Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Grapevine High School

Public | 9-12 | 2098 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 17 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

42 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 15, 2010

Teachers and Principal are awful. Way too much focus on improving TAKS scores than other academics.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 3, 2009

My two sons went through high school at Grapevine. The teachers are wonderful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 4, 2009

I attended this school a few years ago, and it is a great school if you are in the AP classes or are in one of the favored sports or activity groups. As a mostly regular class student. I never got any real information on college, scholarships and my councilor never knew my name and screwed up my schedule so often I never got to participate in all the activities that I wanted to. Heck, I even think half my teachers didn't even know I excisted because they were to busy playing on the computers or dealing with other students who were unruly , or were special needs but the system spit them out into classes they were not suited for.


Posted June 14, 2009

lacking teaching enthusiasm, falling state mandates for exemplarary standards. disappointing from a student's viewpoint, and not to mention football scores (0-10) from this football season
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 15, 2009

The girl was not the top valedictorian. She was a three year graduate. The school followed the correct policy and they still allowed her to be a three year valedictorain. My daughter graduated from that class and the school handled the entire incident fairly. By the way, my daughter was in the top ten, so I know what I am talking about.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 14, 2008

My daughter atteneded both Colleyville HS and Grapevine HS, The physical facilty at Colleyville is new. However, the guidance dept at Grapevine and frount office is so supportive where at Colleyville it seem so disorganized. The AP program is excellant. The cheating at Colleyville on tests is rampant and this hurts honest students GPA.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2008

While the school has some very good teachers, they, unfortunately, receive very little support from the school Principal. The current Principal is more interested in athletics than academics -- consequently, the academic performance of the school has been suffering. In 2008, the school received some negative national attention when it denied its top student the valedictorian title.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2008

My daughter transferred to this school from Southlake Texas. Much better school all ways around. This school is geared more toward teaching academics, rather than trying to win trophies and bragging rights through athletics.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2008

GHS is an acceptable school if your child is an athlete or in the AP programs. If your child suffers from any disability, however small, they will not fit in at GHS or receive the help that they need. My child was suspended the first week of school because his teachers had not been provided with his IEP and had no idea of his behavior or learning disabilities. Even though I had discussed this prior to the beginning of the school year and was assured that everything would be in order. The year was one nightmare after another. I pulled my child out and took a leave of absence from my job to educate him until we found a private school placement. The irony is that we moved to this district because we had heard how great the schools were.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2007

I feel the education is there if students and parents are willing to do their jobs. It is not the sole responsibility of the teachers for a student's education. Many parents forget their jobs. I feel the AP classes are excellent. My son is in college now and was well prepared for his coursework in Engineering due to the fact that the AP classes prepared him. Also, he earned 49 credits toward college through AP testing. Another young lady earned 62 credit hours. You can't beat that!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2007

Grapevine high school has excellent programs offered at the pre-advanced placement/advanced placement levels. Their staff is very determined to give the best education to their students, and go out of their way to help them. Overall, Grapevine high school is a very well set high school offering the best for their students.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 22, 2007

In my experience, the quality of the academic programs are of low standard due to the need to implement programs to increase scores on TAKS. I cannot comment on extracurricular activities as my student does not participate in sports within the school. The level of parent involvement is less than appropriate. Due to several situations that transpired this year the Principal made no attempt to remedy situations or take into consideration my concerns but rather portray the situation as one of a dictatorship in that his thoughts, concepts and feelings where the correct ones. Review the statistics before enrolling!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2006

Grapevine High is honestly not such a great school. They lack organization and learning techniques. My child went to GHS for his first three months of freshman year. He then transferred to Colleyville Heritage, because of the lack of an organized science area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2005

GHS is a good large high school. If your child needs individual attention, however, stick with a smaller high school. As in any school this size, counselors don't know your child well. AP and pre-AP curriculums are superior.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2005

We have been blessed since moving here with the quality of education offered at GHS. The teachers and programs are wonderful and the band program is superb.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2005

Most of the teachers are outstanding, genuinely concerned about their students and willing to provide extra help to ensure student success. Communication between teacher and parent is excellent. It is not unusual for the teacher to call or email the parent when they have concerns about a student. I am impressed by the variety of cources offered. Advanced Placement courses are numerous and there are loads of extracurricular activities although, I can not say they all practice inclusiveness. However, that may be typical of Texas and Texans competitiveness. Counseling office is completely lacking in parent/school relations and don't appear much better with their relations with students. Their doors are covered with Stop and Do Not Enter signs - not at all welcoming. I am dissappointed with the principal for allowing such mediocre performance in his counselors. I feel comfortable with the safety of the school and discipline seems fair.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2005

Great School. The athletic department is wonderful. The majority of the teachers are all respected by the students.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 21, 2005

My kids both enjoyed this school. I was very happy with their honors program. Overall, the math program was very good also.
—Submitted by an administrator


Posted December 18, 2003

I am very impressed with this school. This is my son's first year and he has adapted very well with the school's curriculum.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

It is difficult sometimes to find the extra tutoring opportunities for students who need help. And on occasion have not been notified of disciplinary actions until way after the fact. All actions should be reported to the parents in a [timelier] manner than just relying on the postal system. I also understand why district are now requiring to pay to play but I disagree with this practice. Some of the teachers do not treat the students or parents with due respect and need to have a class in communicating constructively instead of destructively
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 89% in 2011.

487 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
97%
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2011.

485 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 91% in 2011.

538 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
98%
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2011.

532 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
86%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2011.

533 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
92%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 93% in 2011.

529 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 95% in 2013.

444 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
99%
Math

The state average for Math was 89% in 2013.

444 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
97%
Science

The state average for Science was 95% in 2013.

449 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
98%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 98% in 2013.

450 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students99%
Female100%
Male99%
Black or African American83%
Asian100%
Hispanic99%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged94%
Special education92%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a

Math

All Students98%
Female99%
Male97%
Black or African American92%
Asian100%
Hispanic93%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White99%
Economically disadvantaged91%
Special education73%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a

Science

All Students99%
Female99%
Male98%
Black or African American92%
Asian100%
Hispanic97%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White99%
Economically disadvantaged95%
Special education89%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a

Social Studies

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Black or African American100%
Asian100%
Hispanic99%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged98%
Special education100%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

  • In 2010-2011, this school was rated "Academically Acceptable".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Academically Acceptable".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Academically Acceptable".

About the tests


Texas uses Accountability Ratings to indicate the overall performance of each school and district. The ratings are based on TAKS test results, dropout rates for grades 7 and 8 and school completion rates for grades 9 through 12. Schools and districts rated under standard accountability procedures are designated as Exemplary, Recognized, Academically Acceptable or Academically Unacceptable. Schools and districts rated under alternative education accountability (AEA) procedures are designated as either AEA: Academically Acceptable or AEA: Academically Unacceptable.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 78% in 2013.

406 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
88%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 97% in 2013.

166 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
79%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 85% in 2013.

580 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
95%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 84% in 2013.

474 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
70%
English I Reading

The state average for English I Reading was 65% in 2013.

579 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
85%
English I Writing

The state average for English I Writing was 48% in 2013.

611 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
76%
English II Reading

The state average for English II Reading was 78% in 2013.

523 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
n/a
English II Writing

The state average for English II Writing was 52% in 2013.

524 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
n/a
English III Reading

The state average for English III Reading was 63% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English III Writing

The state average for English III Writing was 42% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 86% in 2013.

522 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
99%
Physics

The state average for Physics was 81% in 2013.

6 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
87%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
World Geography

The state average for World Geography was 75% in 2013.

571 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
95%
World History

The state average for World History was 70% in 2013.

512 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Algebra I

All Students85%
Female89%
Male80%
Black or African American70%
Asian100%
Hispanic75%
Multiracial90%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White90%
Economically disadvantaged70%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Special education26%
Not special education88%
Limited English proficient (LEP)32%
Proficient in English87%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant85%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted84%
Bilingualn/a

Algebra II

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian100%
Hispanic100%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education100%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant100%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted100%
Bilingualn/a

Biology I

All Students93%
Female94%
Male92%
Black or African American96%
Asian100%
Hispanic78%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged81%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Special education53%
Not special education94%
Limited English proficient (LEP)41%
Proficient in English96%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant93%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted91%
Bilingualn/a

Chemistry

All Students94%
Female94%
Male94%
Black or African American80%
Asian100%
Hispanic87%
Multiracial95%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged84%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Special education60%
Not special education95%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English95%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant94%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted93%
Bilingualn/a

English I Reading

All Students85%
Female89%
Male81%
Black or African American71%
Asian94%
Hispanic65%
Multiracial90%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White91%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Special education14%
Not special education87%
Limited English proficient (LEP)17%
Proficient in English88%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant85%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted80%
Bilingualn/a

English I Writing

All Students77%
Female84%
Male69%
Black or African American72%
Asian97%
Hispanic49%
Multiracial93%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White85%
Economically disadvantaged49%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Special education12%
Not special education79%
Limited English proficient (LEP)3%
Proficient in English81%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant77%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted70%
Bilingualn/a

English II Reading

All Students89%
Female92%
Male85%
Black or African American87%
Asian95%
Hispanic74%
Multiracial95%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged68%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Special education62%
Not special education90%
Limited English proficient (LEP)19%
Proficient in English91%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant89%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted86%
Bilingualn/a

English II Writing

All Students77%
Female82%
Male72%
Black or African American47%
Asian95%
Hispanic63%
Multiracial79%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White82%
Economically disadvantaged51%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Special education14%
Not special education79%
Limited English proficient (LEP)14%
Proficient in English79%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant77%
Gifted/talented98%
Non-Gifted71%
Bilingualn/a

English III Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

English III Writing

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

Geometry

All Students92%
Female93%
Male91%
Black or African American84%
Asian100%
Hispanic84%
Multiracial95%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged77%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Special education47%
Not special education94%
Limited English proficient (LEP)38%
Proficient in English93%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant92%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted90%
Bilingualn/a

Physics

All Students67%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged80%
Special educationn/a
Not special education67%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English80%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant67%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

U.S. History

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

World Geography

All Students90%
Female91%
Male90%
Black or African American88%
Asian100%
Hispanic73%
Multiracial97%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged72%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Special education29%
Not special education93%
Limited English proficient (LEP)32%
Proficient in English92%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant90%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted87%
Bilingualn/a

World History

All Students86%
Female85%
Male86%
Black or African American67%
Asian100%
Hispanic71%
Multiracial85%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White90%
Economically disadvantaged64%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Special education30%
Not special education88%
Limited English proficient (LEP)7%
Proficient in English88%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant86%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted82%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 67% 29%
Hispanic 20% 52%
Asian or Pacific Islander 4% 4%
Black 4% 13%
Two or more races 4% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient (LEP) 3%N/A17%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Beginning teachers 4%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • SHANNON TOVAR
Fax number
  • (817) 481-5957

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3223 Mustang Drive
Grapevine, TX 76051
Phone: (817) 251-5210

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Tarrant Co J J A E P
Grapevine, TX


Iuniversity Prep
Grapevine, TX






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT