Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Immanuel Christian School

Private | PK-12 | 560 students

Our school

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in El Paso

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $134,600. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $740.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 16 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

48 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 19, 2006

I think this school is excellent!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 19, 2006

Good school,high standards,great opportunity. What more do you want!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2005

I attended Immanuel Baptist Christian School for 6 years, and I have yet to receive an education equal or even close to the intense learning processes that I was lucky enough to be a part of there. IBCS teaches elementary and middle school similarly to an AP class - harder, faster, more challenging, and infinitely more rewarding. My teachers worked one-on-one with myself and other students, no one was ever left out of the loop. Even though we were being taught an accelerated curriculum, time was always taken to assure that everyone understood the material before moving on in the lesson. I highly recommend IBCS for all children in any grade.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted July 5, 2005

Excellent structured learning environment. Dedicated faculty, Abeka curriculum is advanced. Administration is a bit 'stuffed-shirt', but generally responsive to parental concerns. Typical students are two grade levels ahead of their public school peers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2005

High School teachers have too many preparations per subject. There should be more than one teacher in every subject area. Other than that High school has a lot of potential. Elementary P.E discipline needs improvement. All student should not be discipline for misbehavior by one student. Sometimes 'punishment does not fit the crime'
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2004

My children have attended Immanuel for the past 7 years. The learning environment is unsurpassed, they have a 18-21 teacher per child ratio, which is perfect for teaching and learning. The teachers are readily available to address your concerns as is the Principal. The curriculum is challenging, the Christian atmosphere is just the cherry on top! It is quality education at a reasonable price.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2004

I may be only a student, but I tell you that this school is the greatest school you could ever find for your child. For a person with a small child it is great because not only does your child get a great education here but he or she get's tought in the Christ-like way. This school is great in all ways. One of my favorite things about this school is that after school you see a group of kids hanging out, but not all of the same age but for example a kid from 5th grade, a senior , a sophmore a 7 th grader, this is what makes this school worth-while : everyone knows each other. I've never been happier at this school and I can guarantee your child will love it too. And what also makes it great are the teachers who will love your children.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 26, 2003

My child is entering the second grade for the school year 2003. We are familiar with the abecca curriculum taught at the school, which was our first criteria for selecting Immanuel. In addition, we met with the Principal, and Vice Principal, toured the facilities and we were impressed with the attention giving us and all questions that my wife and I had were thoroughly answered. We find the staff focused, motivated, and most important caring to teach each student to the best of their ability.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 70% 51%
White 24% 31%
Asian or Pacific Islander 4% 4%
Black 2% 13%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:35 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Baptist
Associations
  • ACSI
Fax number
  • (915) 772-8207

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • College prep
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1201 Hawkins Blvd
El Paso, TX 79925
Phone: (915) 778-6160

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Burges High School
El Paso, TX



Storybook School
El Paso, TX


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT