Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Sweetwater Christian School

Private | PK-2, 7-12 | 276 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Living in Houston

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $92,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $840.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

2 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 30, 2012

I was thinking about enrolling my child in Sweetwater. I went by the school and a young lady told me it only to to 8th grade. I found that to be strange the website states Pk-2-7-12. And when looking at the website for about a year it has a phone number. When calling this number it gives a disconnect message. This is strange to me as a parent.


Posted April 25, 2008

SCS is not a school of organization, caring or respect. Some of the teachers are rude and uncaring..This is a christian school? Sometimes you really wonder, if they know the meaning of the word.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2008

SCS at one time was an excelant school. My sister in aw graduate in 1984 from SCS. My son has attended SCS for 3 years now and each year the teachers and adminstration gets worse. They have all of the elementary classes combined because they can not keep staff. The Browns themselves are good Christian People, but they have teachers that work for them, that are not. I am so disappointed in the school at this time. My son has benn treated unfairly. My son is not by any means an angel but he is a child. They are very unorganized, unfair and unchrisitan. Do not take your child to SCS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2008

I would not recommend that anyone consider enrolling their child at Sweetwater; you will regret it! The school is not run in a professional way. Communication is extremely poor. This school is a very poor representation of a 'christian atmosphere.' Their teacher and student turnover rate is unbelievable. Sports is the number one prority for them -- not academics. Take a look at their website and judge for yourself.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2008

The leadership at Sweetwater is awesome and the extracurricular activities are getting much better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2008

Sweetwater Christian School now has a new Principal Mr. Anthony and a great core of parents who are committed to seeing Sweetwater as one of the top elite private schools in Houston. Many parents have complained in the past about what's not being done but they never stepped up to the plate to make a difference. SCS has made many changes in 2007 to ensure that our children are getting the best education possible. We have a new website, booster club, PTAB committee, sponsors and a great Athletic Program lead by Coach Boykin who truly leads by example. Thank God for the parents, teachers and the administration of Sweetwater Christian School who are committed to doing whatever it takes. I'm excited about the future of Sweetwater Christian School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2008

Sweetwater Christian School's new Head Basketball Coach Mr. Boykin has done a phenomenal job with the Basketball Athletic Program this year - Mr. Boykin leads by example. He is a great man of character and he leads by example. The players really respect him because he knows that he truly cares about their spiritual, emotional and physical well being. If you are looking for a great basketball athletic program Sweetwater Christian School is the place to be. He has done a great job with my son and I would recommend him very highly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2008

I am a member of PTAB which is an organization that administration put in place to hear the concerns of the parents, and safety has always been important to us, an we are proud to say that our campus is safe
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2008

I am very exicited about the direction that the school is going in I have been at Sweetwater for over 10 years and I must admitt I have never been this exited
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted December 11, 2007

I've recently withdrawn my son due to unorginized & unprofessional administration. Parents are rarely notified of changes, and there seems to be a lack of concern for answering questions or addressing issues. There needs to be better quality of leadership provided by the owners for the amount of tuition that is being charged.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2007

We pulled our daughter out due to the school becoming very disorganized, seems that they can't hold on to teachers. Their staff is very unprofessional. Don't recommend this to anybody.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2007

My child has attended Sweetwater for three years. We began at sweetwater under the administration that was in place before the Browns became owners. I have seen many improvements in the classrooms, school environment, and school integraty and moral. I have be pleased with my child performance at Sweetwater, they have given her space, opportunity and encouragement to explore her God given talents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2007

This school is run very poorly.Sports is the most important thing to the Browns.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2007

My son attended this school for 3 years,the recent administration had made many changes however not sure how many were in the best interest of the children. Staff, curriculum and uniforms changed often and without notice. My son is currently enrolled in another private school, that is in the area however he is struggling to keep up with the students his age due to not being properly prepared. Current administration at Sweetwater may have good intentions, but that does not mean that you are able to educate.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2007

Some parents, who stayed and gave Sweetwater a chance, are pleased to see the enthusiasm and fresh attitude from the new teachers and current administration. Granted, the past two years were tough and frustrating for many of us parents, but now the vision and focus on the children and their education is what encourages us. Aesthetics and past issues shouldn't cloud the fact that these teachers at Sweetwater are committed to our children's education and future. The determination to move forward and learn from the past seems to have motivated the current personnel to help the students to excel in their classes/studies. Keep praying for students, teachers and administration of Sweetwater Christian School...God is listening.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2007

Hopefully this school will get better. It has potential but so far has lived way below it's potential. We pay for books that are delivered late and in a used condition. Uniforms are changed midyear with no warning. Teachers obviously have favorites and discipline is meted out that way, no consideration of witness reports etc. it is if teachers like the child. No real extracurricular activity for children in elem. school...no music class, no Foreign language, no computer that I have ever seen in elem school. Classrooms are crowded, Families provide teacher supplies (wipe off markers, etc). No regular field trips and the ones they go on are to sporting events and pizza! Nothing academic. No parent communication on lesson plans or syllabus for kids so parents can help. No e-mail communication, no idea what classroom goals are...they seem to change so much they may not have any.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 10, 2007

I also had high hopes for this school. The Browns ( the administrators and head of school and daycare) talked a good game on me but never came through on any of there promises. I wolud adivise anyine to be very cautioius and prayed up if considering this school.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 29, 2007

Well I have been in SCS since pre-k and I use to love it until coach brown took over everything started falling apart. Its not the same the spiritual part is gone! Its like if your going to a public school (nothing against public schools) that calls themselves Christian! If your thinking of sending your child to this school I recommend you don't! The only thing good in that school to me is some of the people and that's about it! They don't treat everyone equally. My opinion is this school is bad! If you decide to put your child in this school your going to regret it!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 29, 2007

Hello I just want to give people a heads up before they even think about sending their child to sweetwater christian school. the school is definitely a poor environment, very unorganized, has bad administration, and there is no reason 'Christian' should be in the name, this school has lost its spirituality. I know this firsthand well because i attendED s.c.s. a year ago. the school is known for closing down but later ends up opening again. students are not treated fairly or equally. The only thing i enjoyed about going to this school was the friends i met there, i met some when the school was at least decent, we all figured we would graduate together at scs but as time went on we knew we had to leave, each off to different schools but we still get to see each other from time to time, but we ..
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 6, 2007

Very unorganized. I will never send my kids to that school again. They contradict everything they say. You are paying for a poor environment. Lunch prices go up, and meal quality and quantity goes down. They do not know how to run a school and shouldn't.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Reginald Nelson
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Christian
Fax number
  • (281) 443-3766

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

350 Century Plaza Dr
Houston, TX 77073
Website: Click here
Phone: (281) 209-9130

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT