Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
27 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Parent (1 response)
characters left.
There are 36 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


South Grand Prairie High School
Grateful to: Parent

Posted November 19, 2015
- a parent
other parents who get involved. There is not enough input to change this school around. Administration does not know what they are doing.

South Grand Prairie High School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted November 19, 2015
- a parent
Extensive, useless homework. It may be that there is a required amount, but the testing and work required does not appear to impact student success.


South Grand Prairie High School 2

Posted November 19, 2015
- a parent
The focus is on the lower denominator in this school, rather than bringing it up. The principal seems to be for appearances only and they accept anyone, rather than expecting students to perform to a higher level. My child was placed into a class that they did not want and had students who continually disrupted the class. Even when sent out for behavior, the administration did nothing and these students were continually allowed back in. Teachers appear overwhelmed and stressed, although some were good. Many do not respond, especially in the core areas of Math, English. Staff makes excuses. The buidling appears old and there is a lack of technology for students (classes do not have computers).

South Grand Prairie High School
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted July 14, 2015
- a student
The boys locker room looks nasty and vadeled half of the kids are good and other half of the kids may get you in trouble like smack talking puting hands on one other like fighting smacking some do some don't foods nasty some racism not many kids from different regions

South Grand Prairie High School 5

Posted January 25, 2015
- a parent
I strongly feel that the advanced classes at SGP are preparing my child for college. Teachers are responsive and seem to love what they do.


South Grand Prairie High School 4

Posted November 12, 2014
- a parent
I have 2 children at SGP and I have enjoyed being here. Previously my children were in Charter Schools. I have had a few problems with grades but when I have contacted the teachers they were helpful in either correcting the issue or allowing my child to do extra credit to help with their grades. I do check their grades weekly. The School has a lot of School Spirit and participation. At football and basketball games the stands are full of parents,students and Admin. I believe it takes both the parents and the Staff to get our children through high school years successfully.

South Grand Prairie High School 1

Posted November 02, 2014
- a parent
They are teaching the 5 Pilars of Islam.Mahaamad is the prophet Allah is one god.Teaching of the Qur'an,Jihad,their Mosques are beautiful and its a religion easy to learn.They are having an Islamic guest speaker come in and teach Islam to the kids without parental consent. When you pull your child from the class they go to ISS and get an "F".Merely punished for not believing.Religion should not be taught at school under our noses.

South Grand Prairie High School 3

Posted September 11, 2014
- a community member
I am currently a senior and I must say sgp has the best English and History teachers in particular. Really enjoyed taking AP History! Science and math departments needs a little improvement though(There are some lazy science teachers! especially in AP science classes which is a shame. So many "blow off" electives. Loved psychology, Environmental Sciene and Ready Set Teach! Student body is generally accepting. Bullying is taken seriously here and are not tolerated. Not a bad school.


South Grand Prairie High School 1

Posted April 21, 2014
- a parent
This school has engaging teachers and counselors. But the administrators scores a failing grade due to their disconnect - more worried about athleticism, dress codes and other less pertinent things than academics. Administration needs to get on board with their teachers and just maybe SGP would be an ideal place.

South Grand Prairie High School 4

Posted February 22, 2012
- a parent
My daughter graduated from South in 2010 and I must say that I wasn't too impressed with the school administration in those four years that she attended but was very satisfied academically with the school. I too am in education in DISD so I understand the ups and downs of education and what all goes into a campus being sucessful. My daughter attends a private college out of state and is doing great. Girls athletics could be a great deal better.

Nearby schools

South Grand Prairie High School
301 West Warrior Trail, Grand Prairie, TX  75052
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 36 reviews. (972) 343-1500
Last modified South Grand Prairie High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top