Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Episcopal School of Dallas Pk-1

Private | PK-12 | 1132 students

 
 

 
 

Living in Dallas

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $239,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $810.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Saturday, October 18, 2014

I am applying for this school at this time, I am doing so because of academic and religious reasons. Some of these reviews are concerning, specially the ethnic diversity. We are minorities , very educated ,well rounded and very well traveled. I can afford to pay it without any financial aid. I see the population is 86 % white when in IV league schools that is not the case so it raises the question about why? Many minorities have the financial means and brilliant minds to enter, so is there an unknown last name or quality that is needed? So I guess I will have to wait. I can take no if my children do not meet with there standards, but of course I will expect an answer as to why they do not, every institution reserves the right for entrance but there is also a law that says equal opportunity . Diversity and culture is done at home just by living in our household and our immediate family .I rate it at 5 because of research done to the curriculum.


Posted March 15, 2012

Truely one of Dallas' best private schools. Our son has attended ESD for the past two years. We looked at a few other top private schools in Dallas - St. Marks and Greenhill. Both St. Marks and Greenhill are excellent schools, but wasn't the right fit for our son. ESD had a great community that made our family feel instantly welcome. Our son started in K in an already established social group from pre-K. But, the teachers and parents worked to integrate our son into the school. Within months he felt as if he had been with the other students since pre-K. Also, the teaching in excellent. We have seen our son excel both socially and academically. I couldn't imagine sending our son to any other school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2012

Hockaday, St. Mark's, and Greenhill are vastly superior. Why opt for the Christian school experience? It does not open you up to other cultures.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 12, 2010

The academics at this school are superb. My son is highly gifted and we were unable to find the courses he was interested in at other schools. Most of the teachers are very knowledgeable and good educators (there are exceptions at every school). Going to the school, I believe, has made our son a strong candidates for every college he has applied to and we expect to be accepted at 80-100% of the top notch universities selected. Leadership has done a good job of establishing excellence in academics. Where leadership is not strong is in creating the kind of social environment that young people need to develop good character. Admittedly part of this is a parenting issue as well, but there is too much tolerance of overly entitled attitiudes that will not serve these students well in the long run. I don't think some of the parent gifts excepted by some of the staff are appropriate and that role modeling starts at the top. They would do well to instill a more humble attitude and become servant leaders as a Christian school. If we are rated it as a learning institution it is 5 star; if we are rating it as a social or religious institution I would only give it 2.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2010

The Episcopal School of Dallas is by far the best private school available in the state of Texas. My daughter graduated from Ursuline, and my Son from ESD.The difference was tremendous ESD turns students into well rounded individuals. This is achieved by superb teachers, most with some for of masters degree or PhD, a beautiful and highly effective campus, the very best technologie, and an equal social status among students in which culture, travel, and academics are common tabble topics at lunch. ESD is a comunity in which respect comes first, it teaches young men and women how to not only enjoy life but to get the very most out of every oportunity. The only problem I can think of with ESD is the tuition, it is extremley expencive, but ESD offers large amounts of financial aids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2009

As a student currently at E.S.D. I believe what some of the things said in the other reviews are completely inaccurate. New kids are always welcomed to E.S.D. with open hearts and arms and are offered help and comfort from both students and teachers. If a 9th grade child goes all 4 years through E.S.D. without making close friends, so be it. It is their own fault, but E.S.D. does give each and every person the opportunity to become great unlike other schools like ursuline.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 11, 2008

Our daughter has been attending ESD since kindergarten. She has been so blessed to receive the best education available, certainly in the DFW area, probably in Texas and possibly in the nation. The school's balanced focus on academics, athletics, faith, community and service, etc, create an unmatch learning environment. The social opportunities are plentiful, inclusive and available for all, including a thriving parent community supporting the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2008

My children have been enrolled at ESD for the past year. Rigorous academics, close personal attention, satisfying extracurricular opportunities, and a warm and continuing welcome have characterized their experience. ESD has exceeded our high hopes and expectations.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 6, 2008

Attending ESD has been the best choice I have ever made in my life. The faculty are great and are always there to teach the students. The students themselves are open and very accepting of new students. The campus is beautiful, and the school spirit is phenomonal.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 16, 2008

ESD is overrated. Our child entered ESD in 9th grade. Accademically, good challenge for our bright child and, plenty of AP courses. Socially, ESD does a poor job of assimilating new students - limited social events, mostly on campus in Commons area which is too small for social events. In 3 years, our child has not made any close friends like he did in prior school. Long-attending students seem to stick together. Disappointed in administration response to concerns.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2007

When we relocated to Dallas, we considered St. Marks and ESD. Son chose ESD ;as it was coed. Excellent experience, but there seems to be a tendency to look the other way in the admissions process and in discipline to wealthy children. Not conducive to a superior academic environment. It is good, but not great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2006

ESD is perhaps one of the best schools for preparing young people for college and the real world. With an emphasis on making your son or daughter into a well-rounded individual, the school is one of the best private schools in Dallas.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2005

My child has attended the Episcopal School of Dallas since she was in Pre-K and will be graduating next year. She has had an incredible experience and participated in the multitude of clubs, activities and sports that the school has to offer. She has developed personal relationships with her teachers, and their advice has motivated her academically and otherwise. Overall, ESD students love ESD and parents who send their children there are committed to furthering its reputation as one of the best college preparatory schools in both the D/FW area and the nation.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 6, 2005

ESD is an excellent academic environment that encourages the students to excel. The student to teacher ratio is outstanding.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 1, 2005

This school is a model of teacher excellence, parental involvement, high standards of academic expectations, arts and humanities excellence, participation in sports, student life, and incorporation of Christian worship and values.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2005

The faculty is terrific. There is not much economic or ethnic diversity within the student body, but I suppose this is to be expected at an expensive private school. The campus is beautiful.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 86% 31%
Hispanic 4% 51%
Two or more races 4% 2%
Asian or Pacific Islander 3% 4%
Black 3% 13%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Percentage of students going to 4-year college 100% (2012)
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
Gardening teacher(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Security personnel
School psychologist
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
  • Science
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Industrial shop
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Math club
  • Robotics club

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Visual arts
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Art club
  • Literary magazine
  • Student newspaper

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Clubs
  • Girls on the run

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • Summer college prep programs
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Clubs
  • Debate
  • Forensics club
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Episcopal
Associations
  • NAES
  • NAIS
Fax number
  • (214) 357-1232

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
  • College prep
  • STEM
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Environmental
  • Humanities
  • Mathematics
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Religious
  • Science
  • Service learning
  • Visual arts
  • Writing

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • Security personnel
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
  • Counseling
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • Summer college prep programs
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Industrial shop
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Crew / Rowing
  • Cross country
  • Diving
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Power lifting / Weight lifting
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Crew / Rowing
  • Cross country
  • Diving
  • Field hockey
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Art club
  • Book/reading club
  • Chess club
  • Community service
  • Debate
  • Forensics club
  • Girls on the run
  • Literary magazine
  • Math club
  • National Honor Society
  • Robotics club
  • Student council/government
  • Student newspaper
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • Episcopal School of Dallas is an academic community where excellence is the standard. Our college preparatory curriculum, led by a nationally-recognized faculty, is complemented by a full array of artistic and athletic programs, daily chapel, experiences in the outdoors, and a myriad of opportunities to lead and serve others. ESD’s unparalleled balance of rigor and nurture inspires students to maximize their potential.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2012-2013 school year
$11000 - $25000
Financial aid offered
Yes.

Planning ahead

College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
SAT/ACT prep classes
Summer college prep programs
Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Students' post-graduation plans in 2012
4 year college - 100%
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4100 Merrell Rd
Dallas, TX 75229
Website: Click here
Phone: (214) 358-4368

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT