Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
30 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 53 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Houston Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted June 09, 2016
- a community member
all they care about is everyone is your friend and optimisim,grit , and kindness but it doesnt controll the students like they want it to.That is why little kids run around.Also does exercise as corporeal punishment as of 2016 and will continue.

Houston Elementary School 1

Posted June 09, 2016
- a community member
my child was advanced and when he got to 5th grade the teachers thought him thing he knew.


Houston Elementary School 3

Posted February 26, 2016
- a community member
Security expecially the pickup process is very poor! Principal needs to get a handle on this situation. Little ones running around without and checks & balances of who is really picking up who???

Houston Elementary School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted February 19, 2016
- a community member
I have never seen a principals face as often as I see Mrs. Andress. My children even talk about how much she is around and in their classes all the time. She is so involved and the true make-up of this campus. She has a clear and strong love for what she does. Thank you, Mrs. Andress!

Houston Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted February 19, 2016
- a community member
Interventions were immediate when they were needed. Tutoring is offered, and resources were shared. Communication was consistent so there were no surprises.


Houston Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted February 19, 2016
- a community member
We spend about 20 minutes a day on homework. Most of it my children can do independently.

Houston Elementary School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted February 19, 2016
- a community member
Expectations are stated clearly with the students, and they are given opportunity to take ownership of their success and their behavior.

Houston Elementary School 5

Posted February 19, 2016
- a community member
I love how involved the principal is here at Sam Houston. She is always in the classrooms, in the hallways, at dismissal, everywhere you look every time I am there. My son came to this school behind in math and within the first 6 weeks, he was on level and proceeded to progress and love math! The teacher communication is good, daily folders and emails with reminders and notices of things to come. All of my children have made amazing friends here, very respectful and friendly environment. I also love how they do morning exercises as a campus every morning, and all grade levels have PE three times a week. The younger grade levels have two recess times, and I feel this is so important for their learning throughout the day. I am very thankful for this staff and school.


Houston Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted November 19, 2015
- a community member
Our daughter is in First Grade at Sam Houston Elementary and has Ms. Ide as her teacher. Our daughter is head strong and is not always the easiest to put up with. Ms. Ide does a wonderful job encouraging her to make the correct choices and providing positive reinforcement when addressing the behavior. We cannot say enough about the wonderful job Ms. Ide is doing for our daughter and our family.

Houston Elementary School 5

Posted August 09, 2015
- a parent
Excellent school and teachers. We loved our first year here! Couldn't have asked for more caring teachers. Our daughter really excelled here.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Houston Elementary School
3100 Teasley Lane, Denton, TX  76205
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 53 reviews. (940) 369-2900
Last modified Houston Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top