Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5
Public district
Houston, TX
Students enrolled: 765
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Longfellow Elementary School 5

Posted June 09, 2015
- a parent
Our family has had a few years of experience at Longfellow and we are so pleased with the quality of academics, the exceptional teachers, the excellent magnet program and the Leader in Me experience. The teachers that we have had have been nurturing, enthusiastic about teaching, and instilled a love of learning in our children. The level of instruction is on par with other highly rated public and private school in the area. The Leader in Me program has seamlessly integrated real life skills of leadership, creativity, responsibility, compassion, initiative, and more into the everyday lessons. The magnet program is fantastic --my child is able to receive top notch music/instrument instruction for free that would have cost me lots of money in private lessons. I have had a very different experience than the parent who commented that there was no opportunity for involvement for parents. I have been very involved for the past few years and know many other parents who are as well. I have been encouraged and welcomed to attend field trips, volunteer in the classroom and take an active role in the school. I attended multiple field trips this year and in years previous. The school is locked during the day for the children's safety and you have to be buzzed in but you are allowed to visit and pick up your child early. If you do want to pick up your child early the school asks that you do so before 3pm since school lets out at 3:30pm and dismissal procedures start shortly after that. The rule is not restrict access to your child but to provide a smooth and safe dismissal process for ALL the children. Overall we have been very happy with our experience and the opportunities available to our child.

Longfellow Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted June 09, 2015
- a parent
We have had four different teachers at the school and have loved everyone. The principal does a great job of creating a nurturing and enriching environment where the students are put first. All of the teachers we have had were blessed with the gift of teaching.


Longfellow Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted June 09, 2015
- a parent
The students are given respect and they give respect to others. The students are quick to tell other students who are disrespectful that disrespect is not tolerated here.

Longfellow Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted June 09, 2015
- a parent
The students are recognized for their acts of service, encouraged to think of random acts of kindness and take on leadership roles in the school like special friend leader, community outreach leader and more which develop compassion, caring and empathy.

Longfellow Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted June 09, 2015
- a parent
The administration and staff foster an environment where honesty, integrity and fairness are expected and rewarded.


Longfellow Elementary School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted June 09, 2015
- a parent
The Leader in Me Program at Longfellow Elementary gives students the interpersonal skills that help them be a leader, find their unique gift, and develop persistence, grit and determination.

Longfellow Elementary School 1

Posted May 07, 2015
- a parent
This school has little to no community involvement for the parents. The administrators and teachers control the students without parent input. They don't even want you to go on field trips with your own children! As a parent, you should be able to visit your child anytime you desire at his or her school. The school is on lock down everyday from 3 pm-3:30 pm where you cannot pickup your children at that time. LUDICROUS!!!!!! You should be able to have full and complete access to your own children at all times.

Longfellow Elementary School 5

Posted May 21, 2014
- a parent
The opportunities that the children have in the fine arts are amazing. The children learn self discipline and how to accomplish a goal together through their work in band and orchestra. Mr. Gonzalez and Mrs. Snow are phenomenal teachers and role models. This is our child's 4th year at Longfellow and his self confidence has soared with the help of the arts program. The children have several opportunities to perform all over Houston. The Leader in Me Program has helped to create a school full of caring, responsible children. Bullying is not something that we see at Longfellow. As with any school, there are lots of good teachers and a few teachers that teach the test. If you find that a teacher is not dynamic, the principal is very receptive to complaints to help change this. If your child gets the rare poor teacher be sure to speak up! And if they are the majority who get a great teacher, be sure to give them praise! The teachers that have been hired in the past 5 years are outstanding.
1 person found this helpful


Longfellow Elementary School 5

Posted December 20, 2013
- a parent
Longfellow is a great school for your child to attend. My son was accepted into their magnet g/t program when he was in first grade. He came from Peterson elementary and it was a drastic change and the best thing I could've done. The environment is awesome , and the teaching is amazing. My child has been sculpted into another child while being at Longfellow, he is eager to learn and knows things I didn't even know in the same grade level. He is now in the 3rd grade. We live in fort bend now but I will not be switching him, I love Longfellow and have also sub,tilted an magnet app for his brother to attend this year also.
1 person found this helpful

Longfellow Elementary School 5

Posted October 20, 2013
- a parent
Longfellow Elementary is serving as the lighthouse for the Leader in Me Program for HISD. The children have been following the 7 habits since the program was implemented in 2010 and they are really pro-active! Our son plays in the band and has been invited to attend after school enrichment, free lessons after school. Several of the students are in All City Band or Orchestra. What an amazing opportunity.
1 person found this helpful

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Longfellow Elementary School
3617 Norris Drive, Houston, TX  77025
(713) 295-5268
Last modified Longfellow Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Longfellow Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 48 reviews. Top