Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8
Public district
Flower Mound, TX
Students enrolled: 1,130
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Mckamy Middle School 5

Posted August 31, 2009
- a student
i love it at mckamy its so much fun and easy to work with

Mckamy Middle School 5

Posted August 16, 2009
- a student
i love it and the high schools great tooo great choies and dont want to leave :(


Mckamy Middle School 5

Posted February 22, 2009
- a parent
McKamy is a fabulous middle school! I have been an involved parent for 3 years and have had nothing but exceptional experiences with teachers, coaches and administration. Given that McKamy has one of the largest enrollments in the district, I believe that the administration does an incredible job of keeping the students on task AND allowing for individual growth. One only needs to look at the incredible list of elective courses, extra cirricular activities, and programs offered for the gifted and talented students to see that McKamy is among the best! The teachers my children have experienced have been exceptional and very caring! My child is receiving an excellent education and is extremely well prepared for the next level of education. The parents I know with children who have gone through McKamy on to FMHS say that McKamy students are always among FlowerMound HS's most prepared students!

Mckamy Middle School 1

Posted February 21, 2009
- a parent
This school fails to teach to talented and gifted children. Rather then address problems they choose to give children in school suspension. They do not care to engage these children in on level learning. They prefer to teach down to these children and tell parents that they 'cannot teach to their child because that would leave the other students in the class behind.' That is a qoute from one of my child's teachers. They offer nothing for a person who thinks outside the box. They want to blame the child for their shortcomings rather then recognize the fact that they are cheating this child of an education. I have realized that I am going to have to pay for private school in order for my child to be taught in the manner they deserve. The administrators just don't care.

Mckamy Middle School 5

Posted April 02, 2008
- a student
Im a 7th grader here, and i love it. The teachers are helpful and supportive, they keep everyone in line without being too harsh, the electives are wonderful, and my personal experiance being here is really wonderful. If i had a choice, i'd never leave the school.


Mckamy Middle School 5

Posted July 25, 2007
- a parent
This is a Great school. My daughter has been at McKamy for the past year and my oldest son spent two years at this school. The principal is awesome as well as the staff. The teachers are all dedicated and truly care about their students. I would highly recommend this school

Mckamy Middle School 5

Posted May 29, 2007
- a parent
Mckamy Middle School is a great school where students are suceeding every day. The teachers are nice and helpful to every student,parent, or other teacher.There are many extracurricular activities, including Athletics, which is sports, band, orchestra, theater arts, home economics,etc. The Leap program is amazing, as are the other AP classes. The teachers here know how to make their classes fun, but teach well also. The Principal here is very friendly and quite funny. McKamy is just a great school!

Mckamy Middle School 4

Posted January 06, 2006
- a parent
This is a very good middle school. The students are very nice. The teachers are very caring and provide a safe environment. academically, the AP program is a good alternative for students and parents who want more out of public education. The non AP classes are average.


Mckamy Middle School 3

Posted October 18, 2005
- a parent
This should be a great school. Class sizes are relatively low and students come from a good area. Principal's actions sometimes seem to go too far before a parent is included or involved. The school philosophy seems to be to make the children fit their model.

Mckamy Middle School 5

Posted March 30, 2005
- a parent
Excellent school that strives to provide the best education for ambitous students. Teachers are caring and want the best for the students futures. McKamy also offers a lot of activities for students to participate in. A top notch school for that top notch student.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Mckamy Middle School
2401 Old Settlers Road, Flower Mound, TX  75022
(469) 713-5991
Last modified Mckamy Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Mckamy Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. Top