Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Lowery Road Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 650 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 21, 2013

My son attended this school in their PPCD program last year. I absolutely LOVE his teacher & her aid but the rest of the school I could do without. I pulled my son after a terrible ARD in which the vice principal pretty much let me know that my child was a low priority. At the end of the school year, my son had just turned 4. His reading level was assessed at third grade & his IQ was 145. He has a speech delay which his doctors think is a condition known as Einstein Syndrome. When I brought this to the principal's attention & asked that he be offered SOME form of academics the following year, she & the school psychiatrist basically said "So what?" Then they acted surprised & ticked when I pulled him from the program! Their Autism "experts" decided my son was Autistic based on a checklist they were handed & inappropriate situations they put him in, setting him up for failure. They completely ignored statements from his doctors to the contrary..We thank God we were able to scrape the money together to put our kids in private school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2012

Teachers and aides are all very helpfulalways willing to gotthe extra mile for the children.


Posted May 9, 2012

I have three children that come to this school. It has its ups and downs but what school doesn't. As the school sees the problem they handle it very quickly and do not hesitate to inform parents of situations. Mrs. Daley has my 4th grader in her class. She pushes him to be the best he can and acknowledges his intelligence. As she states often, "There are kids who you speak to as a kid, but your son I have to speak to like an Adult". That is the way it should be according to me. Mrs. Bergman has my 3rd grader. Mrs. Bergman is an awesome teacher who cares for my daughter deeply and keeps a watchful eye on her. Mrs. Nordskog has my 1st grader. Mrs. Nordskog continuously speaks me on my daughters behavior and as always it is perfect. I have noticed some people complain about how the staff handles children by blowing whistles and yelling at the kids to get where they are supposed to be and the kids don't like to listen. Parents want to blame it on the staff but I disagree. If you want to see how your child behaves without you make impromptu appearances at the schools then handle it. I am know for just showing up out of the blue.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2011

I have had at least one of my children at this school for the past four years, two for the past two years. Most of the teachers that both of my sons have had have been pretty good from what I can tell, but the students who attend this school do not seem to care. The parent involvement with the teachers & students is extremely low, so I feel that has something to do with it. I heard of complaints that some of the parents do not even look at their children's planner to see how their progress is going. Because of the lack of parent involvement, I can only give an average rating.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2010

I have had 3 children at Lowery Road Elementary. I have had wonderful teachers for the most part. I have had one teacher for 3 different years, Mrs. Harston. I simply love this teacher. She works with her parents. She was able to reach my 3 children in very different ways. My children have 3 very distinct personalities and it is not always easy for me to deal with them but she took each of that for whom they are and rose up and challenged my kids. She has had a wide variety of students in her class. She worked with my special needs child, just as she did my gifted child. I have one son who is a major handful but she made him feel like he was just like all the other students. She is strong and disciplined with her students but it pays off and the children love her. I also know that a neighbor was having difficulties and Mrs. Harston assisted and paid her electric bill to help her through the holidays.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2009

I'm a concern parent on the control issue of the children especially during there lunch time. When spoken with some of the staff they all say they need volunteers to help out during this time I m sure that is true but in my opinion I don t think it s a volunteer issue it s more a staff issue on how they control the situation. Blowing a whistle or hollering at the children as though they are in boot camp is not a way to control the noise it only contributes to the issue. My child says it s a daily event and very disturbing. I have spoken to parents from other schools and commented on our problem and they voiced out that this is not a problem in there schools. So it makes me wonder why it s a problem in ours. The teacher/student ratio is a bit high and I know they do the best to give all the children the proper attention I m just hoping to see the ratio decrease as my child gets into the higher grades. The educators are great and my hat goes off to them
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2008

i went to this school from third gradde to fifth and I loved it I made great friends and met awsome teachers
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 26, 2007

Mrs.Collins and Mr.Gamble are the best teachers for students to have...go to lowery road...please!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2007

I went to this school since it started.(K-5) I made great friends. The best teachers were the gt/HAP teachers. I was involved in choir, after school program, art,and library assistant. The library was one of the best places and the books were always updated. P.E. kept me in shape. They took us took to the best and very educational field trips. The teachers always wanted the parents to be involved. The classes were challenging and I loved the school.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 28, 2007

As a former educator at Lowery Road, I sympathize with the majority of the parents and their concerns for their children. It is evident that Lowery Road experienced a great deal of difficulty regarding discipline and yet the lack of parental support has gone unspoken. Academically speaking, Lowery Road has great potential to be a recognized and/or exemplary campus. Administration, teachers, parents, and community members alike have a responsibility to all children, especially minority children. Lowery Road has produced stellar students taught by stellar educators and administrators.
—Submitted by a staff


Posted May 2, 2007

I will say I was impressed with Lowery road and Thankful to a teacher as Ms Janeway. I was nervous about sending my daughter to this school but this year she has excelled. She liked her class mates. I had only two issues this year and it was with transportation. When I called the Principal it was handled quickly. my daughter and were involved in every event. I noticed improvement in my daughters language and being more active. She grew in love Art and Music. Thank you Lowery Road and Ms Janeway
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2006

This school was very disappointing. I had one in kindergarten and one in 2nd grade for one month before choosing to leave this school. The teachers were very professional, but student discipline was taking most of their time. My 2nd grader told me of some violent and very scary outbursts from some problem children in his class. His teacher agreed with my decision to leave saying that this school would not be able to meet his needs. As far as music, art and PE, there were no programs to speak of and even though they had a nice gym and even a 'coach', the teachers were responsible for teaching P. E. and music themselves, most often in their own classroom.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2006

This school was a horrible experience for my child. The teacher was unorganized and thoughtless to his needs. My son is advanced and this school brought him down. I got him out of there as quickly as possible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2006

This was a very poor choice of schools on our part. The first semester my child was put into a class where english was taught as a second langage. There were 20-21 students in the class. I visted there and found that the class had 3-4 blacks( my chlid being one) and the other students were hispanic. He was moved from this class into one and things just got worse. This is the biggest mistake we could have ever made! The class was out of control! The children fought all the time! After a few busted lips and swollen eyes we said hit back! He was suspended 4 times! The communication was very poor we could never catch up with the person's in charge until the suspensions. We were notified via vioce mail! I would not recommend this school to any concerned parent! We have since moved our child and hope we can help get him over this experience!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2005

I believe that the educators at lowery are comprised of various mixes of personallities, experience levels, along with ego's that sometimes conflict with the lack of quality training that our kids should be getting in the classroom. It amazes me when parents have to attend certain classes or lunchroom times just to make sure that her handicapped son is not being taunted, because the teachers and or Principal will not protect that boy from these things that this Mother has asked for help in a situitation, just so that she may have any piece of mind for herself and her son. It is an outrage when a parent walks to a teachers classroom and he hears and watches that teacher scream at a child for whatever happened to incite her rage. No child deserves this! I wish Lowery Rd the best in working out their problems. We deserve better!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2004

I have two children in this school and they have had wonderful experiences. My 3rd grader is in the HAP class and her teacher is excellent! My fifth grader is doing well in his classes also. I recommend this school to parents who are willing and able to get involved with their child's school. Talking with teachers and developing a rapport with the staff is important at any school. They also have an after-school tutoring program for 3rd - 5th graders with limited registration which is free and has been very good for my kids. With any school, there are children there with behavioral problems that affect the classroom and other children, but overall this school has learning programs and teachers who are very helpful with the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2004

I have had a bad experience personally with the FWISD and Lowery Road they are very much not aware of what is going on with the teachers or other staff and the main concern is how the school looks to the public vs. how important the children are and that should be that only concern. I personally would not advise anyone to put their child in a FWISD school unless you have no other choice
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 89% in 2011.

137 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
70%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2011.

138 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
65%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2011.

110 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
74%
Math

The state average for Math was 88% in 2011.

109 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
60%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 90% in 2011.

108 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 82% in 2011.

116 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
93%
Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2011.

117 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
79%
Science

The state average for Science was 87% in 2011.

116 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students73%
Female71%
Male75%
Black or African American66%
Asian60%
Hispanic79%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Special educationn/a
Not special education74%
Limited English proficient (LEP)75%
Proficient in English72%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant73%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students68%
Female67%
Male69%
Black or African American57%
Asian80%
Hispanic77%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged62%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Special educationn/a
Not special education69%
Limited English proficient (LEP)76%
Proficient in English65%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant68%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students75%
Female80%
Male71%
Black or African American77%
Asiann/a
Hispanic75%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White83%
Economically disadvantaged70%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Special education29%
Not special education79%
Limited English proficient (LEP)46%
Proficient in English79%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant75%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students81%
Female84%
Male78%
Black or African American81%
Asiann/a
Hispanic83%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White67%
Economically disadvantaged77%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Special education67%
Not special education82%
Limited English proficient (LEP)69%
Proficient in English80%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant81%
Gifted/talented100%

Writing

All Students88%
Female92%
Male84%
Black or African American86%
Asiann/a
Hispanic96%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White83%
Economically disadvantaged87%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Special education67%
Not special education89%
Limited English proficient (LEP)92%
Proficient in English87%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant88%
Gifted/talented90%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students78%
Female80%
Male76%
Black or African American70%
Asiann/a
Hispanic91%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged79%
Not economically disadvantaged71%
Special educationn/a
Not special education78%
Limited English proficient (LEP)71%
Proficient in English74%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant78%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students71%
Female71%
Male71%
Black or African American62%
Asiann/a
Hispanic91%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White83%
Economically disadvantaged71%
Not economically disadvantaged71%
Special education80%
Not special education71%
Limited English proficient (LEP)71%
Proficient in English66%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant71%
Gifted/talented100%

Science

All Students64%
Female57%
Male70%
Black or African American55%
Asiann/a
Hispanic79%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White86%
Economically disadvantaged65%
Not economically disadvantaged60%
Special educationn/a
Not special education63%
Limited English proficient (LEP)57%
Proficient in English61%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant63%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 79% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
56%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
54%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 72% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
60%
Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
49%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 71% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
63%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 77% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
73%
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
69%
Science

The state average for Science was 73% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
61%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students56%
Female63%
Male48%
Black or African American58%
Asiann/a
Hispanic22%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White78%
Economically disadvantaged51%
Not economically disadvantaged71%
Special education0%
Not special education63%
Limited English proficient (LEP)40%
Proficient in English57%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant56%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted53%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students60%
Female62%
Male58%
Black or African American53%
Asiann/a
Hispanic62%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White78%
Economically disadvantaged59%
Not economically disadvantaged63%
Special education20%
Not special education65%
Limited English proficient (LEP)67%
Proficient in English60%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant60%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted56%
Bilingual73%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students56%
Female67%
Male42%
Black or African American42%
Asiann/a
Hispanic67%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged52%
Not economically disadvantaged75%
Special educationn/a
Not special education58%
Limited English proficient (LEP)44%
Proficient in English60%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant56%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted51%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students61%
Female64%
Male58%
Black or African American45%
Asiann/a
Hispanic73%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged59%
Not economically disadvantaged75%
Special educationn/a
Not special education63%
Limited English proficient (LEP)61%
Proficient in English61%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant61%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted57%
Bilingualn/a

Writing

All Students46%
Female58%
Male30%
Black or African American42%
Asiann/a
Hispanic43%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged42%
Not economically disadvantaged67%
Special educationn/a
Not special education48%
Limited English proficient (LEP)28%
Proficient in English52%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant46%
Gifted/talented75%
Non-Gifted43%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students62%
Female64%
Male59%
Black or African American63%
Asiann/a
Hispanic53%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged54%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education64%
Limited English proficient (LEP)53%
Proficient in English63%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant62%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted59%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students43%
Female36%
Male52%
Black or African American32%
Asiann/a
Hispanic56%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged40%
Not economically disadvantaged59%
Special educationn/a
Not special education45%
Limited English proficient (LEP)60%
Proficient in English40%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant43%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted39%
Bilingualn/a

Science

All Students52%
Female50%
Male55%
Black or African American45%
Asiann/a
Hispanic58%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged45%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Special educationn/a
Not special education54%
Limited English proficient (LEP)60%
Proficient in English51%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant52%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted48%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

  • In 2010-2011, this school was rated "Academically Acceptable".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Academically Acceptable".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Academically Acceptable".

About the tests


Texas uses Accountability Ratings to indicate the overall performance of each school and district. The ratings are based on TAKS test results, dropout rates for grades 7 and 8 and school completion rates for grades 9 through 12. Schools and districts rated under standard accountability procedures are designated as Exemplary, Recognized, Academically Acceptable or Academically Unacceptable. Schools and districts rated under alternative education accountability (AEA) procedures are designated as either AEA: Academically Acceptable or AEA: Academically Unacceptable.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 50% 13%
Hispanic 39% 52%
White 7% 29%
Asian or Pacific Islander 2% 4%
Two or more races 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient (LEP) 28%N/A17%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Beginning teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • DEBRA WILLIAMSON
Fax number
  • (817) 492-7905

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7600 Lowery Road
Fort Worth, TX 76120
Website: Click here
Phone: (817) 492-7900

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Al-Hedayah Academy
Fort Worth, TX



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT