Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Cornerstone Christian Academy

Private | PK-12

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Granbury

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $175,100. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $810.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 6 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

36 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Wednesday, September 10, 2014

Our kids are attending CCA because they love the atmosphere there. They have friends with excellent character and teachers who are awesome encouragers and models of how faith is to be lived out. We have done public school, home school and now CCA for several years and each has its unique challenges. If you are a believer looking for a true christian school experience for your kids in the Granbury area, this is the place. The school is now sharing the Church of Christ building near Granbury High School. They are still non-denominational in nature but are being hosted by the church as a wonderful kindness while the school plans a future site. The kids say it is working out great. They also have an excellent weight room, locker rooms and showers at the old Meander Rd. site. They still host their home football games under the lights there. The new athletic director, Coach Ike, has been great for my older kids by focusing on consistent long range conditioning for overall prevention of injury in any sport of which the school offers many. Blessings to you in your seach for the best place for your children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2014

My daughter has attended CCA since kindergarten. We love the staff and teachers. This school has high academic standards and moral values. Their not perfect, but all schools have to make adjustments as they grow. They encourage strong family involvement in the school. Our new location is so nice. We now have a full Gym and cafeteria. CCA offers band, choir, art, Spanish and nearly every sport. Great place to educate your kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2013

A little advice based on recent experience. Avoid at all cost. New "administration" is clueless.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2011

I have been a part of CCA for 10 years (this year is year 11) and it has been a fantastic school for my children. I know my children have received a quality education from a Biblical perspective. The teachers have been caring and helpful to my children. The current administration (which has been in place for 2 years) has shown EXCELLENT leadership and professionalism and have really brought the school up to a top school. I highly recommend CCA.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2011

I have been a teacher at Cornerstone for several years now, and have found it a wonderful place to work. The other teachers care so much for their students and go above and beyond what is required to help their students succeed. The administrator and Board have been very supportive. I am so glad to be a part of Cornerstone and am looking forward to many years of service to the Lord there.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 30, 2011

i did not rlly care for this school didnt reaqlly tech me much . i went to premire and i love it there(: -Zack E.


Posted August 29, 2011

no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no nonnonoononoon


Posted February 10, 2011

Have left for another Christian school in the area. Left due to a school board that is unprofessional and poor money managers. Many who have joined the board, resign and remove their children from the school. That is a sad statement. They still have some teacher's we will miss, other's that need to take a dose of common sense and kindness. Paying $600 dollars a month per child for this school is not money well spent. We love a Christian school atmosphere, this school needs help and prayer.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2011

It is February 2011 and we are half way through the school year. This is our 5th year at CCA and I am so pleased with our experience. Our Admin Mrs Thornburg is the best possible person to run our school. She has great leadership ability and cares for our children as well. We are equally pleased with our teachers this years as well as those in the past. We are in the process of turning in our paper work for next school year. We will have 2 children at CCA and are excited about next year. Praise God!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2010

Old trailer buildings are not safe and very dirty with mold. This can not be good for you. No cafeteria, gym, coaching for youngsters, or decent toilets. Alot of money for not much in buildings or programs. We can get bible programs and music at church and send kids to decent private school. Could not get a straight answer from folks about what the future holds. No account of current money. Appears they dont have any. Not many kids here either.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2010

What a great year CCA is having with our new Administration and all of the fun family activities and fellowship. Enrollment is greater than last year and the teachers are great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2010

As a new parent, I have thoroughly been enjoying this school year. Sure there has obvioulsy been stuff in the past and doesn't all schools have some kind of issues. How funny it is for those who are unhappy to complain? What does it matter if they are not there and the current families are happy? I am very pleased and just pray peace over this school and a wonderful year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2010

I fear this school is headed in a direction that is neither Christ-centered, nor academically challenging. The current board of directors practices nepotism by employing their spouses...perhaps a conflict of interest here. Teachers and the previous administrator have been terminated with no reason given by the BOD. There is a new administrator, but is this person simply a puppet of the board? The Bible tells us not to bear false witness and gossip, yet this is a constant at CCA. Academically students are being held to only a proficient level due to inexperienced/uncertified staff and parent interference. I pray for an intervention to heal this school.


Posted August 30, 2010

AWFUL. The school has mistreated so many families and as a result has lost many students this year. It's only a matter of time before this place falls apart completely. Too bad because it did seem to be a wonderful place and good alternative to public school in the Granbury area. They have lost many good teachers in the last couple of years as well. AWFUL.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2010

Bugs, mold, unsafe and huge debt with no accountability for current spending problems. Keep spinning a tale about building. It is not happening. They lost over 50 students this year and will lose many more next year. Only ones writing good reviews are on the board or are staff members. Once was a good place for children. They got rid of good families as fast as they could....They do not like to be asked why the board hires their spouses for any job openings and do not fire those who have openly gone against any Christian ethics. Pray for the families who remain.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2010

Very clicky, self serving and un-Christian environment. The staff talk about the parents and kids, saying mean things and do so in front of the chilren. Favortism and nepotism are rampant. There are somany better Christian schools in the area, why choose this one?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 7, 2010

I have been on staff at CCA for five years, and I am looking forward to the 2010- 2011 school year. I have watched students advance academically, but most importantly, SPIRITUALLY. These students are amazing! God is alive in their hearts. As a parent, is there anything more important than that?
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 10, 2010

CCA is the best alternative to public education offered in our area. My spouse has taught in the public schools all her adult life, and my 3 children have attended CCA for the last 6 years (for my oldest). My children love the school and have had many opportunities they would not have had elsewhere. Sure there are issues with the temporary buildings we are TEMPORARILY in, but in my opinion, having CCA's classes in an ag barn would be better than secularizing my children in the public schools and teaching them the world view. Upon reading some of the negative reviews on this site, there can be no doubt that CCA isn't perfect, but for some, the grass will always be greener somewhere else. What were they hoping to accomplish here? There are wonderful teachers and staff at CCA whom the Lord has called, and I am grateful for them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2010

We are going on our 4th year at CCA and have been totally impressed by the quality of academics and teachers here. It is a Christ centered atmosphere. The teachers truly love their students and teaching them. We are very excited about the newly appointed administrator who has such a passion and love for our school that is encouraging to see where we are going from here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2010

Cornerstone Christian Academy is the ONLY choice for a truly Christian education in the Granbury area. We have been at CCA for 4 years and have been blessed by the amazing teachers and parents that truly bond together to educate our children. Academics are very strong! CCA has excellent athletic and fine arts programs building with amazing leaders. We are proud to say our kids will graduate high school from CCA with a truly Christian worldview and prepped for college too!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 98% 31%
Black 2% 13%
Hispanic 1% 51%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Pacific Islander 0% 4%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACSI
Fax number
  • (817) 573-7604

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

603 Meander Road
Granbury, TX 76049
Phone: (817) 573-6485

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Oak Woods School
Granbury, TX


Acton Middle School
Granbury, TX


Lake Pointe Academy
Granbury, TX





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT