Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

So Grand Prairie High School

Public | 10-12 | 2309 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Monday, April 21, 2014

This school has engaging teachers and counselors. But the administrators scores a failing grade due to their disconnect - more worried about athleticism, dress codes and other less pertinent things than academics. Administration needs to get on board with their teachers and just maybe SGP would be an ideal place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2012

My daughter graduated from South in 2010 and I must say that I wasn't too impressed with the school administration in those four years that she attended but was very satisfied academically with the school. I too am in education in DISD so I understand the ups and downs of education and what all goes into a campus being sucessful. My daughter attends a private college out of state and is doing great. Girls athletics could be a great deal better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2011

This is a great school. It is very large and diverse. This school offers many different academic as well as extra curricular programs. Excellent staff. My son just graduated from this school and I would highly recommend it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2010

I am Proud to say that we are recognized and is a Exemplary campus 2 years in a row hopefully this year could be 3. The only thing that we strive for is to pass the TAKS test. We study that and our other courses but mostly anything dealing with the TAKS testing. The only thing i don't like about South is how we are mostly concern about student appeals. We should be mostly concerned about grades, graduation, Senior things and other fun stuff. With them always saying "pull your pants up", " Go to ISS" or even " You're violating dress code, meet me in my office". I understand the care but start worrying about our grade instead how short the girls dresses are. Really he administrators dress is violating dress code but get on the girls more really dumb. But yea other then that South is a Good School.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 16, 2009

I am a current student at South Grand Prairie High School. I am proud to say that my experience here at South has been a great one. The faculty enforces a great amount of discipline which keeps the students intact and on track. Those who don't do well do so because of their own free will. I am currently a senior and wish to be one for another year but I can't because I must live my life. If you are looking for a High School to enroll your child I recommend South with enthusiasm. I am proud to be a Warrior! :D
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 11, 2009

I am a former student of South G.P.H.S. I graduated in 2004. I can say that walking through the halls at any point in time I always felt safe and let me tell you, I am a very petite women. There were few fights and when one did break out it was taken care of so fast that nobody saw it. There was a teen pregnancy problem but I did notice that it was with the students that had a more 'rough' home life. I think this is a great school. Anytime that I had any trouble with a class I could ask for help.


Posted February 6, 2009

I taught at SGP for 25 years and am now retired. The most important thing that needs to take place at South is that the students need to take responsibility for their education. They can't expect to be successful college students if they expect to have education spoon-fed to them in high school. I loved being a Warrior most of the time I was at South.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 20, 2007

The school is in bad shape. The administration at SGP is horrible. They only care about how a student looks and not academics. The administration also doesn't support extracurricular activities. They are pulling the quality of SGPHS down a whole lot.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 14, 2007

South Grand Prairie High is doing well compared to schools of the same size and demographics.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 18, 2007

As with any public school, the bombardment of testing and the No Child Left Behind Act has dictated most of what occurs in the classroom. Although SGP faces these problems with raised consciousness and fervor, teachers plead for the help of parents and most of all, students who need to take responsibility for their own education. We are educators, and we can not do it all. I compliment the efforts of the SGP family, both hard-working students, teachers, and those caring parents who make the school a quality environment. I won't deny that there is room for improvement, but I know that we aim to improve. I am proud to be a member WARRIOR clan!-GO SOUTH!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 30, 2006

I was a student at SGPHS... and I am NOT satisfied. While there are a few gems.. MOST of the teachers really don't care. Most of the math teachers don't know how to teach math. If you ask for 'help' Most of them will instead give answers. This helps with homework grades, but then comes along a test, and over half the class fails. A lot of teachers cover this fault up with a 'curve' raise the highest grade to a 100, and raise all of the other grades by that amount of points. Also, the principal is the last person who should have power over kids. She's hypocritical and only enforces the dress code to certain students. I also rode the bus and there were numerous occasions of fighting, someone drunk on the bus.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 20, 2005

The administration is trying to swim upstream in this school. The students are going one way while the administration are going another way. The administration is expecting higher and higher expectations and quality of work. However, the student body is giving lower and lower quality of work and constantly balk at the expectations of them. Also, the school needs to further update their use of technology in reporting their data and in their day to day operations.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2004

Being a former teacher at SGPHS, I can say from an inside perspective that it is a quality school. When the parents get involved in the learning of their students, it really helps the teachers to create an environment condusive to learning.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 19, 2004

This school is great. The campus really has control over most all the difficult situations. In my daughters four years their she was never put an unsafe situation. And the staff ins the friendliest. Well the attendance staff could use a little help.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 19, 2003

I think that SGPHS is a wonderful school. The students are full of spark to learn, and school spirit. My daughter has never complained about the teachers, and she loves it.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 91% in 2011.

792 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
90%
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2011.

772 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
75%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2011.

778 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
75%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 93% in 2011.

764 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 95% in 2013.

685 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
96%
Math

The state average for Math was 89% in 2013.

689 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
94%
Science

The state average for Science was 95% in 2013.

686 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
96%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 98% in 2013.

685 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students97%
Female99%
Male96%
Black or African American97%
Asian97%
Hispanic97%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged97%
Special education77%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a

Math

All Students90%
Female88%
Male91%
Black or African American86%
Asian97%
Hispanic89%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged89%
Special education55%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a

Science

All Students96%
Female94%
Male97%
Black or African American95%
Asian94%
Hispanic95%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged95%
Special education79%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a

Social Studies

All Students99%
Female99%
Male99%
Black or African American98%
Asian97%
Hispanic99%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged99%
Special education91%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

  • In 2010-2011, this school was rated "Academically Acceptable".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Recognized".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Recognized".

About the tests


Texas uses Accountability Ratings to indicate the overall performance of each school and district. The ratings are based on TAKS test results, dropout rates for grades 7 and 8 and school completion rates for grades 9 through 12. Schools and districts rated under standard accountability procedures are designated as Exemplary, Recognized, Academically Acceptable or Academically Unacceptable. Schools and districts rated under alternative education accountability (AEA) procedures are designated as either AEA: Academically Acceptable or AEA: Academically Unacceptable.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 78% in 2013.

35 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
n/a
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 97% in 2013.

121 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
n/a
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 85% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
n/a
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 84% in 2013.

714 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
n/a
English I Reading

The state average for English I Reading was 65% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
n/a
English I Writing

The state average for English I Writing was 48% in 2013.

144 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
13%

2012

 
 
n/a
English II Reading

The state average for English II Reading was 78% in 2013.

663 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
n/a
English II Writing

The state average for English II Writing was 52% in 2013.

663 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
n/a
English III Reading

The state average for English III Reading was 63% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
n/a
English III Writing

The state average for English III Writing was 42% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 86% in 2013.

538 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
n/a
Physics

The state average for Physics was 81% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
81%
World Geography

The state average for World Geography was 75% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
22%

2012

 
 
n/a
World History

The state average for World History was 70% in 2013.

721 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Algebra I

All Students31%
Female36%
Male29%
Black or African American33%
Asiann/a
Hispanic27%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged40%
Not economically disadvantaged10%
Special education22%
Not special education35%
Limited English proficient (LEP)33%
Proficient in English34%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant31%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted31%
Bilingualn/a

Algebra II

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Black or African American100%
Asian100%
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education100%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant100%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted100%
Bilingualn/a

Biology I

All Students43%
Female46%
Male40%
Black or African American31%
Asiann/a
Hispanic52%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged38%
Not economically disadvantaged53%
Special education50%
Not special education42%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English44%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant43%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted43%
Bilingualn/a

Chemistry

All Students83%
Female85%
Male81%
Black or African American78%
Asian95%
Hispanic81%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White91%
Economically disadvantaged79%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Special education33%
Not special education85%
Limited English proficient (LEP)75%
Proficient in English83%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant83%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted80%
Bilingualn/a

English I Reading

All Students33%
Female36%
Male32%
Black or African American28%
Asiann/a
Hispanic34%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White50%
Economically disadvantaged32%
Not economically disadvantaged40%
Special education38%
Not special education33%
Limited English proficient (LEP)33%
Proficient in English33%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant34%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted34%
Bilingualn/a

English I Writing

All Students13%
Female22%
Male9%
Black or African American9%
Asiann/a
Hispanic13%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White27%
Economically disadvantaged11%
Not economically disadvantaged17%
Special education9%
Not special education14%
Limited English proficient (LEP)11%
Proficient in English13%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant13%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted13%
Bilingualn/a

English II Reading

All Students79%
Female81%
Male77%
Black or African American73%
Asian94%
Hispanic78%
Multiracial90%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White86%
Economically disadvantaged75%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Special education38%
Not special education81%
Limited English proficient (LEP)65%
Proficient in English80%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant79%
Gifted/talented96%
Non-Gifted78%
Bilingualn/a

English II Writing

All Students46%
Female51%
Male40%
Black or African American36%
Asian73%
Hispanic44%
Multiracial40%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White57%
Economically disadvantaged40%
Not economically disadvantaged54%
Special education10%
Not special education47%
Limited English proficient (LEP)21%
Proficient in English47%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant46%
Gifted/talented87%
Non-Gifted42%
Bilingualn/a

English III Reading

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Black or African American100%
Asian100%
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education100%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant100%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Giftedn/a

English III Writing

All Students97%
Female97%
Male97%
Black or African American100%
Asian100%
Hispanic91%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged94%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Special educationn/a
Not special education97%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English97%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant97%
Gifted/talented97%
Non-Giftedn/a

Geometry

All Students84%
Female86%
Male82%
Black or African American77%
Asian86%
Hispanic84%
Multiracial91%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged83%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Special education63%
Not special education85%
Limited English proficient (LEP)73%
Proficient in English85%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant84%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted83%
Bilingualn/a

Physics

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

U.S. History

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

World Geography

All Students22%
Female18%
Male26%
Black or African American14%
Asiann/a
Hispanic27%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged20%
Not economically disadvantaged26%
Special education0%
Not special education25%
Limited English proficient (LEP)31%
Proficient in English20%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant22%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted22%
Bilingualn/a

World History

All Students75%
Female74%
Male76%
Black or African American72%
Asian93%
Hispanic70%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White87%
Economically disadvantaged70%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Special education44%
Not special education76%
Limited English proficient (LEP)37%
Proficient in English77%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant75%
Gifted/talented99%
Non-Gifted71%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 47% 50%
Black 24% 13%
White 20% 31%
Asian 6% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Two or more races 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms Donna Grant
Fax number
  • (972) 642-7902
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

301 W Warrior Trl
Grand Prairie, TX 75052
Website: Click here
Phone: (972) 343-1500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Clay Academy
Dallas, TX





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT