Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Mountain View High School

Public | 9-12 | 844 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in El Paso

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $134,300. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $710.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 7, 2012

As a student here its been great for me to atend this school. Although some may say this is a very strict school.believe me its not ..for sure ive seen worst.Teachers&Staff are excellent here at mvhs they do their best of whats in their hands to make us succeed. Here we have the opportunity to become someone in life,about dress code,ofcourse rules are applied.But its nothing out of normal NO UNIFORMS. Its certanly not a "horrible school" Our principal Mr. Martinez is one of the many people here that try to encourage us to look for a bright future.We are offered many activities such as band,art, dance,football,track,softball,tennis,golf,volleyball,basketball,baseball and some others,as well as AP classes.Im one of many that really enjoys being at Mountain View im also one of many who is searching a bright future.This school may not be one of the best highschools but its certanly a really good school.Based on our academic lev. we are the ones who decide how much we learn.Since the moment we are freshman to the point we are seniors we have loved being part of such a great school and even a family more than just another highschool I WOULD RECOMEND THIS SCHOOL.Welcoming anyone
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 16, 2011

Mountain View High School home of the Lobos, here in our school we students try hard to be recognized. Yes we are limited to extra carricular, but me as a freshmen have seen my class members and upper class men cope with it. We are hoping to get more activities at school. I'm proud to say that this school is great trying to improve everyday.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 20, 2010

I am a junior at this high school and i was very disappointed when i read a review from a student in this school. This freshman said that our shcool was horrible but what can he/she know if they bearly started school here? Just fyi, our school offers English and History dual cradit classes, Spanish and Calculus AP courses and they are taught by excellent teachers. We also have a great band, marching band, dance team, cheerleading team, track and UIL teams just to name a few. I am also a student with a high grade point average and I think that this high school has grown alot. I would like to thank our principal, Mr. Martinez, for working so hard to make this possible. I am dissapointed in that freshman who talked so lowly of his/her own school. Where's your school pride? Here at Mountain View, the view is outstanding!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 3, 2009

This school is headed in a successful direction. Throughout my time spent there, I learned quite a bit. And yes, it lacks many opportunities that other high schools may have, but with the new principal, Mr. Martinez, things seem to be looking toward a new horizon. The there are great. Yes, I agree the dress code is a bit strict, but without it, thing would get quite out of line. In my time at Mountain View, I had 3 principal and the entire administration has been changed, twice! Not to mention the staff being quite new. The AP courses offered this past year were Calculus AB, Statistics, Spanish Language, and Spanish Literature. The band program offered is very successful. And Information Technology courses are available. Through this program they have gotten students to get INET, A+, and Microsoft certifications. It is, beyond doubt, an above average school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 21, 2009

This school is horrible. The school is very low academically, the rules for the students are way too strict, and the extracurricular classes and opportunities are limited. I would not recommend this school to anyone. Im a freshman there and i was appalled when i learned there was no choir and the only foreign language is spanish. I have a high grade average and if you want the opportunity to do good in life i do not recommend u start here...
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 4, 2007

i think what mvhs haves the best teachers and a best teacher Mr navar inspires the students to do the best
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 13, 2005

School is great. AP courses available also much help available in SATs and other tests to help you get into college. Counselors make themselves available to students.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 15, 2004

This school has gotten out of hand when it comes to the simple liberties of students. They are so strict with dress codes and other unnecessary restrictions that the students have become extremely unhappy. The below average scores of this school are completely linked to low morale...it's that simple, there's no school pride.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 3, 2004

This school is one of the worst. There are no teachers to teach our children. The dress code is way out of line and the students feel very upsept about this whole entire school. I believe this school should change everything for the sack of their students (our children).
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 89% in 2011.

250 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
85%
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2011.

245 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
59%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 91% in 2011.

196 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
87%
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2011.

198 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
70%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2011.

197 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
49%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 93% in 2011.

190 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 95% in 2013.

212 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
87%
Math

The state average for Math was 89% in 2013.

214 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
87%
Science

The state average for Science was 95% in 2013.

213 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
87%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 98% in 2013.

212 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students95%
Female94%
Male96%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic95%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged94%
Special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)50%

Math

All Students87%
Female89%
Male86%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic87%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged87%
Special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a

Science

All Students92%
Female93%
Male92%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic93%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged93%
Special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a

Social Studies

All Students97%
Female95%
Male98%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic97%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged96%
Special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)80%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

  • In 2010-2011, this school was rated "Academically Acceptable".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Recognized".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Academically Acceptable".

About the tests


Texas uses Accountability Ratings to indicate the overall performance of each school and district. The ratings are based on TAKS test results, dropout rates for grades 7 and 8 and school completion rates for grades 9 through 12. Schools and districts rated under standard accountability procedures are designated as Exemplary, Recognized, Academically Acceptable or Academically Unacceptable. Schools and districts rated under alternative education accountability (AEA) procedures are designated as either AEA: Academically Acceptable or AEA: Academically Unacceptable.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 78% in 2013.

191 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
86%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 97% in 2013.

20 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
58%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 85% in 2013.

203 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
81%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 84% in 2013.

181 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
n/a
English I Reading

The state average for English I Reading was 65% in 2013.

228 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
57%
English I Writing

The state average for English I Writing was 48% in 2013.

260 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
23%

2012

 
 
38%
English II Reading

The state average for English II Reading was 78% in 2013.

198 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
n/a
English II Writing

The state average for English II Writing was 52% in 2013.

197 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
n/a
English III Reading

The state average for English III Reading was 63% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English III Writing

The state average for English III Writing was 42% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 86% in 2013.

161 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
100%
Physics

The state average for Physics was 81% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
World Geography

The state average for World Geography was 75% in 2013.

206 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
78%
World History

The state average for World History was 70% in 2013.

190 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Algebra I

All Students74%
Female76%
Male73%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic74%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged75%
Not economically disadvantaged72%
Special education33%
Not special education76%
Limited English proficient (LEP)47%
Proficient in English79%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant74%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted73%
Bilingualn/a

Algebra II

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education100%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant100%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted100%
Bilingualn/a

Biology I

All Students74%
Female73%
Male76%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic74%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged76%
Not economically disadvantaged62%
Special education71%
Not special education74%
Limited English proficient (LEP)47%
Proficient in English80%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant74%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted73%
Bilingualn/a

Chemistry

All Students62%
Female70%
Male57%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic63%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged62%
Not economically disadvantaged65%
Special educationn/a
Not special education63%
Limited English proficient (LEP)19%
Proficient in English66%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant62%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted61%
Bilingualn/a

English I Reading

All Students43%
Female41%
Male44%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic42%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged43%
Not economically disadvantaged42%
Special education38%
Not special education43%
Limited English proficient (LEP)3%
Proficient in English56%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant43%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted39%
Bilingualn/a

English I Writing

All Students23%
Female25%
Male21%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic22%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged23%
Not economically disadvantaged23%
Special education10%
Not special education23%
Limited English proficient (LEP)0%
Proficient in English30%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant23%
Gifted/talented75%
Non-Gifted20%
Bilingualn/a

English II Reading

All Students69%
Female73%
Male66%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic69%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged68%
Not economically disadvantaged74%
Special educationn/a
Not special education69%
Limited English proficient (LEP)32%
Proficient in English77%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant69%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted68%
Bilingualn/a

English II Writing

All Students46%
Female46%
Male46%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic46%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged44%
Not economically disadvantaged56%
Special educationn/a
Not special education46%
Limited English proficient (LEP)3%
Proficient in English52%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant46%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted44%
Bilingualn/a

English III Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

English III Writing

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

Geometry

All Students88%
Female87%
Male88%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic88%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged88%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Special educationn/a
Not special education87%
Limited English proficient (LEP)68%
Proficient in English89%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant88%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted87%
Bilingualn/a

Physics

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

U.S. History

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

World Geography

All Students63%
Female52%
Male71%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic63%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged63%
Not economically disadvantaged57%
Special education43%
Not special education63%
Limited English proficient (LEP)26%
Proficient in English71%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant62%
Gifted/talented92%
Non-Gifted61%
Bilingualn/a

World History

All Students66%
Female59%
Male71%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic67%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged65%
Not economically disadvantaged70%
Special educationn/a
Not special education66%
Limited English proficient (LEP)17%
Proficient in English71%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant66%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted65%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 98% 52%
White 1% 29%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Asian or Pacific Islander N/A 4%
Black N/A 13%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Two or more races N/A 2%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient (LEP) 14%N/A17%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Beginning teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • EDMOND MARTINEZ
Fax number
  • (915) 855-2503

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

14521 Horizon Boulevard
El Paso, TX 79928
Phone: (915) 926-5000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Clint High School
El Paso, TX


Clint Isd Jjaep
El Paso, TX





Keys Academy
El Paso, TX


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT