Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
39 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 51 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Herod Elementary School 4

Posted October 29, 2015
- a community member
All schools have there problems at least at this school u will be heard.SO FAR SO GOOD

Herod Elementary School 5

Posted September 02, 2015
- a parent
Wonderful school with wonderful teachers! My child spent 1 year there but we miss it greatly now and wish we could go back. The teachers are truly wonderful and very caring.


Herod Elementary School
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted July 06, 2015
- a parent
This school is too slow if your child is not GT then they will not invest in anything !

Herod Elementary School 5

Posted June 04, 2015
- a parent
We are very pleased with the new principal. She is very qualified and has a great vision for the school. It's difficult for some parents and teachers whenever there is a transition. There will be a great increase in technology next year, and there will be some inclusion in the specials rotation beyond the computer lab. Science and Math remain a huge focus, with Science still being in the specials rotation. There has been a slight increase in testing, but that is coming from HISD and not the new principal. The real focus is still on educating the whole child.

Herod Elementary School 2

Posted May 02, 2015
- a parent
Herod unfortunately appears to be headed in the wrong direction. We have been huge advocates for the school for years. Lots of great people work there. We have had a child at Herod Running the halls for nearly a decade. They have always been happy, safe and growing their intellectual capacity. Recently there was a change in school leadership and it appears she either does not understand or care what the families at Herod want or is intentionally forcing a cultural change. No honest vision has been shared and for the most part the parents have been excluded from any major decision which is not how the school has operated historically. The focus is now testing and state test scores and not educating my child. When we shared our concerns with the principal she responded with half truths and denial. My youngest child who loved going to school now hates it. She does not understand why she has to take the same test nine times when she got an 'A' the first time she took it. Many families are making arrangements to leave who have been at Herod for many years. It's just sad to see the focus has shifted from education to testing . Be forewarned!


Herod Elementary School 2

Posted November 15, 2013
- a parent
Did not have a good experience here. I think the school struggles to try to accommodate many different levels at once and many students fall through the cracks. My child's teacher and other staff seemed completely overwhelmed. I didn't hear about multiple problems my child had at Herod until much later. Sorry to say I cannot recommend this school since I was initially very excited about it.

Herod Elementary School 5

Posted October 24, 2013
- a parent
My boy's school is Herod Elementary School. The campus is new and beautiful. People are very nice. My boy is in K-5. He likes school and does well in math, reading and arts. He joins in the Extended Day program. He plays much time and his performance is good. I like it very much.

Herod Elementary School 5

Posted October 14, 2013
- a parent
Herod is a wonderful elementary school with dedicated teachers and staff that strive to create a well-rounded, creative child. It is a Vangard 'Gifted" Magnet. It is also the home of a great Dual Language curriculum which serves students from K-5th. We started 2013 with 825 students and interest in the school in increasing all the time. Our student population is very international and diverse, just as the city of Houston is. The children are taught to be respectful of each other and learning and trying our best is the focus for each child. We are fortunate that our principal wisely chose to keep all of our specialist classes. We still have P.E., Library, Music, Art and Mind Masters (a class only taught at Herod). Many schools had to cut programs such as these, but Herod was able to keep them and their wonderful staff. Children in the Vangard curriculum are challenged by the curriculum. From Kindergarten on, children are required to give oral presentations of their projects, which helps them with confidence and public speaking. The school also offers a PTO-run Enrichment program and a school operated Extended Day until 5:30 p.m.


Herod Elementary School 5

Posted June 04, 2013
- a parent
My daughter has attended Herod for 4 years. She is in the Dual Language program. We couldnt be happier. Wonderful teachers, committed administration and a modern facility. When she started she couldnt speak any Spanish. Now she is totally fluent. It's a lot of work and a real commitment on the student, teacher and parents part, but totally worth it. Wish I could give Herod 6 stars. Great work.

Herod Elementary School 4

Posted March 26, 2013
- a parent
My son has been at Herod since 1st grade and is now in 5th. He is in the gifted/talented program. We have been very happy with the school, the teachers and staff. His teachers took time to work with him and keep him focused and on task. I'm surprised Herod only has a 6 rating, I would expect it to be an 8 or 9. The academic performance is very good, it has a diverse mix of students and as of this year, all new facilities.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Herod Elementary School
5627 Jason Street, Houston, TX  77096
(713) 778-3315
Last modified Herod Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Herod Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 51 reviews. Top