Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Legacy Christian Academy

Private | PK-12 | 700 students

Distinctly Christian. College Preparatory.

 
 

Living in Frisco

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $276,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,010.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 6 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 9 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

42 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 15, 2010

I love this school! It is great! this school is awesome! It is really small but cool and great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2010

I have had two sons graduate from Legacy Christian Academy. Both boys are now students at Baylor in the Pre-Med program. Their experience at Legacy was excellent! They attended from grammer school through High school. The teachers and staff are dedicated and committed and the school facilities are second to none. I have two more students still at Legacy, one a junior in high school and the other in seventh grade. I am thrilled with the education they are receiving and the emphasis on Christ centered values. A great school and well worth the investment to send my children there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 22, 2009

Had 2 kids going to Legacy. They are now in college and were totally unprepared for it. I wish I had saved the $20,000 for college instead. When academics is no different than anywhere else, and weaker than other private schools, you are better off saving the money for college. Kids didn't want to leave LCA because of the friends. Having bible classes does not make them Christian. The questions to ask is: are the students prepared for college, both academically and spiritually? The answer in NO. Save your money.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2009

Although it has a good Christian environment, they ban your websites and spend tons of money on athletics... too many parent complaints removed advanced programs... I find PUBLIC SCHOOL better.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 28, 2008

My three children have attending Legacy Christian Academy for the past 4 years and it has been the best investment into our children's Christian character. The teachers are sharing the gospel on a regular basis, and they are the highest quality of educators. My children have grown academically and spiritually.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 1, 2008

I have two children that attend Legacy. This is our third year attending and I would HIGHLY recommend LCA to anyone. My son was in a Frisco Middle School prior to LCA and things were not going well at all. He was just a number and was labeled as someone he was not. We came to Legacy and his entire world changed. He is given the respect he deserves and there 'for the most part' gives it back. He has become an exceptational Christian, due in part by his teachings at LCA. The upper school principal is amazing with the kids and truly dedicated to his job. The athletic department has exceptional coaches and are great role models for the kids. The teachers, well they are wonderful too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2008

LCA has been a wonderful blessing to our family! This is our 6th year in the school and I have a middle school child and a high school child. When we joined the school, we changed the adults that our children were going to grow up to be. It is my honor and pleasure to begin seeing the fruit of that decision in my 17 year old. I recommend Legacy Christian Academy highly!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2008

I am a student at Legacy and have been attending the school for five years. The teachers are personable, they honestly have an interest in our well being and strive to help us succeed. Every day we learn more about ourselves as individuals and who we are in Christ. My walk with the Lord has been strengthened significantly since I have been at Legacy. I have attended three Christian schools in my life, and Legacy is by far the best school that i have attended. Legacy provides a strong Christian education that challenges both my academic intellect and my spiritual walk with my Lord and Savior.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 16, 2008

Amazing school, absolutely incredible. Students are accepting, not stuck up like you would find at other schools. Run very smoothly, everyone there always has a smile on their face. Teachers are very kind, and are dedicated to fit the needs of your child. Academics are superb, as well as the arts and athletics. As a student at LCA, I am honored to go to such an outstanding school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 26, 2008

My children have attended Legacy for 7 years, but this will be our last. Our experience had been positive, but drastically changed in the last 2 years. The cost has become too great ($10k per child per year) and the rigid rules just too much to bear. New administration is too focused on conformity -- if your child is unique or has learning differences -- watch out. You will be pressured to medicate, even if that's not what's best for your child. We wanted to provide a Christian education for our children, but no longer believe in the leadership of the school. God made each child unique for His purpose, and we are sad to say that LCA does not recognize or celebrate those differences. When Jody Capehart was pushed out, the soul of the school went with her. We are seeking other options for our kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2008

I was a teacher at LCA for a short time and I found the school to not have Christian values. I felt like that the administration was weak and did not portray the Christian values that they claimed. The school has a lot of growing pains to work through. Research thoroughly before joining!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2008

I have two boys who have attend LCA for three years. We love the school! We are reminded frequently why the education is worth the financial commitment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2008

I've gone to this school for a little over 5 years and I've found that the teachers give 100% effort in trying to reach out to their students and trying to be a great example of Christ. Our Fine Arts program is a very strong community through the leadership of the faculty. The admistration however are the more wealthy people who are making decisions for this school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 18, 2007

As an early elementary parent, I do not find the academics particularly agressive. However, the overall values of the school are beneficial to each child as they're learning. The principal and vice-principal seem to struggle to find appropriate discipline standards for early elementary students, especially the boys. Sometimes the 'conform or leave' attitude is a lot to handle. Overall I'm impressed with the future that LCA offers to the students but there are still kinks in the system. A headmaster without a doctorate is one of them, combined with teachers that could be more specialized in early childhood education. I frequently find teachers with frowns, that seem extremely strict in demeanor. However, the parents at the school are absolutely sweet, tolerant and wonderful. The administration struggles to be accountable to the parents of the school however, it stil beats the secular morals of public school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2007

Classical education at its best. Classes are geared to challenge students in all subjects. Discipline issues are handled swiftly and appropriately. The High School is still incurring growing pains with teacher turnover and athletic opportunities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2007

For the most part an excellent school - at least pre k - 8th. The highschool doesn't have the classes and opportunities available at a larger public school. The school is not well recognized by colleges for academics or athletics. The big downside is the ever increasing tuition (approved by the wealthy board members) and added costs for all extra activities. The fundraisers seem endless with expected participation. High parental involvement expected. They seem to be weeding out the good average income Christian families due to high tuition increases each year. Its turning into a school for the rich. How Christian is that?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2006

School is very professionally run with helpful staff who make sure you are given individual attention. Our son's Kindegarten teacher has been a Godsend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 17, 2006

LCA is a wonderful school for any child. Teachers are truly interested in the overall academic achievement as well as a child's growth with God. They do a fantastic job of preparing students for a rigorous college advancement. We have been extremely happy with all school experiences - academic, extra-cirricular, social, and spiritual.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2006

Legacy is a Classical Christian School and has a challenging curriculum all based on the bible. My daughter is in Kindergarten and has classes in Spanish, music, computers and art. She reads at the third grade level and her teacher has worked with us to keep her challenged. There are a lot of opportunites to volunteer and the parental support is excellent. Our favorite part of Legacy is the Christ centered environment where children are loved, nutured and taught to walk in His ways.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2005

This school is one of the best in my opinion. You'll never find better people for your child to be with, or a better accademic system.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 69% 37%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 22% N/A
Black 3% 14%
Hispanic 3% 47%
Two or more races 1% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Pacific Islander N/A 3%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff None
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Engineering
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Technology
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Robotics club
  • Science club

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Visual arts
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Drum line
  • Flag girls
  • Marching band
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Foreign languages
Foreign languages taught
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Clubs
  • Cooking club

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Concurrent Enrollment w/ JBU
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Summer college prep programs
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Clubs
  • Debate
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:15 am
School end time
  • 3:30 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Chris Harmon
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 4 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACSI
Fax number
  • (469) 633-1348

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
  • College prep
  • STEM
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Engineering
  • Foreign languages
  • Mathematics
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Religious
  • Science
  • Technology
  • Visual arts
  • Writing
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • None
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
  • Mentoring
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Concurrent Enrollment w/ JBU
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Summer college prep programs
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Tennis
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Softball
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Book/reading club
  • Chess club
  • Community service
  • Cooking club
  • Debate
  • Drum line
  • Flag girls
  • Marching band
  • National Honor Society
  • Robotics club
  • Science club
  • Student council/government
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
More from this school
  • Legacy Christian Academy offers a college preparatory education balanced in academics, athletics and fine arts within a Christian community to equip strong leaders with Biblical convictions for tomorrow.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Students accepted for the 2012-2013 school year
110

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2012-2013 school year
$8000 - $14000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid

Planning ahead

College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
SAT/ACT prep classes
Summer college prep programs
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Concurrent Enrollment w/ JBU
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5000 Academy Drive
Frisco, TX 75034
Website: Click here
Phone: (469) 633-1330

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT