Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
390 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
35 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 44 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Holy Trinity Catholic School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted March 27, 2016
- a community member
Mrs Cox is a fantastic, engaging teacher who genuinely cares for her students. Some other parents complained that she is too strict. My son found her to be fair.

Holy Trinity Catholic School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted March 27, 2016
- a community member
Many teachers here are experienced professionals with much to offer their students. Others are such hateful hags that kids can't wait for class to end.


Holy Trinity Catholic School
Amount of homework: Don't know

Posted March 27, 2016
- a community member
Both of my kids are quite bright. They typically completed assignments in class or during dismissal.

Holy Trinity Catholic School
Develops grit: Agree

Posted March 27, 2016
- a community member
Every morning when my son awoke, he was determined to make it through one more day of hell.

Holy Trinity Catholic School 1

Posted March 27, 2016
- a community member
If your child is average, this is the school for you. If your child is advanced or struggles in the slightest there is nothing here for them. If you are concerned about your child being bullied by classmates, fear not! There are teachers here who are FAR more cruel than any mean-spirited child you may encounter. Unfortunately the worst of them doubles as the assistant principal, so you will have no recourse. A revolving door of principals (five in eight years) has done nothing to improve the situation. The last "nationwide' searches netted an unqualified internal promotion and an assistant principal all the way from Nolan Catholic High School in Fort Worth. Think it will all be worth it because your student will be enveloped in a nurturing, Catholic/Christian environment? Think again! During one of our last conferences with school leadership, I mentioned that I expected more Christian-like behavior from students and teachers at a Catholic school. I was informed that HTCS is "more of a prep school than a Catholic school." Preparation for what? I don't know. After we left, I honestly prayed that things might improve for the families foolish enough to stick around, but phone calls, texts and emails i have received in the last few weeks from friends have ensured me that is not the case. We are now happily enrolled at another area Christian school where my kids are thriving. My only regrets are the eight years of hell I put my boys through in blind pursuit of a "Catholic" education. We should have left years ago. RUN, don't walk, in another direction!


Holy Trinity Catholic School 2

Posted September 15, 2015
- a parent
Although there are a few dedicated teachers that we have encountered, overall the frequent principal turnover and the low quality of some of its teachers explain why tuition at this school is so cheap. Also, potential families should consider where their children will go when they age out of Holy Trinity. The closest Catholic high school is in Fort Worth, 45 minute minutes away from HTCS. My family is actively searching for another private school.

Holy Trinity Catholic School 3

Posted September 07, 2015
- a parent
This is a great school if you live in the area. However, it's just ok.

Holy Trinity Catholic School 4

Posted January 05, 2014
- a parent
As a public school educator living in an excellent school district, I chose Holy Trinity for my elementary-aged children because the Catholic environment paired with the high behavioral expectations of students creates a strong environment for advanced education. The curriculum is rigorous; students who are not on-level will struggle. Advanced students will be well-challenged. I am impressed with the age-appropriate leadership opportunities afforded the children. It has helped the children grow in confidence and esteem. The only concern I have with this school is that it does seem that the wealthiest parents of the school have more clout with the run of the school than parents who struggle to make tuition. But, that probably has more to do with the region than with the school. I have been very pleased with the education my young children have received. I believe HT has helped them to develop good self-discipline and good work ethic which will serve them well in later education and life. It is my plan to send the children to public middle and high school, later, due to expense.


Holy Trinity Catholic School 5

Posted March 12, 2013
- a parent
As an educator and parent I highly recommend Holy Trinity Catholic to any family who is looking to educate their child in a nurturing environment with high standards. All students are provided a curriculum that is at or above grade level, which encourages community service, public speaking and leadership opportunities.

Holy Trinity Catholic School 5

Posted July 16, 2012
- a community member
Our family has been going to HTCS for 5 years. We love it. When we first came, everyone was so welcoming and the teachers were so nice to us. Sure, every once in a while the kids will meet a rude or mean kid here. Every school has those people. But luckily, they haven't met many. The teachers really help them when they don't understand something. The academic program is great. We talk to other people from other schools and they haven't learned most of the things they've learned yet. Going to a catholic, I believe will help them later in life. This school has always taught them how to keep their faith strong. But yes, it is true the principal left in October. But that doesn't mean our school is bad. The principal did leave unexpectedly. So it's not our fault really. I think we've done good with the adjustment. And I saw some of the comments, and yes we are a blue ribbon school. Just because we aren't awarded as a blue ribbon school, does not mean it's not blue ribbon anymore. HTCS was awarded the award in 2003. Overall, the school is a very good school for any child.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Holy Trinity Catholic School
3750 William D Tate Avenue, Grapevine, TX  76051
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 44 reviews. (817) 421-8000
Last modified Holy Trinity Catholic School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top