 2008
- a student
Covenant is such a great school! We have just moved into our new campus off of LBJ and Hillcrest, and for the first time ever k-12 on the same campus. The teachers are amazing, as they help students love learning and soar acedemically. I am so glad to call Covenant my school!

The Covenant School 5

Posted September 04, 2007
- a parent
The faculty and staff at Covenant sincerely care about the students' spiritual, social and academic growth. The school provides a rigorous Christ-centered education and many opportunities for extracurricular activities. My students are high school age, and they have had the chance to participate in numerous sports, student government, yearbook, cheer, honor societies, drama, and academic and art competitions. Covenant families are heavily involved in supporting the students and work hard to create a very caring school community. The opportunity to combine both the elementary and upper grades on our new campus at the start of 2008 is exciting and will no doubt draw those of us in the Covenant community even closer together.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

The Covenant School
7300 Valley View Lane, Dallas, TX  75240
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 21 reviews. (214) 358-5818
Last modified The Covenant School is a Private school that serves grades K-12
Top