Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
19 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 34 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Eisenhower Elementary School 1

Posted May 16, 2016
- a parent
This is our first year in the district and I couldn't be more disappointed. My daughter attends first grade here and we have had nothing but issues. My daughters teacher is young and seems as if she is unsure of what she is doing, we get homework that is graded wrong, lack of communication when notes or emails are sent , seems to have a substitute in her class at least once a week.... The list goes on. There have been issues with other students and children being mean and bullying but doesn't help when the teacher calls your child the same names the children do. My child asks us on an almost daily basis when can we go back to her previous school where she had a nice teacher and friends that liked her. Finishing out this school year and starting our search for a new home.

Eisenhower Elementary School 5

Posted May 11, 2016
- a parent
My granddaughter has been going to this school since kindergarten and she loves it,she has only had one problem with a student and they corrected it quickly.Everyone is so sweet and helpful keep doing what you do ....Go Eisenhower


Eisenhower Elementary School 5

Posted September 05, 2014
- a parent
I have two students that attend this school. I love both of their teachers, so far. The staff here at Eisenhower seems to be one of the friendliest in the state. Mrs. Garcia works in the office and she is very nice and helpful. The Principal Mr V and Mrs. McCloud the Assistant Principal seem to be all over the campus throughout the day. Because I see them in the back of the school, front of the school and every time I am there I see them in the halls. They will actually speak to you when they see you. Most importantly I did some digging and I think that this school has the highest TEA rating in the district. They received 4 of 6 Distinctions last year. The only con is the school seems a little crowded. We will see how the year ends. But it has started great! http://ritter.tea.state.tx.us/perfreport/account/2014/static/summary/campus/c057910113.pdf

Eisenhower Elementary School 3

Posted December 11, 2010
- a parent
My youngest child is in 2nd grade at Eisenhower. My oldest child attended years ago, before the rezoning. Yes, there have been changes. Change is inevitable, but difficult for some as evidenced by the remarks here. I am very pleased with the educators there. Those teachers are hard working and dedicated. I see many of them there until 7:00 at night and during the holidays. They do that because they're devoted to their job; not because they have to. It saddens me to hear the unkind racial remarks made by some parents. The diversity at Eisenhower is reflective of the changes in the city of Grand Prairie. It s a great city and people want to live here. If you don t like how the city has changed then move to Plano or Frisco. The coming together of different cultures and the sheer number of students are difficult issues for anyone to deal with. The principals and teachers are keeping their heads high and moving forward despite the naysayers and nit-pickers who have nothing better to do than stir up trouble. Give them your support not your negativity!

Eisenhower Elementary School 1

Posted November 29, 2010
- a parent
This school has gone down hill this year and I will be pulling my children out at winter break. To over crowded and the teachers are over welmed with the disciplinary issues going on in this school.


Eisenhower Elementary School 5

Posted November 03, 2010
- a parent
My daughter is now in 2nd grade. She has had 3 wonderful teachers at Eisenhower! The school staff work very hard to meet the needs of all the students. Thank you Eisenhower for all of your work with my child!

Eisenhower Elementary School 5

Posted October 31, 2010
- a teacher
Having taught at Eisenhower since 1997, I have never heard of a teacher refusing help from a parent. We want and need our parents to be involved with their child's education. The more the students see parents and teachers working together to improve the students' success, the better! We have new leadership this year, and are now the largest elementary school in Grand Prairie. I see a very organized parent volunteer group, teachers that work as a team, and students that want to learn. I am proud to call myself a teacher at Eisenhower.

Eisenhower Elementary School 1

Posted October 18, 2010
- a parent
Very disappointed in this school. They discourage parental involvement and my daughters teachers seems very overwhelmed. I asked if I could come into the class to volunteer to help her out and was told they dont really like for parents to do this!! WHAT!! I've never heard of this, it is very disturbing to be discourage from coming to the school when I want. It makes me wonder what is going on at the school that they dont want parents to know about. Arent you supposed to be involved in your childs education. As a parent, I want access to my child WHENEVER i want as long as I am not disturbing the learning process. I am seriously thinking about pulling my children out of there if I cannot get the answers I need.


Eisenhower Elementary School
no rating

Posted October 14, 2010
- a community member
My grandson is excited about everything he's learning.

Eisenhower Elementary School 1

Posted February 23, 2010
- a parent
This is the worst school I have ever had to place my child in! 90% of the students don't speak English, the teachers don't care if a student does his/her homework, staff is lazy. I will be pulling my child from this school!!!!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Eisenhower Elementary School
2102 North Carrier Parkway, Grand Prairie, TX  75050
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 34 reviews. (972) 262-3717
Last modified Eisenhower Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top