Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
9 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 17 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Joy James Elementary School 5

Posted July 12, 2016
- a parent
My children have always excelled at Joy James Elementary. There is always opportunity for new learning clubs where they could be taught something new and learn how to be great leaders. The teachers have always addressed concerns and the staff really takes interest in teaching children how to be the best they can be at whatever they are learning.

Joy James Elementary School 5

Posted October 09, 2015
- a parent
Everyone at the school is all about the students and how to make the teachers, students and curriculum better.


Joy James Elementary School 3

Posted March 31, 2015
- a parent
The school is great everyone is very friendly EXCEPT the lady who watches the kids in the cafeteria named Virginia Garcia. She's very rude towards the kids, she rolls her eyes at them and comes off rude even to the parents. I don't think that's very professional.

Joy James Elementary School
no rating

Posted October 04, 2009
- a parent
The teachers and their aids have helped my grandson Zachary so much. I am very impressed and truly grateful for their concerns to help all children to learn and thrive.

Joy James Elementary School 4

Posted May 31, 2004
- a parent
My students feel safe at JJE, and love their teachers. Any issues I have with a teacher is always handled professionally. I like this school because it is small and has a feeling of community.


Joy James Elementary School 1

Posted February 23, 2004
- a parent
The main problem seems to be with the principal. She seems to believe that hitting the kids is the best form of punsihment. We are a family that believes there is very little reason to spank or whoop as she puts it. This woman needs to be removed. I am seriously looking into private schooling or the school choice of Texas which is now in affect, which is sad because the school is so close and the kids would have to leave their friends.

Joy James Elementary School 1

Posted December 05, 2003
- a parent
Kindergarteners are expected to act like third graders from the first day of school. If not, they are given 'Sad Faces' on a daily 'behavior chart' that they are allowed to see, which, in my opinion, is devastating to a child's self-esteem. I'm just glad I don't have to go there (and I'm an adult!), and I wish I could afford private school for my child or had the skills to homeschool him.

Joy James Elementary School
no rating

Posted September 09, 2003
- a parent
My children, ages five and nine, go to JJE. It is a good school but I believe they have way too many school functions and when they do have something going on at the school, it is usually overcrowded. I am also not too happy with how some issues are handled by the teachers.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Joy James Elementary School
5300 Buchanan Street, Fort Worth, TX  76114
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. (817) 252-2500
Last modified Joy James Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top