« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8
Public
Denton, TX
Students enrolled: 650
Before care: No
After care: Yes

Contact this school

709 West Congress Street
Denton, TX 76201

School website
(940) 369-2400
(940) 369-4939
Nearby homes for sale
Map of Calhoun Middle School address.

Profile Completeness

INTERMEDIATE

Want to improve this school’s profile? You can!

All schools on GreatSchools begin with BASIC completeness, which includes important information like contact details and test scores. It’s up to the school community to take the next steps. As a parent or community member, you can share what you know with other families by writing a review or answering a few questions about what the school offers. As a school leader, you can upload photos, describe school programs, and more with an Official school profile.

The completeness meter moves to INTERMEDIATE, then ADVANCED, and finally HONOR ROLL as you complete the following: 10 or more reviews, at least 1 photo, and 9 program questions parents find helpful.

Want to improve this school's profile?
for Parents
for Schools
 
March 20, 2014
My school is boring and corrupted. Many teachers are lazy, do not teach anything, only yell at us and wait on the day to end. I am a six grade student. That IB is lame, only for their papers, nothing in there.

- submitted by a community member
October 16, 2012
My child attends Calhoun. One of the best things about Calhoun is that my child looks forward to going to school every morning! I have observed that the teachers are very experienced, caring, attentive to students' needs, and communicate well with parents. The Head of School is a strong leader with excellent interpersonal skills, exceptionally talented at organizing, and a vision for improving the school. The administration as a whole is very efficient and active. The school seems very safe and secure. As a whole, the students seem to be free of worries about safety and are able to spend their mental energy on academics and activities. Calhoun is an International Baccalaureate school, so students learn in a global context. We couldn't be happier with the school, and I'm pleased to see that the administration does not rest on its laurels - the school is always improving.

- submitted by a parent
July 20, 2012
I certainly did not like this school at all. Teachers were very disrespectful, and I went in to talk to one of the principals, as I went into his office, he went outside saying as if he had to watch what went on in the hallway, I was very ashamed of the way the teachers treated my daughter there.

- submitted by a community member
December 01, 2009
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a parent
May 19, 2009
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a student
March 06, 2009
i really didnt like my children going to CMS. Some of the teachers were rude to my childern. I just over all didnt like the school. I am glad that my childern are out of that school.

- submitted by a parent
August 03, 2008
Calhoun has the strongest committment to students that I have found. An outstanding fine arts department, excellent support staff and Mr. Sims is one of the best principals I have had for my children. CMS truly makes Denton proud.

- submitted by a parent
July 06, 2008
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a student
June 18, 2007
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a student
January 07, 2007
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a student
January 03, 2007
What a great school Calhoun Middle School is! The teachers, staff, and administrators really care about the students. My two children had a wonderful experience attending Calhoun. I always enjoyed visiting the school because of the positive and encouraging attitude of teachers and staff. They made everyone feel very welcome, students and parents alike. I wish Calhoun had had the dress code when my two kids went there. The dress code has eliminated many petty problems among the students, and I believe that kids behave better when they are dressed nicer. The dress code has created a very professional look and attitude among the students. Calhoun provides 'dress code assistance' to students in need. Every middle school in Denton should institute a standard dress code like Calhoun.

- submitted by a parent
March 31, 2006
Very disappointing experience at Calhoun. The band program and teachers were great. We left Calhoun and went to a private school because of the apathy in the administration and staff on the first day of school.

- submitted by a parent
May 05, 2004
I have enjoyed having my kids at CMS. The teachers are caring and committed. I love the standardized dress code. It has made such a difference in our family. Keep it up Calhoun!

- submitted by a parent
February 19, 2004
School is safe for kids; however the teachers do not consider these children are just that, children. There is not enough praise for the kids. If the child is average the teachers talk down to them and allow the excelated students more credit. School needs to be more loving and caring.

- submitted by a parent
January 23, 2004
This School is very involved in afterschool activities. It also prides itself on its standardized dress code. The teachers are great one on one teachers as well as handling 30 students in a class. With an excellent fine arts program and an overall excellent campus this school is paving the way for the future.

- submitted by a student
January 23, 2004
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a parent
January 23, 2004
Great school where the kids are safe, highly educated, and diversely populated. Calhoun also has great fine arts and athletic programs with great teachers and coaches.

- submitted by a parent
January 04, 2004
Calhoun is a wonderful part of the Denton school system. They've just switched to student uniforms this year and the kids look and act like students should. All the teachers I've met are commited to the kids and school environment.

- submitted by a parent
September 01, 2003
Teachers: Interested in teaching and sharing skills for life with students. Administrative Staff: Some do not meet my expectations.

- submitted by a parent
Need help choosing a school? We can help »

Media Gallery

Media missing

Uh oh! No photos. This frame will look much better when you upload photos »


Facebook


Nearby homes for sale

     

Last modified: October 30, 2014

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Calhoun Middle School
709 West Congress Street, Denton, TX  76201
(940) 369-2400
Last modified Calhoun Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Calhoun Middle School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 19 reviews. Top