Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Colin Powell Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 485 students

 
 

Living in Grand Prairie

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $123,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,030.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 9 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

23 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 11, 2014

I am a former student there at Powell. The first moment I walked in the school I knew it was going to be great well when you are in kindergarten they treat you like angles because you are small but on 1st grade the discipline you for your on good but all my years were great but when I got to 5th grade it was a little tuff for me because I didn't understand what I was learning but that moment that the 5th grade teachers knew they we're helping me a lot to pass my STAAR test and also you get to go to camp Grady spruce it is a over night camp with your friends I loved it their you get to go on a mountain and a island and to ride on horses also do archery there a lot more I don't want to spoil it but last but not least my principal Thelma jones was the best you could ever have !!!!!! : ))))))


Posted April 2, 2014

Heard so many great things about this exceptional school. Can't wait for the new year to start for my little one.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 19, 2013

I have two children attending Colin Powell Elementary and I have to say this school is wonderful. The teachers and programs are top notch. They really care and it shows!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2013

There is almost no point in submitting this review since for every bad review, the teachers pose as parents and post a good review. Myself and my child were treated horribly by the teachers and staff at this school. I have to wonder if it is because we were not as "affluent" as others at this school. All snobs! Hate this place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2013

Powell is the BEST public elementary school without hesitation. The principal is strict but in a caring way and the teachers follow suit. We decided to stay in the area simply because of this school and the education our children are getting. One of our children is special needs and we could not ask for a better environment for him. Thank you, Powell, for being the best. We are blessed to be able to attend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2013

Powell is a wonderful environment for children. Goals are set high for each child's achievement and parents are expected to participate in their child's education. I have two children still there and one that will attend middle school this year. I know that my children are well taken care of, motivated by the staff, and feel very loved. What more would a parent want for their children?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2013

Students and parents are great. Teachers and administrators are awful. They are arrogant, gossipy, and care very little about the actual students in their school. I hate this place and am so glad my kids don't have to go there anymore.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 23, 2013

I have one child at Powell, and one child just graduated from there. I love the staff, I love the teachers, and I highly recommend and love the school. I was a teacher for several years, and I can verify that educating is one of the most mentally-demanding and emotionally draining jobs you can do. I believe the educators there truly have a calling to teach, and exhibit true dedication to their students. Palomino Proud!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2013

"They are more concerned with their image and their scores than the actual children who attend the school." i totally agree, in my opinion if a child is struggling they will leave them by the wayside or say they have a disability when in actuality they just dont want to deal with it. If the parent struggles with doing their job (which is teaching them) at home. They will not pick up the slack if your child is slower than the other kids. This staff of people don't really care unless you are making their jobs easier.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2013

This school is average in my opinion - nothing particularly spectacular about it. Yes, they get good test scores, but that is due more to the students and the involvement of the parents rather than the teachers. There is an arrogant culture within the school - they really, really don't like people to think they are not the best school in town. Thing is, there are lots of great schools in Grand Prairie, Powell does not have the monopoly on that. They are more concerned with their image and their scores than the actual children who attend the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2013

My son attends Powell.Everyone in the school works very hard to make sure student success is achieved. From the first time I walked into the office I felt at home. I had lots of questions and concerns.. The office staff was very knowledgable and friendly. It is true that the teachers push the students, and parent involvement is expected to help in the learning experience. You can't argue with the results-The school also has great communication. There is a weekly newsletter, parent calendar with information for the whole school as well weekly emails and daily communications from my son's teacher. This year we get phone calls and texts. The PTA has a very big presence. They sponsor many events through out the year. The reputation in the school district is Powell is the best of the best . My family agrees- we are Palomino Proud!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2012

My Daughter is a Kinder student in Mrs. Salinas class at Powell. I had my first teacher conference Nov.6th and i left in tears of joy knowing she was being lead by someone who wants to see her go far in life...I was relieved to know that she has a teacher that would have an impact on her life. Not only does she Captures kids hearts...She captured mine as a parent!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2011

My child has been at Powell for 5 years. I am amazed at the parent involvement. The PTA membership is one of the largest in the district. The programs/plays they organize with the music dept are incredible. I have been to several plays in other schools and nothing has compared to the parent investment in stage decorations, costumes, and turn-out during the performances like at Powell. Mrs. Jones, the principal has very high expectations for teachers and students, but that's another reason why Powell has won more awards and recognitions than any other school in the district. Powell families even gathered 3 TONS of paper for the district recycle contest, more than larger elm schools, middle schools, and even the high schools! Powell ranks as a Commended school on TAKS and has earned a number of awards from TEA. We are Palomino Proud!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2009

Powell is a wonderful school with excellent faculty/staff. It has a diverse learning environment and a communal aura. The PTA is very active, but could always use more parental participation. Rhetorically speaking, should the PTA (or school for that matter) have to be vocal about parental participation for YOUR child? The principal is a good no-nonsense leader. Teachers are demanding, but parents shouldn't have it any other way. The school has received exemplary rating this year, but won't rest on its laurels. TAKS testing and science enrichment should be areas of continued focus.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2009

i do not think powell is a good school. zavala elementary is way better:)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2008

Colin Powell is a great school a very diversed learning environment. Mrs. Jones is a wonderful prinicipal. She cares about her staff and students. An active PTA.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2008

We have been at the school since January 2008 and it seems OK but the school does not seem to encourage parent participation. I within in the first week offered to volunteer and and have been doing so since then but I feel they could be a little more vocal and aggresive to get more cooperation and better attendance at the PTA meetings. The Principal is not welcoming at all and she seems to fly solo and does not mingle with the parents. I do believe they have potiential for improvement but it all begins with how involved the leader is.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2008

Notice how much time has passed between the last review and this one. This school (and from what I can tell, this district) is terrible! My child attends kindergarten here. 3 months into the school year, they transferred my child's kindergarten teacher! With no explanation! The children were devastated. Bullying is rampant here and the principal refuses to do anything about it. She won't even contact the parents of the children who are doing the bullying! A parent took her concerns all the way to the administration and she told me that they said that all she could do was remove her child from this school and send him to another one in the district...but that Colin Powell is the most sought-after school in the district! Parental involvement is near non-existent. In fact, they had to cancel culture night this year because only 5 parents had volunteered school-wide. How sad!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2005

Academic performance is excellent. Music, art, and PE programs are solid. Very high parent involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 9, 2004

I think that the school is ok but could be better. I feel that the school gives way too many work sheets instead of actually teaching. My son is overwhelmed with worksheets. I think that the teachers that I have dealt with expections are way too high and make hard on some students. I personally will not send my son there next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 89% in 2011.

84 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
97%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2011.

84 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2011.

74 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
97%
Math

The state average for Math was 88% in 2011.

74 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
98%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 90% in 2011.

70 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 82% in 2011.

69 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
98%
Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2011.

68 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
98%
Science

The state average for Science was 87% in 2011.

68 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students96%
Female98%
Male95%
Black or African American100%
Asian91%
Hispanic91%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged95%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Special educationn/a
Not special education96%
Limited English proficient (LEP)78%
Proficient in English99%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant96%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students96%
Female100%
Male93%
Black or African American93%
Asian100%
Hispanic95%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged85%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education96%
Limited English proficient (LEP)89%
Proficient in English97%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant96%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students97%
Female98%
Male96%
Black or African American96%
Asian100%
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Special educationn/a
Not special education97%
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Proficient in English97%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant97%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students99%
Female98%
Male100%
Black or African American95%
Asian100%
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged95%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education99%
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Proficient in English99%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant99%
Gifted/talented100%

Writing

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Black or African American100%
Asian100%
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education100%
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant100%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Black or African American100%
Asian100%
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education100%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant100%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students99%
Female97%
Male100%
Black or African American95%
Asian100%
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged94%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education98%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English98%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant99%
Gifted/talented100%

Science

All Students99%
Female97%
Male100%
Black or African American95%
Asian100%
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged95%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education98%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English98%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant99%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 79% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
95%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
81%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 72% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
89%
Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
95%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 71% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
88%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 77% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
94%
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
97%
Science

The state average for Science was 73% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
95%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students94%
Female100%
Male86%
Black or African American96%
Asian87%
Hispanic95%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged82%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education95%
Limited English proficient (LEP)83%
Proficient in English96%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant94%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted92%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students90%
Female95%
Male83%
Black or African American88%
Asian93%
Hispanic90%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White93%
Economically disadvantaged86%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Special educationn/a
Not special education91%
Limited English proficient (LEP)92%
Proficient in English90%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant90%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted87%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students88%
Female86%
Male90%
Black or African American89%
Asian86%
Hispanic80%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged79%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Special educationn/a
Not special education89%
Limited English proficient (LEP)80%
Proficient in English89%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant88%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted86%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students93%
Female94%
Male92%
Black or African American89%
Asian100%
Hispanic90%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged86%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Special educationn/a
Not special education93%
Limited English proficient (LEP)80%
Proficient in English94%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant93%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted91%
Bilingualn/a

Writing

All Students86%
Female81%
Male90%
Black or African American96%
Asian86%
Hispanic73%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White87%
Economically disadvantaged79%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Special educationn/a
Not special education86%
Limited English proficient (LEP)80%
Proficient in English86%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant86%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted83%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Black or African American100%
Asian100%
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education100%
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant100%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted100%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students98%
Female100%
Male96%
Black or African American97%
Asian100%
Hispanic95%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged96%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Special educationn/a
Not special education99%
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Proficient in English98%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant98%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted97%
Bilingualn/a

Science

All Students93%
Female98%
Male89%
Black or African American90%
Asian100%
Hispanic86%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged84%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Special educationn/a
Not special education94%
Limited English proficient (LEP)80%
Proficient in English94%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant93%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted91%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

  • In 2010-2011, this school was rated "Exemplary".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Exemplary".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Exemplary".

About the tests


Texas uses Accountability Ratings to indicate the overall performance of each school and district. The ratings are based on TAKS test results, dropout rates for grades 7 and 8 and school completion rates for grades 9 through 12. Schools and districts rated under standard accountability procedures are designated as Exemplary, Recognized, Academically Acceptable or Academically Unacceptable. Schools and districts rated under alternative education accountability (AEA) procedures are designated as either AEA: Academically Acceptable or AEA: Academically Unacceptable.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 32% 52%
Black 28% 13%
White 24% 29%
Asian or Pacific Islander 12% 4%
Two or more races 4% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient (LEP) 8%N/A17%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Beginning teachers 3%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5009 South Carrier Parkway
Grand Prairie, TX 75052
Website: Click here
Phone: (972) 642-3961

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Garner Fine Arts Academy
Grand Prairie, TX







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT