Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

9-12|Private
507 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
43 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 59 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Houston Christian High School 5

Posted November 01, 2015
- a parent
Our son is having an incredibly positive experience at HCHS. Another of our sons went to Strake Jesuit and although a solid institution, we find HCHS teachers on average superior and more accountable, counsellors more engaged and assimilation of students from across the Houston area a very specific focus to break down middle school cliques and form new relationships. There are several very good reasons this school has a waiting list and is attracting top students--great teachers, leadership, student body, community, overall program and fantastic parents and families.

Houston Christian High School 5

Posted October 19, 2015
- a parent
My daughter has had a very positive experience here so far. We have been impressed with both the social and academic culture. The teachers are very professional and helpful. The academics are rigorous, and are definitley preparing these students for college. Fine arts and athletic programs are outstanding for a relatively small private school. She has a diverse group friends from all religious denominations and backgrounds. We highly recommend this high school to anyone looking for an outstanding private high school experience.


Houston Christian High School 1

Posted September 02, 2015
- a parent
I sat and listened to my child cry as she reminisced on how awful her experience was at this school. It's horrible to not be able to rectify and offer soothing words because I know how gut wrenching the experience was. What's so unfortunate is an administration who did nothing to rectify the situation and now those same students who made her life miserable are in positions of great responsibility and leadership; i.e. the bullying behavior went unnoticed and now these same few are holding positions in the likes of D-group leaders (which is where most of our problem began) as well as Camp Mustang counselors. Unbelievable lack of leadership in the former administration. I will say that this behavior has continued on social media and the new Dean has addressed it as it has become an issue. The real problem is that had the previous Dean and Principal addressed the root of the problem my daughter would still be at this school.

Houston Christian High School 5

Posted August 15, 2015
- a parent
Great teachers. Great student activities, school spirit, college placement advice bi recommend it very highly to you.

Houston Christian High School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted August 15, 2015
- a parent
The teachers are the best thing about this school. They are caring, talented, effective and gifted.


Houston Christian High School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted August 15, 2015
- a parent
They teach eyhical behavior, they state rules clearly and enforce them fairly and even-handedly. .

Houston Christian High School 5

Posted August 15, 2015
- a community member
Great teachers. Great student activities, school spirit, college placement advice bi recommend it very highly to you.

Houston Christian High School 4

Posted April 19, 2015
- a parent
To address previous posts ... In every school there are rules. Each parent signs their acceptance of those rules. Most issues arise when a student broke rules of which they, and their parents, are well aware. If the school abides by the rules they are un-Christian. If they extend grace, after prayer and thought, they are playing favorites. They are a school of imperfect people who work through lunch, stay late and come early to meet with students, go to games and performances, pray for students, grade at all hours, etc. The vast majority have hearts of compassion and well trained in their field. Young teachers? Yes! Who can relate to students who only communicate on electronic devices? Who can bring the latest creative ideas and research-proven methodologies to the classroom? How can students mature if all is perfect, if it always goes their way, if they are rescued at every turn? The school is not a four-year cocoon in which to hide from the world but one in which real-world challenges have to be faced and overcome, all while being offered a rich academic program. If that isn't college prep, what is? (submitted by parent and former teacher)


Houston Christian High School 5

Posted April 15, 2015
- a parent
My daughter is about to finish her freshman year at HC. She has found the faculty to be interesting and engaged. She has made great friends and has been involved in many ways. When choosing schools last year, HC was our first choice and it would be again today. Every school will have all types of people, whether students, faculty or parents. We have been very pleased with our experience at HC.

Houston Christian High School 1

Posted April 09, 2015
- a parent
In my opinion, a mythology has developed around HC lately. The mythology holds that student s poor grades must result from some elevated academic rigor at HC and reflects favorably on the faculty and the administration. This could not be any farther from the truth. The reality is HC has suffered a serious lack of leadership the last few years and it has really started to be reflected fully in the poor quality of faculty and subsequently the grades of students. Do not misunderstand, students ultimately have responsibility for their grades, but as a parent who pays a considerable amount of money for the education offered at HC I could not be more disappointed in the quality of the faculty. On balance I have not been impressed with the faculty. A number of the instructors have little or no teaching experience. I was shocked to discover a number of instructors with not only limited teaching experience, but also no formal training in the subject they are teaching. The faulty and the administration should be held accountable for their responsibilities just as the students are held accountable. There are far better schools here locally more interested in educating and growing your child.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Houston Christian High School
2700 West Sam Houston Parkway North, Houston, TX  77043
(713) 580-6000
Last modified Houston Christian High School is a Private school that serves grades 9-12
Houston Christian High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 59 reviews. Top