Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 13 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


13 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Shawnee Trail Elementary School 4

Posted June 06, 2013
- a parent
Shawnee trail is a great school, but I do agree with the previous post, if you are not very connected and in tune with what is going on, your child might not reach their full potential, the front office sometimes makes remarks or takes a disposition to the effect that you are being a bothersome parent who they are to busy to really deal with you when you really start digging to try and be more connnected, and it is obvious that they communicate as a whole in regards to questions or issues meant for only one or two of the staff. But as a whole, the teachers so far seem to really care, the principal really does take initiative and is involved in the school, and you can tell she really cares about the kids. The school is organized, but is somewhat lacking on communication about where your child truly is at academically and behaviorally, the info needs to be sought after by the parent. This school is a safe one, but the more I have to dig to find info, the less safe it feels. Other than the attitudes with the front office and needing to really dig to find out about my child, I'd say this school is one of the best due to the dedication of teachers and the heart given by the principal

Shawnee Trail Elementary School 2

Posted May 14, 2013
- a parent
Obviously, every student and parent's experience is unique. Having said that,after our 4 yr experience, I feel it my responsibility to give heads up. Pluses~ A safe & organized environment. Quick responses to questions or requests. A well-intended effort from a majority of the staff. Yes, there are teachers that are "done" & shouldn't be working with kids because they're ability to stay patient,creative & encouraging is very week. Sadly, their spark is gone. As a result, they leave their class stressed & uninspired to learn. The CONS: Academically, this district's desire to teach solely to achieve higher scores on standardized tests required by state- ABSOLUTELY DETRIMENTAL & COUNTER PRODUCTIVE- The school has had a run with teachers leaving soon after school starts for maternity totally messing with the cohesion & consistency of the learning process. Grading system is misleading & inconsistent. The teachers are overwhelmed & stressed by outside restrictions& demands. To sum it up- You're child could have a positive elementary experience here- If you are VERY connected, communicative & involved in their experience & are not afraid to speak up~ Which should be wherever they go!


Shawnee Trail Elementary School 4

Posted January 16, 2013
- a parent
I disagree with the previous post. My autistic child has had a positive experience at Shawnee Trail for years with the principal, teachers and other kids. There have been experiences where the other kids have stared at him when he's behaved differently, which is understandable, but the teachers addressed it appropriately so they would accept my son's differences and not make fun of him.

Shawnee Trail Elementary School 1

Posted January 13, 2013
- a parent
Do not send your special needs child here unless you want their self esteem to be destroyed. I pulled my autistic child out to homeschool the day I made a surprise visit to see him being chastised in the hall complete with the assistant principal's finger two inches from his little face.

Shawnee Trail Elementary School 3

Posted May 31, 2011
- a parent
I want to say few words about Mrs Polk and Ackermenn , my daughters Ist grade and 4th grade teachers, They are super teachers, very patience and easy going.I am very happy and satisfied with them, Every teacher is an outstanding teacher in Shawneetrail. Music and art teachers are amazing !!!!!!!!! Shawnee rocks :)


Shawnee Trail Elementary School 5

Posted August 19, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Shawnee Trail Elementary School 5

Posted March 06, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Shawnee Trail Elementary School 5

Posted September 08, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Shawnee Trail Elementary School 5

Posted March 31, 2007
- a parent
The staff at Shawnee Trail is awesome! I have been very pleased with them, and Ms. Wakeland, the principal, is wonderful. It's obvious she cares about the kids and her staff. There's a reason she was voted as one of the best principals in Frisco!

Shawnee Trail Elementary School 4

Posted August 27, 2006
- a parent
My husband and I have found the teachers at Shawnee Trail to be outstanding. We have, however, been very disappointed in the principal. She seems to be geared towards the upper grades and does not have much knowledge of what is appropriate in the early childhood years. She is also not the friendliest person day to day when parents see her in the halls, carpool, etc.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Shawnee Trail Elementary School
10701 Preston Vineyard Drive, Frisco, TX  75035
(469) 633-2500
Last modified Shawnee Trail Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Shawnee Trail Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top