Advertisement
Advertisement

New Horizons Home School Academy

Private | PK-12 | 160 students

Our school is best known for sending 93% of its graduates to colleges.
 
 

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

 

Living in El Paso

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $146,300. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $760.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 9 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

School Official Point of View

Posted October 8, 2012

NHHSA does its utmost to serve the individual needs of each of its students, even disciplinary cases. However, for the welfare of all families concerned, there is always a reasonable line that must be drawn, and NHHSA does so with its policy on illicit drug use while attending the campus. No NHHSA student has ever been required to study off-campus except where illicit drug use or threat to the safety or well-being of other on-campus students is concerned. We are disappointed when we have to do so, but we must protect the integrity of our school and all students in our care. NHHSA does, however, appreciate your feedback.

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 28, 2013

This school changed my son's life! He was struggling just to get to school, every morning was a fight and we had multiple visits from the truancy officer. After several months of New Horizons, last year, he is disciplined, playing sports in public school, and brought his grades up from last year. I am happy to have found this school! The director is so involved in the education of students, she really does care. The teachers care and it made all the difference! I highly recommend both the classroom and the home study program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2013

I was so afraid to leave the public school system and thought that our son telling us every week that he's bored was just part of him being a kid. Not until we recently enrolled him in the NHHSA did we realize what it was like to witness your child absolutely blossom! He's respected for his individuality, stimulated creatively, nurtured socially and challenged academically. We are truly blessed to have found this hidden gem in El Paso. The independent learning infrastructure may not be for every child but wow when you take a GT child and let him or her push their capabilities rather than get sucked into the typical classroom routine where the bright kids are bored, unchallenged and unmotivated while the teacher is trying to get 33 other students to a level required to pass the STAARS test you see a complete transformation in their approach to learning and achieving academic success! We are truly grateful to the administrator and educators at NHHSA!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2013

New Horizons Home School is the perfect fit for my nephew! Since enrolling this year, the personal attention and care Ms. Boyer and her staff have given Eddie has been invaluable. He is beginning to experience success for the first time in a long time. The care and attention the staff gives is an important element in the education process. Thank you New Horizons. Leo Feuerstein


Posted October 18, 2013

New Horizons has been a very big blessing for our family. Having searched high and low for the perfect school, we finally found everything that we were looking for at NHHSA. We not only found a great administrator and great instructors, but also a place that would allow my child to be himself. We are extremely happy with New Horizons Home School Academy. Thank Ms. Boyer and A.J. and all of the wonderful staff!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2012

I want the best possible education for my children. The New Horizons Home School Academy offers skilled, engaging, and compassionate teachers. They allow my children to grow. They allow them to be stimulated by new ideas and ways of thinking. They give them a sense of accomplishment and encourage team spirit. These are all excellent lessons they need to learn in order to be successful adults. I m very proud of the school my children attend. I would definitely recommend New Horizons Home School Academy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2012

I love the school. The staff is great and my son seems to be excelling more in all his work. Hes been going to this school for 4 years. He loves the staff... They treat him like family
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2012

Wonderful school! My kids have loved coming to this school and have just blossomed here. The teachers are great and give the individual attention needed, staff is friendly and always willing to help. My son had struggled with ADHD, in public school they simply put him in special ed and refused to work with him any further, but once I brought him here he shined! They came up with a program that has done wonders for him. Very happy to have found this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2012

New Horizons changed my son's life. He has Asperger's and suffered from non-stop bullying in the public school system. New Horizons treats students with dignity and respect, and teaches the students not only academically, but behaviorally. They addressed the few problems I had immediately and with the utmost fairness to everyone involved. They are a shining example of how schools should be for the wellbeing of our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2012

Honestly my experience with this school has been very wonderful!!! the staff is always very professional and very caring towards my son he is 9 going on ten and is very happy as a student there, i actually have a boy on the way and am excited to say that he will be attending this school as soon as he is potty trained =) i would recommend this school to any parent who is looking for a school that cares about a students academics and their individual personalities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2012

I love this school and what it has done for my family! My child has been going there for 5 years and I am very satisfied with the level of professioalism and its approach to education that I feel no other school does. Your child is not treated like a number or statistic they are treated with respect and with their success in mind. I would not take my child anywhere else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2012

My two kids have been attending New Horizons Home School for 6 years. I have found the school to be excellent academically, fair in disciplinary matters, and great in their sets of values and their ability to keep the needs of the kids in mind. I would take my children nowhere else! Where other schools have failed New Horizons has excelled, good job everybody!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2012

I concur with the other parents on this so call school. I have been very displeased with my experience with New Horizons Home School Academy. As a parent I feel it is my right to ask questions and come to a resolution when it involves the education and well being of my child, but asking questions only seems to leads to problems. When dealing with an issue that concerns my child's education, I feel the school has handled my concerns unprofessionally and without a solution. This school is run more like a family business rather than a school for children. Sadly their priories and unprofessional ways of handling things has affected many children and their families.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2012

I have been very displeased with my experience with New Horizons Home School Academy. As a parent I feel it is my right to ask questions and come to a resolution when it involves the education of my child, but asking questions only seems to leads to problems. When dealing with an issue that concerns my childs education, I feel the school has handled my concerns unprofessionally and without a solution. This school needs to learn to be a part of the solution rather than a part of the problem. In order for a school to be successful, the administration, teachers, parents, students and support staff must work as a team. Principals must work with the staff to make school a welcoming place for all students and their families, sadly this is not the case at New Horizons Home School Academy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2011

This school's method of working with students that have "disciplinary problems" as described on their website is to actually dismiss, expel or move the student to another program when they have a disciplinary issue at the parent's expense, without truly working with the student to improve his/her discipline. Also, students are given study material and are left to work on it on their own, while they are sitting in a warehouse with climate/temperature problems, turned into a "classroom" environment and the "teacher's" way of assisting a student is to refer to a book or the Internet and tell the student to read about the answer, without taking the time to really assist him/her.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2010

Teachers are great here, they are very involved and actually seem to care not only about my daughters education, but for her well being and personal growth. I am always informed of my daughters progress and have a good relationship with educators as well. Since attending this school my daughter has found she actually likes school and the work she is doing! All around great programs tailored for each individual student. A delightful school, so happy to have found it!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

College readiness and student pathways

Students typically attend these schools prior to attending this school Public schools
Other private institutions
Percentage of students going to 2-year college 60% (2013)
Percentage of students going to 4-year college 33% (2013)
Percentage of students going to the military 2% (2013)
Percentage of students going to vocational programs 3% (2013)
Percentage of students going directly into the workforce 2% (2013)
Colleges most students attend after graduation El Paso Community College
University of Texas at El Paso
NMSU
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Math specialist(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Emotional behavioral disabilities
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Specific learning disabilities
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
Visual arts
  • Architecture

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Visual arts
  • Architecture
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Theory
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Technical design and production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Italian
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Gym
Clubs
  • Martial arts (judo, tae kwon do, karate, etc)

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Summer college prep programs
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 9:00 am
School end time
  • 2:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:30 a.m.
School Leader's name
  • Myrna Y. Boyer
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Facebook
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 4 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Non-denominational
Fax number
  • (915) 856-9634

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Advanced placement courses
  • College prep
  • Core knowledge
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
  • Hybrid
  • Independent Study
  • Individually guided instruction
  • Multi-aged
  • Project-based
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Global
  • Mathematics
  • Special education
  • Writing
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Emotional behavioral disabilities
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Specific learning disabilities
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Italian
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Career/college counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Fast Track High School Program
  • Mentoring
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Summer college prep programs
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Gym
  • Learning lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Judo / Other Martial Arts
Girls sports
  • Judo / Other Martial Arts

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Architecture
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Theory
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Technical design and production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Martial arts (judo, tae kwon do, karate, etc)
School leaders can update this information here.

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Volunteer in the classroom
More from this school
  • NHHSA is an affordable college prep school. We welcome students of any race or ethnic background, and provide a safe learning environment that is non-sectarian and non-denominational. NHHSA enrollment can be for on-campus study, at-home study or a combination of the two. With an impressive graduation record and a high post-graduation college enrollment record, we are a "must-try" for families seeking educational options that suit student needs and family dynamics.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


7 out of 10students were accepted for the 2013-2014 school year.


Students accepted for the 2013-2014 school year
180
Applications received for the 2013-2014 school year
250
Students typically come from these schools
Public schools
Other private institutions

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$2000 - $4000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
El Paso Community College
University of Texas at El Paso
NMSU
College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
Community college courses
SAT/ACT prep classes
Summer college prep programs
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Students' post-graduation plans in 2013
2 year college - 60%
4 year college - 33%
Military - 2%
Vocational - 3%
Workforce - 2%
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

11444 Rojas Dr., Suite C6
El Paso, TX 79935
Website: Click here
Phone: (915) 856-7243

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Rainbow Day School
El Paso, TX







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT