Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
33 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Student (1 response)
characters left.
There are 47 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Twain Elementary School 5

Posted May 23, 2016
- a parent
We spent one year at Mark Twain and were impressed with the welcoming and inclusive school administration and teachers. The principal is approachable, involved and highly visible in the school. The IB program is well executed and consistent with IB programs in other countries. It is amazing how much the school is able to offer given that it is public, not private, and thus has to rely on fundraising for the extras.

Twain Elementary School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted May 23, 2016
- a parent
Melissa Patin, the Principal, is truly the heart of the school. Her leadership and kindness are remarkable.


Twain Elementary School 1

Posted September 21, 2015
- a parent
Hugh disappointment! PTO controlls everything. Including PTO parents hand picking the best teachers. This school behaving/ wishing they were a Private school. With no regard for the fact it is a PUBlIC SCHOOL. The more 5 star gift cards/ money you give. The better teachers you child will get for the next year. This is expected not appreciated. Hugh class room dues on top of bringing more class room supplies. And forget bringing your own school supplies. If not purchased through PTO they are sent home. School supplies are $30 dollar mark up through PTO. Unprofessional principle and front admin. Staff. Don't you dare to try to communicate to this military mentality. Or your child will be black listed. With mean and harassing teachers. Very small number of teachers are nurturing, kind and like there jobs. Overcrowded classrooms with 3 to 4 parents using false addresses to get into this school. A counselor who is determined to analysis, label and diagnose every child how enters this school. Instead of allowing kids to have a normal elementary school experience. And a free spirit. Best advice bring your check book and quit your job....join PTO. And Then have a fabulous experience!!!

Twain Elementary School 1

Posted January 18, 2015
- a parent
I have to unfortunately differ with most of the opinions of Mark Twain for specific reasons. I sent my daughter there for 2 years, and she has ADHD. There needed to be very small accommodations for her, as she was under a 504. The principal never made any changes that were written down, nor the teacher, or helped improve her education, and she was not learning, literally, anything. She completely fell through the cracks. I had meeting after meeting and there was all talk, yet nothing shown. She just needed a little extra, and this was never done. A good school for a completely typical student, yet not at ALL for an out of the box thinker, a child who is creative and thinks differently, and especially not for a child who has any kind of learning difference. Even as small as ADHD.

Twain Elementary School 5

Posted December 15, 2014
- a parent
This school is more than great! The education is in a very high level and the kids are in really good hands. All the personal is caring and respectful. The principal has an unfrequent level of commitment and has the best disposition to keep the school at the level the students deserve. The literature program is the gem of the school. The kids in this school love reading and writing and they are encouraged to do so. Great Fine Arts program as well and very nurtured library!


Twain Elementary School 5

Posted October 19, 2014
- a parent
One of the best schools! The principal is very much in touch and dedicated to the school's well being. Kids are well cared and overall development is stressed upon, not just test scores. I have had very good experience whenever I needed to talk to anybody. It is a school that is both academically good as well as with a personal touch - a combination rare to find.

Twain Elementary School 5

Posted April 03, 2014
- a parent
This school is very good, Teachers are very helpful and caring. My daughter has been here for two months, and she loves to go to school.

Twain Elementary School 5

Posted September 08, 2013
- a parent
My school is the best in Houston! The only drawback is the temporary buildings as the more and more families move into the area and just to send their kids to Twain. Great as a literary magnet and IB school.


Twain Elementary School 5

Posted August 31, 2013
- a parent
This is a well organized school. Students are encouraged to learn and express. Parents are well involved. I love the school building too - indoor rooms are very clean, bright and organized.

Twain Elementary School 5

Posted August 26, 2013
- a parent
We just started at Twain but I have been extremely impressed with how organized and friendly everyone has been. My daughter just started Kindergarten her and she was immediately put at ease by her new teacher. I look forward to a great year at Twain.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Twain Elementary School
7500 Braes Boulevard, Houston, TX  77025
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 47 reviews. (713) 295-5230
Last modified Twain Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top