Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
27 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 35 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Houston Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted November 19, 2015
- a community member
Our daughter is in First Grade at Sam Houston Elementary and has Ms. Ide as her teacher. Our daughter is head strong and is not always the easiest to put up with. Ms. Ide does a wonderful job encouraging her to make the correct choices and providing positive reinforcement when addressing the behavior. We cannot say enough about the wonderful job Ms. Ide is doing for our daughter and our family.

Houston Elementary School 5

Posted August 09, 2015
- a parent
Excellent school and teachers. We loved our first year here! Couldn't have asked for more caring teachers. Our daughter really excelled here.


Houston Elementary School 2

Posted July 28, 2015
- a community member
Our child did fine in second grade here, and then third grade was a horrible experience for him. He fell way behind, and now hates school. In-class intervention documentations were requested several times and very little was documented about what was being done to help in class, . Lots of worksheets and test prep and computerized assessments. Some interventions were incorrectly documented and had to be corrected per parent request. He is a special kid so STAAR is part of the problem but we feel like the problems were not handled in a positive or professional manner. We were shcoked when his teacher started talking about retention in January. That seemed drastic for a student that had been doing well K-2. We hope for a better experience next year. We hope he gets back his love of learning. We are also very concerned with the security of the school, seems like anyone can sign any name and just walk on in. No id's are checked. Like another review stated document your problems with emails and notes.

Houston Elementary School 5

Posted August 31, 2014
- a parent
Our son has attended Sam Houston since K. He is in 4th now, and our 2nd son is now in K there as well. We have been pleased overall with the school, and staff. We moved last spring out of the Houston zone. We didn't want to change schools, so we were able to apply for a transfer to keep our kids there. My son has had some amazing teachers, and some we didn't care for so much! He is also in Dyslexia, and this program has been amazing for him. I do agree parent involvement is very high, and if it was not for all the parent volunteers; my son wouldn't academically be where he is today! Now we have another son in K this year, and though the new school year has just begun we are very pleased so far! I do agree drop off, and Pu need major improvements. It's been overwhelming each day! The homework load can be a bit much, but it's manageable, and always consistent. So, you know what to expect each week. We have had great experiences with the Principal, and Counselor. They are both very invoked with the students, and daily activities of the school. In my opinion Houston is a great school, and we are pleased our children get to be a part of such a great, positive, learning Environment.

Houston Elementary School 5

Posted August 04, 2014
- a parent
My son and daughter go here. Principle is very involved, teachers are fantastic! Good education and parental involvement. Most importantly my kids enjoy going to this school.


Houston Elementary School 1

Posted May 24, 2014
- a parent
Parental involvement is high, so there are lots of parties and events with soda, popcorn, and junk food. (Lots of school-sponsored junk food here!! Beware!!) But the principal and VP turn a blind eye to problems. When kids have a problem (with teacher, with bullies, with learning issue, etc.) the principal will tell you what the "solution" is, but no one checks to see if the teachers are enforcing the solution. (Ours repeatedly didn't.) Document your problems with emails and notes, because it will always be your fault that you didn't bring it to the principal's attention or that you didn't follow up. Expect to be broken-recorded...the principal is one of the best at playing the same tune over and over. Our child is so happy at a new school. And yes, kindergarten was on the same playground with 4th graders at the same time. Tremendously stupid, given the height of some of the play equipment. Teachers sat under the shade structure and talking while kids pushed and shoved each other around.

Houston Elementary School 1

Posted August 21, 2013
- a parent
Not happy with this school. Daughter fell behind after 1year of going here. Tried to talk to principle to get her into a good class and refused to even try to understand what I was saying. Highly frustrating when this is my child's education. I should be able to have a say. Hoping to get her out of this school.

Houston Elementary School 4

Posted June 05, 2013
- a parent
This was our first year here at Sam Houston. My son is in Kindergarten.. Overall the teachers are friendly and helpful and my son has really enjoyed this year. My only complaint is pick-ups and playground area.. Pick-ups have NO supervision and that worries me.. There is no organization whatsoever.. Playground there is minimal supervision.. Other than that it is a great school!


Houston Elementary School 2

Posted May 03, 2013
- a parent
The school has its good and bad. There are some very good teachers. The safety of the children is a problem with drop off, dismissal and especially the playground. It is not uncommon that the younger students are mixed with the older and this really adds to the drama at school.

Houston Elementary School 5

Posted April 08, 2013
- a parent
Its a great school - good principal and good teachers. The other support staff - library/front office are also very helpful.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Houston Elementary School
3100 Teasley Lane, Denton, TX  76205
(940) 369-2900
Last modified Houston Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Houston Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 35 reviews. Top