Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Waltrip High School

Public | 9-12 | 1630 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 12, 2011

WHEN THE DISTRICT WAS CLOSING SCHOOLS THEY SHOULD HAVE STARTED WITH THIS ONE!!!!!!! A lot of the teachers are sooooo unconcerned!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2010

This school needs a make over in the front office on down to the attendance . You call up there and nobody never knows anything . I get calls on cell with messages when I call , they don't even know who sent them or anything about. It needs a major make over building wise as well as better security staff not to mention nurse staff as well. Parents really need to get involved and just pop in once in a while to check how there teacher is teaching and how somethimes students get misplaced or lost .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2010

This school needs a Staff makeover and it is not a good school as some have posted , Need to really go and check it out personally
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2009

My son is a freshman at Waltrip and I am his father and I are very happy with his ajustment at Waltrip this tear. the teachers and coaches have shown total support in our son's education and althelic achievements. We look forward to the next three years at Waltrip
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2007

I had two other grandkids go to Reagan, neither one of them stayed very long.They tranferred out of there, and graduated from other schools. Now I have a granddaughter I made sure that she was enrolled at Waltrip before school even started. She really likes it there. She even surprised me by joining the JROTC, that was great. I'm very proud of her.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2007

Both my daughters have attended Waltrip. First one graduated 2001, graduated U of H Sigma Cum Laude, and is now teaching in HISD close to Waltrip. The other one is a senior. I love this school. My girls feel totally safe attending Waltrip. Waltrip is a hidden treasure in HISD.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2006

I transferred my Daughter into this school from Reagan High School. I noticed a big difference in the first day being there with her. I love this school. I think the teachers and the entire staff are wonderful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2005

It's a great school with a laid back eniviorment, I love it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2004

I feel that this school is very educational and offers many programs of which I never even knew existed. It helps me out alot. I really enjoy the people there and the atmosphere. Everyone's really friendly and so hospitable. I really appreciate this since it is my first year.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 1, 2004

I graduated from Waltrip in 1999. Waltrip did not prepare me for college in the slightest. I am still in college and I find that my writing skills are not as good as they should be. My English teacher simply never prepared us for college. We did very simple 'busy' work.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 9, 2003

When I saw the rating for my old school, I wasn't really surprised. I am a college graduate, and I must say Waltrip did not prepare me for the schoolwork that I was faced with in college. I took the so say college preparatory courses, yet I felt really behind in the basics such as math and English, and to clarify when I say English I mean writing papers any kind of term papers. It was crazy because I went to school out of state, and the students whom I associated with did things in their high schools that I just never touched.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 89% in 2011.

494 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
91%
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2011.

489 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
64%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 91% in 2011.

369 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
86%
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2011.

369 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
70%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2011.

374 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
75%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 93% in 2011.

372 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 95% in 2013.

378 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
91%
Math

The state average for Math was 89% in 2013.

378 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
90%
Science

The state average for Science was 95% in 2013.

378 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
91%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 98% in 2013.

379 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students97%
Female98%
Male96%
Black or African American98%
Asiann/a
Hispanic97%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged97%
Special education79%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a

Math

All Students89%
Female91%
Male88%
Black or African American90%
Asiann/a
Hispanic89%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White89%
Economically disadvantaged91%
Special education63%
Limited English proficient (LEP)45%

Science

All Students95%
Female96%
Male94%
Black or African American94%
Asiann/a
Hispanic94%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged94%
Special education68%
Limited English proficient (LEP)73%

Social Studies

All Students97%
Female98%
Male96%
Black or African American96%
Asiann/a
Hispanic97%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged97%
Special education63%
Limited English proficient (LEP)80%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

  • In 2010-2011, this school was rated "Academically Acceptable".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Recognized".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Academically Acceptable".

About the tests


Texas uses Accountability Ratings to indicate the overall performance of each school and district. The ratings are based on TAKS test results, dropout rates for grades 7 and 8 and school completion rates for grades 9 through 12. Schools and districts rated under standard accountability procedures are designated as Exemplary, Recognized, Academically Acceptable or Academically Unacceptable. Schools and districts rated under alternative education accountability (AEA) procedures are designated as either AEA: Academically Acceptable or AEA: Academically Unacceptable.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 78% in 2013.

397 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
69%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 97% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
n/a
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 85% in 2013.

456 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
83%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 84% in 2013.

301 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
n/a
English I Reading

The state average for English I Reading was 65% in 2013.

403 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
58%
English I Writing

The state average for English I Writing was 48% in 2013.

398 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
43%
English II Reading

The state average for English II Reading was 78% in 2013.

349 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
67%
English II Writing

The state average for English II Writing was 52% in 2013.

349 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
35%
English III Reading

The state average for English III Reading was 63% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English III Writing

The state average for English III Writing was 42% in 2013.

186 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
17%

2012

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 86% in 2013.

355 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
96%
Physics

The state average for Physics was 81% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
World Geography

The state average for World Geography was 75% in 2013.

500 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
66%
World History

The state average for World History was 70% in 2013.

327 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Algebra I

All Students64%
Female62%
Male66%
Black or African American68%
Asiann/a
Hispanic62%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White83%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Not economically disadvantaged69%
Special education39%
Not special education66%
Limited English proficient (LEP)25%
Proficient in English66%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant64%
Gifted/talented91%
Non-Gifted62%
Bilingualn/a

Algebra II

All Students95%
Female90%
Male100%
Black or African American100%
Asiann/a
Hispanic92%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged98%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Special educationn/a
Not special education95%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English95%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant95%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted91%
Bilingualn/a

Biology I

All Students86%
Female80%
Male91%
Black or African American89%
Asiann/a
Hispanic84%
Multiracial83%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged85%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Special education70%
Not special education86%
Limited English proficient (LEP)50%
Proficient in English87%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant86%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted84%
Bilingualn/a

Chemistry

All Students76%
Female76%
Male77%
Black or African American70%
Asiann/a
Hispanic75%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged76%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Special education57%
Not special education77%
Limited English proficient (LEP)17%
Proficient in English79%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant77%
Gifted/talented91%
Non-Gifted74%
Bilingualn/a

English I Reading

All Students63%
Female66%
Male61%
Black or African American68%
Asiann/a
Hispanic59%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White90%
Economically disadvantaged61%
Not economically disadvantaged75%
Special education25%
Not special education65%
Limited English proficient (LEP)9%
Proficient in English71%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant63%
Gifted/talented94%
Non-Gifted58%
Bilingualn/a

English I Writing

All Students39%
Female39%
Male40%
Black or African American45%
Asiann/a
Hispanic35%
Multiracial67%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White66%
Economically disadvantaged35%
Not economically disadvantaged65%
Special education19%
Not special education40%
Limited English proficient (LEP)9%
Proficient in English43%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant39%
Gifted/talented83%
Non-Gifted32%
Bilingualn/a

English II Reading

All Students69%
Female68%
Male71%
Black or African American70%
Asiann/a
Hispanic68%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White78%
Economically disadvantaged68%
Not economically disadvantaged80%
Special education20%
Not special education72%
Limited English proficient (LEP)42%
Proficient in English73%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant69%
Gifted/talented98%
Non-Gifted64%
Bilingual0%

English II Writing

All Students43%
Female47%
Male39%
Black or African American37%
Asiann/a
Hispanic42%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White56%
Economically disadvantaged41%
Not economically disadvantaged57%
Special education0%
Not special education45%
Limited English proficient (LEP)8%
Proficient in English46%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant44%
Gifted/talented93%
Non-Gifted34%
Bilingual0%

English III Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

English III Writing

All Students17%
Female19%
Male15%
Black or African American13%
Asiann/a
Hispanic15%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White31%
Economically disadvantaged17%
Not economically disadvantaged14%
Special educationn/a
Not special education16%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English16%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant16%
Gifted/talented33%
Non-Gifted16%

Geometry

All Students81%
Female77%
Male84%
Black or African American77%
Asiann/a
Hispanic80%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White90%
Economically disadvantaged81%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Special education81%
Not special education81%
Limited English proficient (LEP)63%
Proficient in English82%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant81%
Gifted/talented96%
Non-Gifted78%
Bilingualn/a

Physics

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

U.S. History

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

World Geography

All Students63%
Female55%
Male71%
Black or African American63%
Asiann/a
Hispanic61%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White89%
Economically disadvantaged61%
Not economically disadvantaged76%
Special education24%
Not special education66%
Limited English proficient (LEP)23%
Proficient in English65%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant63%
Gifted/talented93%
Non-Gifted59%
Bilingualn/a

World History

All Students51%
Female46%
Male56%
Black or African American43%
Asiann/a
Hispanic50%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White62%
Economically disadvantaged49%
Not economically disadvantaged60%
Special education31%
Not special education52%
Limited English proficient (LEP)0%
Proficient in English53%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant51%
Gifted/talented69%
Non-Gifted47%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 75% 52%
Black 15% 13%
White 9% 29%
Two or more races 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Asian or Pacific Islander 0% 4%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient (LEP) 8%N/A17%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Beginning teachers 4%N/AN/A
Source: CRDC, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • ANDRIA SCHUR
Fax number
  • (713) 957-7743

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1900 West 34th Street
Houston, TX 77018
Website: Click here
Phone: (713) 688-1361

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Soar Center
Houston, TX


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT