Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Elsik High School

Public | 9-12 | 3973 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
 

In the know: Get our expert advice on schools

No articles are available

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 28, 2014

I am the parent of junior @ Elsik. I am really pleased w/ the school. My child has been very successful attending this school. I also really appreciate the involvement in the community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2012

I went to Elsik High School just one and half year...My teachers, counselor, bus drivers, also others workers are so nice...My teachers were helping me a lot...Students were coming from many countries in the world...We came to this school learned together and share many things about our countries...That's a great!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 25, 2011

My daughter went to Elsik and she improved in all her classes if it wasnt for that school she would of failed im glad she went to that school.Her teachers reallu helped her.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2011

I went to Elsik for three years. The school was so bad, I dropped out and got myself home-schooled. The majority of the teachers have no clue what they're doing, and one of the few exceptional teachers was fired for not teaching the way the administration wanted him to, despite the fact that his way of teaching was more effective. I took all AP classes, and even then the teachers spent most of their time reprimanding students than actually teaching (which isn't the teachers fault). It's chaotic between classes with constant riots in the hall, and not one teacher, AP, or hall monitor was able to stop it (not that they even tried). If you want your child to feel safe, get a good education, and actually make friends instead of being alienated for their race, this is not a good school. The test scores are horrible and the graduation rate is even worse.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 5, 2011

One of my friends who goes to this school got pregnet and no one did nothing about it which i understand but they just said "oh we're so sorry for this" but we are not going to do anything.


Posted October 16, 2010

graduated from elsik high school in 2008 and i think it has great stuff that always tries to help and support your needs. i was very pleased with the teachers i had and i love that the school has 50% hispanics
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 29, 2010

I have gone to Elsik High School for one year and the year that i have gone the teachers there have no idea what they are talking about. the school hired a non speaking english math teacher for the class. the students there are always in seperate cliques, and the diversity is not all brought together... Elsik high school is a place of chaos..and they are very disorganized in helping their students and teachers to graduate.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 3, 2009

This school may be strict but provides a good learning environment for the students. The teachers are very encouraging and all have their own unique way of teaching. This school is perfect for college prepatry.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 27, 2009

My daughter attends Elsik 9th Grade Center, the separate campus for Freshmen. It has separate 'Communities', each having its own assistant principals (APs) and counselors. My daughter's AP, counselor and teachers are phenomenal to work with and work for her best interest. My daughter is a teen mother, but all have been more than supportive in helping me keep her re-focused and back on track. She s still on the honor roll, at the top percentile of her class and already has set goals for college. Their support of her education & future has reinforced that this challenge was not the end for her, but a greater reason to push forward. I am eternally grateful. This was difficult, but I know I'm not alone. Work with your school and they can work with you Elsik worked with us. Elsik is a Great School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2008

I am just starting to go to Elsik High School, and its going very well. I am a freshman and the teachers there in the Elsik Ninth Grade Center really is there to help every ninth grader to get ready to become a sophmore and help us in any way they can. They all have the same goal for every student which is to graduate and then get into a good college. You wont believe how much they would be repeating the same thing over and over again til we make it to where we want to be. For parents and students, Elsik High School is really a good place for learning. Plus, people are very friendly so you will fit in right away.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 28, 2007

I love Elsik High School. It has been a great school for my child. There are a lot of extracurricular programs for students to get involved in. Teachers seem to really like their students and work extra hours to make sure students are learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2005

It is important that parents review their children's class schedule and compare them to the curriculum for graduation. Scheduling your child in a class twice is a problem with Elsik High School. Be sure summer classes are entered into your childs records. Do not take it for granted that is done correctly. There are two levels of classes for graduation - minimum and required. Ask for a High School Graduation Status Report after every school year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2005

I went to school there and now so does my son. It has great honor class teachers who put their heart into their programs. If your child is gifted, he/she can do well there. Otherwise, it's average at best. It is not as safe as it was when I was in school there.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 89% in 2011.

1026 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
90%
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2011.

1014 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
61%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 91% in 2011.

911 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
89%
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2011.

897 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
68%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2011.

891 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
71%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 93% in 2011.

895 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 95% in 2013.

804 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
87%
Math

The state average for Math was 89% in 2013.

790 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
86%
Science

The state average for Science was 95% in 2013.

788 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
89%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 98% in 2013.

788 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students92%
Female95%
Male89%
Black or African American91%
Asian93%
Hispanic91%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged92%
Special education72%
Limited English proficient (LEP)39%

Math

All Students88%
Female89%
Male87%
Black or African American87%
Asian97%
Hispanic87%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White92%
Economically disadvantaged87%
Special education58%
Limited English proficient (LEP)56%

Science

All Students94%
Female95%
Male94%
Black or African American92%
Asian98%
Hispanic95%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White91%
Economically disadvantaged95%
Special education62%
Limited English proficient (LEP)74%

Social Studies

All Students98%
Female98%
Male98%
Black or African American97%
Asian99%
Hispanic98%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White96%
Economically disadvantaged97%
Special education73%
Limited English proficient (LEP)97%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

  • In 2010-2011, this school was rated "Academically Acceptable".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Recognized".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Academically Acceptable".

About the tests


Texas uses Accountability Ratings to indicate the overall performance of each school and district. The ratings are based on TAKS test results, dropout rates for grades 7 and 8 and school completion rates for grades 9 through 12. Schools and districts rated under standard accountability procedures are designated as Exemplary, Recognized, Academically Acceptable or Academically Unacceptable. Schools and districts rated under alternative education accountability (AEA) procedures are designated as either AEA: Academically Acceptable or AEA: Academically Unacceptable.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 78% in 2013.

846 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
72%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 97% in 2013.

141 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
100%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 85% in 2013.

935 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
85%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 84% in 2013.

839 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
n/a
English I Reading

The state average for English I Reading was 65% in 2013.

1059 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
56%
English I Writing

The state average for English I Writing was 48% in 2013.

1113 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
42%
English II Reading

The state average for English II Reading was 78% in 2013.

914 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
n/a
English II Writing

The state average for English II Writing was 52% in 2013.

905 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
n/a
English III Reading

The state average for English III Reading was 63% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English III Writing

The state average for English III Writing was 42% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 86% in 2013.

865 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
99%
Physics

The state average for Physics was 81% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
World Geography

The state average for World Geography was 75% in 2013.

982 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
80%
World History

The state average for World History was 70% in 2013.

866 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
0%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Algebra I

All Students70%
Female73%
Male67%
Black or African American73%
Asian80%
Hispanic67%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White57%
Economically disadvantaged69%
Not economically disadvantaged74%
Special education44%
Not special education71%
Limited English proficient (LEP)48%
Proficient in English73%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant70%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted70%
Bilingualn/a

Algebra II

All Students99%
Female100%
Male97%
Black or African American98%
Asian100%
Hispanic98%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged99%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Special educationn/a
Not special education99%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English99%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant99%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted98%
Bilingualn/a

Biology I

All Students85%
Female87%
Male83%
Black or African American87%
Asian85%
Hispanic82%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White96%
Economically disadvantaged84%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Special education54%
Not special education86%
Limited English proficient (LEP)57%
Proficient in English88%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant85%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted84%
Bilingualn/a

Chemistry

All Students82%
Female85%
Male80%
Black or African American82%
Asian91%
Hispanic80%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Native83%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged82%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Special education38%
Not special education84%
Limited English proficient (LEP)78%
Proficient in English83%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant82%
Gifted/talented97%
Non-Gifted82%
Bilingualn/a

English I Reading

All Students60%
Female64%
Male57%
Black or African American65%
Asian50%
Hispanic58%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White63%
Economically disadvantaged58%
Not economically disadvantaged68%
Special education18%
Not special education62%
Limited English proficient (LEP)19%
Proficient in English67%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant60%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted59%
Bilingualn/a

English I Writing

All Students37%
Female42%
Male32%
Black or African American39%
Asian40%
Hispanic34%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Native40%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White42%
Economically disadvantaged34%
Not economically disadvantaged50%
Special education4%
Not special education38%
Limited English proficient (LEP)5%
Proficient in English42%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant37%
Gifted/talented85%
Non-Gifted35%
Bilingualn/a

English II Reading

All Students68%
Female70%
Male67%
Black or African American72%
Asian69%
Hispanic66%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Native57%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White61%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Not economically disadvantaged72%
Special education30%
Not special education70%
Limited English proficient (LEP)30%
Proficient in English75%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant68%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted67%
Bilingualn/a

English II Writing

All Students38%
Female40%
Male36%
Black or African American35%
Asian45%
Hispanic38%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Native14%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White39%
Economically disadvantaged36%
Not economically disadvantaged43%
Special education3%
Not special education39%
Limited English proficient (LEP)6%
Proficient in English43%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant38%
Gifted/talented92%
Non-Gifted35%
Bilingualn/a

English III Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

English III Writing

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

Geometry

All Students81%
Female83%
Male79%
Black or African American77%
Asian87%
Hispanic82%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Native80%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White85%
Economically disadvantaged80%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Special education49%
Not special education82%
Limited English proficient (LEP)64%
Proficient in English83%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant81%
Gifted/talented96%
Non-Gifted80%
Bilingualn/a

Physics

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

U.S. History

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

World Geography

All Students71%
Female66%
Male75%
Black or African American68%
Asian72%
Hispanic72%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White65%
Economically disadvantaged69%
Not economically disadvantaged76%
Special education34%
Not special education72%
Limited English proficient (LEP)33%
Proficient in English75%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant71%
Gifted/talented97%
Non-Gifted70%
Bilingualn/a

World History

All Students71%
Female68%
Male74%
Black or African American74%
Asian80%
Hispanic67%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Native67%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White79%
Economically disadvantaged70%
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Special education33%
Not special education73%
Limited English proficient (LEP)46%
Proficient in English74%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant71%
Gifted/talented97%
Non-Gifted70%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 51% 52%
Black 34% 13%
Asian or Pacific Islander 11% 4%
White 3% 29%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient (LEP) 14%N/A17%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Beginning teachers 4%N/AN/A
Source: CRDC, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Nurse(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • HILDA RODRIGUEZ
Fax number
  • (281) 530-7058

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Library
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Tutor
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

12601 High Star Drive
Houston, TX 77072
Website: Click here
Phone: (281) 498-8110

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Admin Services
Houston, TX


Crossroads
Houston, TX



Taylor High School
Houston, TX



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT