Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Bear Creek Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 762 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

22 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 18, 2013

I have a son with Aspergers Syndrome and behavioral issues. Finding a good public school for him was of the upmost importance to me. Katy ISD is a very impressive school district and Bear Creek is an exceptional elem. school. It isn't just one teacher the whole bunch is incredible. I shutter to think of what would've happened to my son(and me!) without it. It has been the answer to my prayers. I love everyone there and feel that any child as well as their family would be blessed to be a part of that school. I feel that Ms. Leethem definitely plays a vital role in the atmosphere there as well as the teachers chosen and their attitudes expressed. She is a superstar. Every year that my son has been there he has had the perfect teacher for him - EVERY year. I keep waiting for the luck to run out and it never does! This school works very hard for each and every student there. Many times I have felt as if he is the only student there. My son has a team up there of people who truly care about his well being and no matter how he can push the bar - they NEVER waiver from telling him tat they care. I hope that BCE is recognized for going above and beyond the call of duty.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2012

I have been happy with BCE's performance as a school but the teachers, etc. are not very educated where special needs are concerned. I have a son with Aspberger's syndrome and he did not mesh well with the teachers he had in 4th and 5th grade. It was very frustrating to be honest. If you are the parent of a special needs child especially in the autism spectrum, you might want to consider other schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2012

My children have been attending BCE for 3 years. It's a very diverse school which I like for my children. 60% of the kids are low income and many are esl. The teachers are compassionate and love what they do. The staff is knowledgable and truly care for the students and school. Most of the staff/teachers have been at the school for many years. The parents and community are very involved. The school hosts lots of extra activities to engage students more in learning. The pe and music departments are an important part of the students education. Kids have lots of hands-on learning opportunities. We will be a part of BCE's community for many more years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2012

Overcrowded classes, unknowledgeable staff members and administration, very disappointing for children and parents of Katy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2012

My son is in kindergarten at Bear Creek, and he loves it! I'm so impressed with how things are run! The administration truly cares for the students, and the teachers do a great job of guiding the students. Most importantly, all the kindergarten teachers know each of the students' names and are so caring toward the students. I couldn't have asked for a better experience! The school has wonderful evening activities like science night, math night, family fitness night, and Santa and a Movie. In addition, they do a great job of incorporating P.E. throughout the week and even have great events like "Jingle Bells around the Block." I'm very happy with this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2010

I have a son in kindergarten and have been very pleased with how BCE runs its school. There is always something going on there to really get the kids and parents involved at the school. My son looks forward to all the fun things they do there, from Science Night to Camp Read-a-Lot, they really encourage kids to love school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2008

I have a son in 3rd grader and daughter in Kindergarten. They love it!I love it! Bear Creek has an excellent PE , Library, Music staff. The prinicipal is so great she is very in touch with the students and parents. BCE has 'I Love Mondays', is a wonderful program were the whole school meets in the gym Monday morning before classes begin and she entertains these kids so wonderfully. She will anounce the vocabulary words for the week, do the school dance, school pledge, it is fun and energic to all the students. There is a supportive staff for all of the students. I would not want my children attending any other school after what I have seen at Bear Creek Elem.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2008

The three Kindergarten and other teachers who remained at BCE this year are awesome. I am sure the incoming staff will be just as excited to be there, especially for I Love Mondays, which is a great hit with the younger chidren. I am disappointed and concerned that a drawing for two bicycles each 6 weeks is being held to promote good attendance and refrain from early withdrawals. To me, this signals a problem in these areas. The school and it's teachers are good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2008

We moved so my daughter only attended Kindergarten at Bear Creek. She is now in 1st grade at another school...WOW night & day. I just assumed all schools were run the same way but was I wrong. Bear Creek is so structured & organized with a wonderful staff. It is a wonderful school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2008

BCE has been a big disappointment academically. It is probably fine for most kids, but not for the GT child. Programs/classes for GT, average and struggling students are not balanced. There are several good programs (during and after school) taught by quality teachers for students who need extra help and guidance . BCE had an exceptional PE , Library, Music staff, and many, many grade level teachers that will be missed. I highly recommend this school for families with children with special needs and those children needing extra assistance, but for anything other, it is at best mediocre currently.


Posted June 24, 2008

Dr. Z. is a great administrator and loved by all. We will miss the PE, Music and Library teachers...they were so full of energy, had fun programs and the kids loved them. Extra efforts are definately made for those children who need help in reading and math. The GT/high achiever children also need more of a challenge, other than the GT program. To date, such programs do not exist. The 45 minute after school Spanish program is not challenging enough. I am disappointed that there aren't any after school programs for children who excel. All in all, it is a good school, but not excellent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2008

Bear Creek is a caring school. My son has attended for 3 years and he continues to learn. He is excited about reading.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2008

This school is excellent! I'm a very pleased parent of a kindergarten girl.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2008

Bear Creek Elementary is a wonderful school. We have attended another Katy ISD school and one school in Cy-Fair. Bear Creek is by far the most caring about our child's education. The principals and teachers work to make sure our students are learning. My child is happy. Love the family involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2008

I agree with posting dated September 3, 2007. 'We went to this school for 4 years and were a little more disappointed each year and finally moved out of the area to a better school. The principal is just an over grown Texas Cheerleader that most of the kids do not like. The assistant principal is lazy and doesn't not speak up if he does not agree with something. The teachers are okay but most seem burnt out. The teachers don't like the principal and she is mean to them in front of parents. I witnessed this myself and was shocked. Parent involvement is terrible since it is always the same parents that do everything. It has now become a Title I school and I am grateful that we were able to get out when we did.'
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 22, 2007

My children have attended Bear Creek for 4 years and I am so pleased with the personal attention and care that my family have received from the staff. Everyone cares about the children and learning! Teachers are willing to go the extra mile when my child had difficulty learning with their cougar after school programs. Mrs. Leethem our principal is always working to bring new and fun activiteis to school. We are happy to recommend this school and neighborhood.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2007

Bear Creek is an excellent school and I am also shocked someone would state otherwise. The administrators are warm, caring and knowledgeable. The teachers have all gone out of their way to help my children learn. The parents do volunteer and help out. This is a great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2007

I'm really shocked by the review I just read about Bear Creek Elementary! This is an absolutely wonderful school! I have had 3 of my children go through this school from kindergarten to college. My eldest is a Sophmore at the McCombs Business School at UT in Austin and my youngest is currently attending BCE in 3rd grade. The school has not only been completely remodeled from the inside and out, it has wonderful teachers, awesome principal and active parents. I am extremely happy with the school and would recommend it highly to anyone!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2007

We went to this school for 4 years and were a little more disappointed each year and finally moved out of the area to a better school. The principal is just an over grown Texas Cheerleader that most of the kids do not like. The assistant principal is lazy and doesn't not speak up if he does not agree with something. The teachers are okay but most seem burnt out. The teachers don't like the principal and she is mean to them in front of parents. I witnessed this myself and was shocked. Parent involvement is terrible since it is always the same parents that do everything. It has now become a Title I school and I am grateful that we were able to get out when we did.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2007

Bear Creek is a wonderful school. The staff really care about our children. The school administrators hire great teachers and are available to help students and parents. Keep up the great work!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 89% in 2011.

96 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
95%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2011.

114 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2011.

79 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
85%
Math

The state average for Math was 88% in 2011.

92 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
80%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 90% in 2011.

78 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 82% in 2011.

109 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
91%
Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2011.

117 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
95%
Science

The state average for Science was 87% in 2011.

118 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students93%
Female93%
Male92%
Black or African American57%
Asian100%
Hispanic96%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White93%
Economically disadvantaged92%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Special education86%
Not special education93%
Limited English proficient (LEP)93%
Proficient in English92%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant93%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students92%
Female88%
Male97%
Black or African American71%
Asian80%
Hispanic91%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged90%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Special education100%
Not special education92%
Limited English proficient (LEP)94%
Proficient in English92%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant92%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students91%
Female91%
Male91%
Black or African American100%
Asiann/a
Hispanic82%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged85%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Special educationn/a
Not special education91%
Limited English proficient (LEP)62%
Proficient in English96%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant91%
Gifted/talentedn/a

Math

All Students87%
Female87%
Male87%
Black or African American86%
Asiann/a
Hispanic83%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged81%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Special educationn/a
Not special education86%
Limited English proficient (LEP)76%
Proficient in English89%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant87%
Gifted/talentedn/a

Writing

All Students95%
Female100%
Male88%
Black or African American100%
Asiann/a
Hispanic97%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged90%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education95%
Limited English proficient (LEP)92%
Proficient in English94%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant95%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students94%
Female93%
Male96%
Black or African American100%
Asiann/a
Hispanic93%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged95%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Special educationn/a
Not special education94%
Limited English proficient (LEP)71%
Proficient in English97%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant94%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students95%
Female93%
Male96%
Black or African American83%
Asiann/a
Hispanic94%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged93%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Special educationn/a
Not special education95%
Limited English proficient (LEP)87%
Proficient in English97%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant95%
Gifted/talented100%

Science

All Students89%
Female87%
Male91%
Black or African American83%
Asiann/a
Hispanic86%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged87%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Special education100%
Not special education88%
Limited English proficient (LEP)61%
Proficient in English96%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant89%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 79% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
80%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
76%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 72% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
82%
Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
74%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 71% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
72%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 77% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
83%
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
78%
Science

The state average for Science was 73% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
67%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students71%
Female74%
Male68%
Black or African American83%
Asiann/a
Hispanic57%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White91%
Economically disadvantaged68%
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Special educationn/a
Not special education73%
Limited English proficient (LEP)47%
Proficient in English76%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant71%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted70%
Bilingual48%

Math

All Students59%
Female66%
Male53%
Black or African American33%
Asiann/a
Hispanic52%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White83%
Economically disadvantaged54%
Not economically disadvantaged70%
Special educationn/a
Not special education59%
Limited English proficient (LEP)51%
Proficient in English61%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant59%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted58%
Bilingual57%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students74%
Female78%
Male69%
Black or African American83%
Asiann/a
Hispanic65%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White91%
Economically disadvantaged64%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Special educationn/a
Not special education75%
Limited English proficient (LEP)42%
Proficient in English77%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant74%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted71%
Bilingual41%

Math

All Students71%
Female70%
Male73%
Black or African American57%
Asiann/a
Hispanic70%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White79%
Economically disadvantaged68%
Not economically disadvantaged78%
Special education50%
Not special education73%
Limited English proficient (LEP)68%
Proficient in English72%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant71%
Gifted/talented88%
Non-Gifted70%
Bilingual72%

Writing

All Students64%
Female74%
Male51%
Black or African American67%
Asiann/a
Hispanic56%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White81%
Economically disadvantaged58%
Not economically disadvantaged74%
Special educationn/a
Not special education65%
Limited English proficient (LEP)47%
Proficient in English68%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant64%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted61%
Bilingual58%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students83%
Female85%
Male81%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian80%
Hispanic79%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White90%
Economically disadvantaged78%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Special educationn/a
Not special education83%
Limited English proficient (LEP)47%
Proficient in English89%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant83%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted82%
Bilingual75%

Math

All Students76%
Female74%
Male78%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian80%
Hispanic73%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White87%
Economically disadvantaged72%
Not economically disadvantaged80%
Special educationn/a
Not special education75%
Limited English proficient (LEP)47%
Proficient in English77%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant76%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted74%
Bilingual42%

Science

All Students69%
Female60%
Male79%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian60%
Hispanic62%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White84%
Economically disadvantaged61%
Not economically disadvantaged80%
Special educationn/a
Not special education70%
Limited English proficient (LEP)42%
Proficient in English72%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant69%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted67%
Bilingual54%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

  • In 2010-2011, this school was rated "Recognized".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Exemplary".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Recognized".

About the tests


Texas uses Accountability Ratings to indicate the overall performance of each school and district. The ratings are based on TAKS test results, dropout rates for grades 7 and 8 and school completion rates for grades 9 through 12. Schools and districts rated under standard accountability procedures are designated as Exemplary, Recognized, Academically Acceptable or Academically Unacceptable. Schools and districts rated under alternative education accountability (AEA) procedures are designated as either AEA: Academically Acceptable or AEA: Academically Unacceptable.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 67% 52%
White 20% 29%
Black 6% 13%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 0%
Asian or Pacific Islander 2% 4%
Two or more races 2% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient (LEP) 49%N/A17%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Beginning teachers 8%N/AN/A
Source: CRDC, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • LISA LEETHEM
Fax number
  • (281) 644-1500

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4815 Hickory Downs Drive
Houston, TX 77084
Website: Click here
Phone: (281) 237-5600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT