Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Southwest High School

Public | 9-12 | 1340 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 4, 2013

I am a junior in the 2012-2013 school year. I work to earn straight As and am currently ranked 3rd in my class. I have loved my experience at Southwest. I have great friends there. My entire group of friends from elementary and most of my middle school friends transferred to other FWISD schools, but most of them have not enjoyed their high school experience as much as I, nor have they been as successful in their classes, SAT tests, or AP tests. I am just one student, but Southwest has been wonderful for me.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 7, 2010

We get annoying robot calls from this school on a daily basis telling us that our child missed school for the day. only problem...We have no children! We have asked them to remove our number from the list but they refuse! If I had a kid I WOULD NEVER SEND THEM TO THIS SCHOOL!!!!! I am sick and tired of the annoying phone calls and will be forced to seek out legal remedies and file harrasment charges against the school board! Think twice about this school! Oh, and because I gave my email address in order to post a comment does NOT give you license to SPAM me either!!!


Posted August 21, 2010

SW High was where both my sons graduated from. They both had excellent teachers, strong principal and challenging academic programs. I was totally satisfied with everything about SW High.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 22, 2010

Southwest has a great AP program with caring teachers and challenging classes. The coaches, counselors and staff are supportive and helpful too. The overall scores for this school are misleading: students who are willing to put in the work have top scores and top grades and have no trouble earning scholarships and getting accepted to excellent colleges.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2009

I think southwest is just like any other typical high school but in a better way.. Southwest has alot a different ways in teaching us i feel that our school is a really great school of course there are going to be fighting but our Zero- tolerance rule will help out a lot including our new princinpl. I love attending southwest and very proud to be a RAIDER!!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 12, 2008

Southwest was once a great school. I have had 2 of my sons graduate from the school. Recently the school has all of a sudden taked a turn to the worst. I have a freshman in southwest this year and i am not very happy with the school. the administration cannot control the students and my son is always complaining about being pushed down in the hallways during fights. the administration is afraid of the students. i think something needs to be done so my son will feel safe going to school there. i am really thinking of having my son transferred to a different fort worth isd school that has a better handle with their students and academics.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2008

Over the past 4-5 years SHS has really begun to degrade both in facilities and teachers. There are a few bright spot in the music program and media tech. The athletic program is mediocre at be but they did come in second in state in basketball
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2008

Since I have been a student at southwest since 2005, I have noticed and experienced a strong rigor in AP and honors courses. However, there are several teachers who do not take pride in their job and simply give 'busy work' in order to get their paycheck. Extra curriculars are very strong and we have award winning performing groups such as choir, band, and athletics. As in most schools, there are behavioral problems but they are no where near as bad as they are at other schools. I feel very safe at Southwest and I am proud to be a Raider!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 20, 2007

The teacher and staff do not show genuine care for the students or their need.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2007

This school is very top heavy, the adminstration in the district takes up most of the money that should be going to the students. Although the one thing Southwest does have going for it, is that the principal is very good at getting good teachers and keeping them. Although their chemistry department is the exception to that. The main lack of problem is money, not many teachers use the internet, the one's that do set it up at their own expense, and very few of the extracurricular activites (Most of which are very good compared to the district) get money.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2006

This is a great school if you have a student that is special ed. My son is autistic, and the services are great. The teachers are interested in helping him reach his full potential and not just 'babysitting' him until he ages out. The principal in the school keeps a tight rein on the kids, and the adults are in control. There are a lot of extra-curriculars, and in my opinion, this is the best school in FWISD.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2005

Teachers at this school do not inform parents of what is going on with their child until it is too late. There needs to be a better follow up system.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 2, 2004

The new principal starting class year 2003-2004 is excellent. Demands proper behavior but also listens to the students. Excellent focus on academics and shows up for nearly all athletic events. Even though FWISD poorly funds athletics, she is making strides to improve facilites, particulary bleachers for both basketball and football. Hope she remains for at least four more years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2003

this school is good in helping and providing the students the skills they need in their life after high schoo, although i have not seen the principal at many after school activities.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 89% in 2011.

394 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
87%
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2011.

392 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
62%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 91% in 2011.

370 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
86%
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2011.

360 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
58%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2011.

364 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
68%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 93% in 2011.

362 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 95% in 2013.

273 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
92%
Math

The state average for Math was 89% in 2013.

270 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
82%
Science

The state average for Science was 95% in 2013.

271 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
88%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 98% in 2013.

272 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students96%
Female98%
Male94%
Black or African American94%
Asiann/a
Hispanic98%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White96%
Economically disadvantaged95%
Special education68%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a

Math

All Students88%
Female89%
Male86%
Black or African American78%
Asiann/a
Hispanic93%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged88%
Special education56%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a

Science

All Students94%
Female96%
Male93%
Black or African American90%
Asiann/a
Hispanic99%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged94%
Special education44%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a

Social Studies

All Students97%
Female98%
Male96%
Black or African American94%
Asiann/a
Hispanic99%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged96%
Special education56%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

  • In 2010-2011, this school was rated "Academically Acceptable".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Academically Acceptable".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Academically Acceptable".

About the tests


Texas uses Accountability Ratings to indicate the overall performance of each school and district. The ratings are based on TAKS test results, dropout rates for grades 7 and 8 and school completion rates for grades 9 through 12. Schools and districts rated under standard accountability procedures are designated as Exemplary, Recognized, Academically Acceptable or Academically Unacceptable. Schools and districts rated under alternative education accountability (AEA) procedures are designated as either AEA: Academically Acceptable or AEA: Academically Unacceptable.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 78% in 2013.

243 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
59%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 97% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
62%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 85% in 2013.

320 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
89%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 84% in 2013.

281 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
n/a
English I Reading

The state average for English I Reading was 65% in 2013.

244 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
38%
English I Writing

The state average for English I Writing was 48% in 2013.

263 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
21%

2012

 
 
24%
English II Reading

The state average for English II Reading was 78% in 2013.

302 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
91%
English II Writing

The state average for English II Writing was 52% in 2013.

316 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
79%
English III Reading

The state average for English III Reading was 63% in 2013.

105 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
n/a
English III Writing

The state average for English III Writing was 42% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 86% in 2013.

286 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
93%
Physics

The state average for Physics was 81% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
56%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
World Geography

The state average for World Geography was 75% in 2013.

352 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
69%
World History

The state average for World History was 70% in 2013.

282 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
42%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Algebra I

All Students59%
Female68%
Male50%
Black or African American51%
Asian71%
Hispanic62%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White71%
Economically disadvantaged56%
Not economically disadvantaged65%
Special education26%
Not special education63%
Limited English proficient (LEP)44%
Proficient in English59%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant59%
Gifted/talented71%
Non-Gifted58%
Bilingualn/a

Algebra II

All Students99%
Female97%
Male100%
Black or African American100%
Asiann/a
Hispanic96%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged98%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education99%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English99%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant99%
Gifted/talented97%
Non-Gifted100%
Bilingualn/a

Biology I

All Students80%
Female83%
Male77%
Black or African American74%
Asian75%
Hispanic81%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White91%
Economically disadvantaged78%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Special education44%
Not special education84%
Limited English proficient (LEP)82%
Proficient in English80%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant80%
Gifted/talented95%
Non-Gifted79%
Bilingualn/a

Chemistry

All Students84%
Female86%
Male83%
Black or African American84%
Asian75%
Hispanic88%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White84%
Economically disadvantaged82%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Special education43%
Not special education85%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English85%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant84%
Gifted/talented96%
Non-Gifted82%
Bilingualn/a

English I Reading

All Students39%
Female45%
Male35%
Black or African American38%
Asian57%
Hispanic27%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White67%
Economically disadvantaged33%
Not economically disadvantaged55%
Special education11%
Not special education44%
Limited English proficient (LEP)25%
Proficient in English40%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant39%
Gifted/talented86%
Non-Gifted38%
Bilingualn/a

English I Writing

All Students21%
Female24%
Male19%
Black or African American11%
Asian29%
Hispanic24%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White37%
Economically disadvantaged16%
Not economically disadvantaged32%
Special education5%
Not special education23%
Limited English proficient (LEP)8%
Proficient in English22%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant21%
Gifted/talented50%
Non-Gifted20%
Bilingualn/a

English II Reading

All Students69%
Female70%
Male68%
Black or African American65%
Asiann/a
Hispanic70%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White79%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Not economically disadvantaged73%
Special education12%
Not special education73%
Limited English proficient (LEP)0%
Proficient in English70%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant69%
Gifted/talented94%
Non-Gifted66%
Bilingualn/a

English II Writing

All Students36%
Female39%
Male32%
Black or African American32%
Asiann/a
Hispanic35%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White44%
Economically disadvantaged34%
Not economically disadvantaged38%
Special education0%
Not special education38%
Limited English proficient (LEP)0%
Proficient in English36%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant36%
Gifted/talented79%
Non-Gifted31%
Bilingualn/a

English III Reading

All Students99%
Female100%
Male98%
Black or African American100%
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White96%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Special educationn/a
Not special education99%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English99%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant99%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted99%

English III Writing

All Students75%
Female72%
Male79%
Black or African American67%
Asiann/a
Hispanic76%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White85%
Economically disadvantaged73%
Not economically disadvantaged78%
Special educationn/a
Not special education75%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English75%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant75%
Gifted/talented94%
Non-Gifted67%

Geometry

All Students81%
Female80%
Male82%
Black or African American77%
Asiann/a
Hispanic85%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White82%
Economically disadvantaged80%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Special education22%
Not special education85%
Limited English proficient (LEP)67%
Proficient in English81%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant81%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted80%
Bilingualn/a

Physics

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

U.S. History

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

World Geography

All Students73%
Female71%
Male74%
Black or African American60%
Asian89%
Hispanic80%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White84%
Economically disadvantaged71%
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Special education24%
Not special education77%
Limited English proficient (LEP)55%
Proficient in English73%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant73%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted70%
Bilingualn/a

World History

All Students62%
Female64%
Male60%
Black or African American57%
Asian83%
Hispanic63%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White72%
Economically disadvantaged60%
Not economically disadvantaged66%
Special education15%
Not special education66%
Limited English proficient (LEP)40%
Proficient in English62%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant62%
Gifted/talented95%
Non-Gifted57%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 43% 13%
Hispanic 36% 52%
White 17% 29%
Asian or Pacific Islander 2% 4%
Two or more races 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient (LEP) 2%N/A17%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Beginning teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: CRDC, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Swimming pool
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • THEODORE JARCHOW
Fax number
  • (817) 814-8050

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Swimming pool
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Diving
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Diving
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4100 Altamesa Boulevard
Fort Worth, TX 76133
Website: Click here
Phone: (817) 814-8000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Trinity Valley School
Fort Worth, TX



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT