Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Applied Learning Academy

Public | 6-8 | 380 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

35 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 18, 2011

I am an alumni from ALA, I am now a Senior in High School and i feel like it helped me so much in high school and now going off to college. I learned to work hard, hands-on work, & how to solve problems in different ways. The school was very good about handling trouble, and to the reviews that say you only have to be in the "in-crowd", you don't. Most of the people who were bullied i noticed tried to fit in, and when they didn't get their way, threw a fit and people tried to get away from them, because they felt uncomfortable. it's nice to fit in, but not nice to fit in where you are almost forcing yourself on others, that only makes people scared & mad at them. Besides that, there are people of all types & groups, you don't have to just be in the in-crowd to fit in because you will find people of all different kinds! If you have a child that wants a better future, I would suggest to send them here, it really was a great school & everyone really did bond for the most part, even the "nerds" & the "populars", I actually talk to some even now!


Posted February 13, 2011

This Skewl Iz Awesomee!!!(: But Likee Da Down Sidee Iz.NO I Am A Student! -Rafa Gonzalez-


Posted October 14, 2010

I love ALA's approach to learning. Its not traditional and gives the students varies outlets for expressing their work. What ALA teaches at middle school level is what most schools teach at the high school level.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2010

This was a great school and was probably one of the best middle schools in fort worth and I am not sure where these people are getting that kids use drugs, and that it is a terrible school. They are obviously talking about the wrong school


Posted June 4, 2010

Possibly the worst place i've ever been to, this school is nothing but a living nightmare. I am a student, and so many horrible things have happened to me during my two years at ALA. There are problems with bulliying and many demotivational things going on in that school. The V.P has kids favored over others, and many things are handled unfairly. If you want YOUR child to not have to go through pain,suffering, or being pulled into a crowd that will drag them into drug ussage and bulling, DO NOT send them here.


Posted April 1, 2010

Nooo! this school is the worst school i ever went to kids getting in fights everyday the kids were awefull to me and my friends some teachers were good but some picked on the kids along with the kids! it was out raguse! what ever you do dont put your kids in this school it will pull there confedence level waaaaaay down! and if they are in hte 'in crowd' they will just have friends that will tlk about them behind there backs and if not you will see there activity with you and your family fall and no friend would come over grades will most likey fall!
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 7, 2009

This school is un - organized and not helpful. There are alot of fights and people being tormented . if i knew my child was going to be in an enviroment like this, i would never let them go
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2009

The students opinions/comments are the key. They help make the choices in how activities are run, what activities/learning to have and also help in decisions about changes they feel should be made with the school. You do not see that in a normal 6th-8th grade environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2009

I'm happy with my choice to send both my sons to ALA. I think project oriented learning is more like real life than just doing worksheets and tests. The teachers are paying attention to how the students are doing because, in two different classes, a teacher recognized that one of my sons was working so far above the rest of his class that they moved him up to a more challenging class.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

The school provides great education to all of its students, the teachers are caring and attentive. It is a school in which the kids want to learn and have fun while doing it! Applied Learning Academy is a school that is good for a child who can work well in groups and is self-motivated, they work on projects throughout the school year which can be hard. But from this your child will become strong in their study habits and will be ready for High School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

Applied Learning Academy is a Special Interest School for 6th-8th graders in the Fort Worth ISD. Students must apply to be accepted for one of about 80-100 spots in each grade. My daughter is in 8th grade there and this school is the top middle school in Fort Worth when it comes to preparing students for high school and college. They are involved in many projects during the year that require them to go out into the community to complete these projects. This focus on a real life application requires students to focus on learning and applying the skills and knowledge they need to solve a problem or implement a project. This is a great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2009

ALA is a great school. Both of my kids go there. I feel that teachers really care about their students. And the parents are very involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2009

Best of the best. Prior to teaching here, I had 4 children go to ALA. You must be a self-starter and self-motivated because most classes are project-oriented in a less structured environment.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted December 19, 2008

I am a student at ALA and I think this is a great school. The teachers really care about the stuent's education and push them to get their work done. They also push the students to go above and beyond and make their work as best as it can be. I have looked at many reviews about this school and though some of them aren't that great this is still a great school. ALA does have it's flaws- ike everyone is saying it isn't as best as it was in the past and that is true but I still have to disagree and say this is a good school to send your child to. Many students are disappointed that we don't have sports and that is true but we are more focused on academics, so that will help in the long run. We also prepare students for high school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 31, 2008

i am an applied learning academy graduate, class of '06. I grew up in this school, the teachers were great. Mr. January, Mrs. Russell, Mr. B, Mrs. Becky. though i know they do not work there anymore, they made a big impact in my life. Not only them but all the teachers. now, im a junior at trimble tech ready to graduate early, i passed my SAT. Got into college, recieved sholarships, in National Honors society, majoring in Health Science Tech. and now working at the hospital as an assistant phlebotomist. Applied Learning Academy will forever be a great school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 26, 2008

ALA is a great school and the teachers always try to find ways to connect with the students. We have great test scores and the teaches always push us to do our hardest. F.Y.I. to past students we are trying to get a soccer team started.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 22, 2008

The faculty at ALA have gone out of their way to provide one-on-one attention to my child, and that attention has yielded confidence and success. The wonderful, practical educational techniques used at ALA ensure that my child doesn't merely pick up short-term skills; but develops a thirst for learning that will last a lifetime. This is a great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2008

this scool needs improvment for serious because my child has poor reading skills and all cause of the teachers that dont pay attention
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2008

We are very active in parent teacher organizations and volunteering at our children's schools. One should understand that parents partner with the teachers in a child's education; the learning doesn't stop when the final bell rings. With that said, ALA was the ONLY choice when it came to sending our child to a public school. If he had not been accepted, he would have been homeschooled. ALA has a waiting list of hopefuls--many were not fortunate enough to be accepted this school year. How many other schools can boast that? This school has earned the reputation as the best middle school in the FWISD. ALA is very academically oriented. You send your child to school for the educational opportunities, not to play sports. This institution is unparalleled in terms of academic excellence.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2008

I am currently attending this school and I am about to go to the 8th grade. I have to say, in 6th grade, I had alot of fun. That was the best education that I have received at ALA in my two years here. I also think that some of the teachers are slacking. I will admitt that the students aren't so good either,but if you pay attention and ask questions when you don't understand something instead of sitting there, you would actually learn something. This school could be as good as it used to be if the students and teachers worked as one. I am glad I came to this school.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 84% in 2011.

110 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
96%
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2011.

110 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2011.

114 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
99%
Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2011.

114 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
85%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 94% in 2011.

111 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2011.

99 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
98%
Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2011.

99 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
92%
Science

The state average for Science was 79% in 2011.

98 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
79%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 95% in 2011.

97 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students90%
Female94%
Male87%
Black or African American73%
Asiann/a
Hispanic87%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged84%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Special educationn/a
Not special education91%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English89%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant90%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students85%
Female83%
Male86%
Black or African American82%
Asiann/a
Hispanic80%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White90%
Economically disadvantaged79%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Special educationn/a
Not special education85%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English85%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant85%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students96%
Female95%
Male97%
Black or African American94%
Asiann/a
Hispanic94%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged94%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Special educationn/a
Not special education97%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English96%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant96%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students82%
Female80%
Male87%
Black or African American63%
Asiann/a
Hispanic82%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White93%
Economically disadvantaged84%
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Special educationn/a
Not special education84%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English82%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant82%
Gifted/talented93%

Writing

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Black or African American100%
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education100%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant100%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students99%
Female98%
Male100%
Black or African American100%
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Special education83%
Not special education100%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English99%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant99%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students92%
Female98%
Male86%
Black or African American100%
Asiann/a
Hispanic91%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White91%
Economically disadvantaged92%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Special education50%
Not special education95%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English92%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant92%
Gifted/talented97%

Science

All Students82%
Female80%
Male84%
Black or African American50%
Asiann/a
Hispanic79%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White91%
Economically disadvantaged81%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Special education60%
Not special education83%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English82%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant82%
Gifted/talented100%

Social Studies

All Students98%
Female96%
Male100%
Black or African American100%
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged98%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Special education83%
Not special education99%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English98%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant98%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 71% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
78%
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
78%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 77% in 2013.

133 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
89%
Math

The state average for Math was 71% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
83%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 70% in 2013.

133 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
82%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 84% in 2013.

32 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
83%
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
50%
Science

The state average for Science was 75% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
74%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 63% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
71%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 78% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
86%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 97% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 85% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 84% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English I Reading

The state average for English I Reading was 65% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
80%
English I Writing

The state average for English I Writing was 48% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
70%
English II Reading

The state average for English II Reading was 78% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English II Writing

The state average for English II Writing was 52% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English III Reading

The state average for English III Reading was 63% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English III Writing

The state average for English III Writing was 42% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 86% in 2013.

9 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%
Physics

The state average for Physics was 81% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
World Geography

The state average for World Geography was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
World History

The state average for World History was 70% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students76%
Female78%
Male73%
Black or African American88%
Asiann/a
Hispanic68%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged65%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Special educationn/a
Not special education78%
Limited English proficient (LEP)0%
Proficient in English80%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant76%
Gifted/talented92%
Not Gifted71%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students74%
Female76%
Male71%
Black or African American63%
Asiann/a
Hispanic71%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White82%
Economically disadvantaged66%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Special educationn/a
Not special education74%
Limited English proficient (LEP)0%
Proficient in English78%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant74%
Gifted/talented92%
Not Gifted68%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students86%
Female86%
Male86%
Black or African American91%
Asiann/a
Hispanic83%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White92%
Economically disadvantaged84%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Special educationn/a
Not special education87%
Limited English proficient (LEP)40%
Proficient in English88%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant86%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted79%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students53%
Female37%
Male80%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic56%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White33%
Economically disadvantaged55%
Not economically disadvantaged47%
Special educationn/a
Not special education57%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English54%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant53%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted45%
Bilingualn/a

Writing

All Students83%
Female86%
Male78%
Black or African American73%
Asiann/a
Hispanic82%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged80%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Special educationn/a
Not special education83%
Limited English proficient (LEP)40%
Proficient in English84%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant83%
Gifted/talented98%
Not Gifted76%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students72%
Female82%
Male67%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic67%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White77%
Economically disadvantaged71%
Not economically disadvantaged73%
Special educationn/a
Not special education74%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English73%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant72%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Gifted70%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students61%
Female61%
Male61%
Black or African American71%
Asiann/a
Hispanic58%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White63%
Economically disadvantaged58%
Not economically disadvantaged65%
Special educationn/a
Not special education62%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English63%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant61%
Gifted/talented80%
Not Gifted54%
Bilingualn/a

Science

All Students83%
Female82%
Male83%
Black or African American71%
Asiann/a
Hispanic80%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged76%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Special educationn/a
Not special education83%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English83%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant83%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted73%
Bilingualn/a

Social Studies

All Students81%
Female82%
Male80%
Black or African American71%
Asiann/a
Hispanic75%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White91%
Economically disadvantaged72%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Special educationn/a
Not special education81%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English82%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant81%
Gifted/talented94%
Not Gifted73%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Algebra I

All Students89%
Female88%
Male91%
Black or African American71%
Asiann/a
Hispanic91%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White91%
Economically disadvantaged91%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Special educationn/a
Not special education89%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English89%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant89%
Gifted/talented88%
Not Gifted90%
Bilingualn/a

Algebra II

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

Biology I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

Chemistry

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

English I Reading

All Students93%
Female97%
Male88%
Black or African American83%
Asiann/a
Hispanic89%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged90%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Special educationn/a
Not special education92%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English93%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant93%
Gifted/talented97%
Not Gifted88%
Bilingualn/a

English I Writing

All Students82%
Female79%
Male85%
Black or African American83%
Asiann/a
Hispanic82%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White81%
Economically disadvantaged81%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Special educationn/a
Not special education83%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English82%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant82%
Gifted/talented94%
Not Gifted71%
Bilingualn/a

English II Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

English II Writing

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

English III Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Giftedn/a

English III Writing

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Giftedn/a

Geometry

All Students100%
Femalen/a
Male100%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education100%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant100%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

Physics

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Giftedn/a

U.S. History

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Giftedn/a

World Geography

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

World History

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

  • In 2010-2011, this school was rated "Recognized".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Recognized".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Recognized".

About the tests


Texas uses Accountability Ratings to indicate the overall performance of each school and district. The ratings are based on TAKS test results, dropout rates for grades 7 and 8 and school completion rates for grades 9 through 12. Schools and districts rated under standard accountability procedures are designated as Exemplary, Recognized, Academically Acceptable or Academically Unacceptable. Schools and districts rated under alternative education accountability (AEA) procedures are designated as either AEA: Academically Acceptable or AEA: Academically Unacceptable.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 70% 52%
White 19% 29%
Black 8% 13%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Asian or Pacific Islander N/A 4%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Two or more races N/A 2%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient (LEP) 10%N/A17%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Beginning teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 9:20
School end time
  • 4:20
School Leader's name
  • Mr Randall Scott
Fax number
  • (817) 815-5550

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7060 Camp Bowie
Fort Worth, TX 76116
Website: Click here
Phone: (817) 815-5500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Int'l Newcomer Academy
Fort Worth, TX



Monnig Middle School
Fort Worth, TX


Willoughby House
Fort Worth, TX


Middle Lvl Lrn Center
Fort Worth, TX


Como Montessori
Fort Worth, TX


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT