Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
463 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
13 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 28 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St Michael Catholic School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted April 05, 2016
- a community member
St. Michaels is very honest and fair with their students in their discipline and academics in its students. I could not ask for a better school when it comes to honesty and integrity.

St Michael Catholic School 5

Posted April 05, 2016
- a community member
Nurturing and wonderful environment to have your children in for their academic needs. We could not ask for a better place for our children. Very sweet, faith based school.


St Michael Catholic School 1

Posted March 22, 2015
- a parent
My son went to this school from Kindergarten to 2nd grade. In Kindergarten his teacher self-diagnosed my child as ADD and wouldn't change her attitude about it even after I had a doctor verify that he wasn't ADD. I requested to sit in the back of the classroom to show her that he would act properly if I was present, but they wouldn't allow me. In 1st grade I was never contacted, yet found out half way through the year that the teacher was allowing my son to run in circles around the class for the first 10 minutes to burn off his energy while the rest of the class was being read to (needless to say I was outraged). In 2nd grade my wife went to the school and found out that there were 5 desks in the very front of the classroom facing backwards, these students had their backs to the chalkboard and were facing the rest of the students, these were the problem children and my son was one of them. I moved my son to a public school for 3rd grade where his attitude was quickly put in check by the staff, he was also struggling at first because in academics he was so far behind, by mid-year he was excelling both academically and in behavior. His new school agreed that he wasn't ADD.

St Michael Catholic School 2

Posted May 23, 2013
- a parent
I'm very disappointed in the education my daughter received at SMCS. Overall the school is horrible...There is no consistency in the classroom & the curriculum is taught very scattered. These are children's primary foundation years for their education & you would think they would want to make sure the core curriculum is taught & mastered before moving on to the next task. They use Edline for keeping parents up to date on class assignments, but it's never updated nor does it contain anything specific. They do not communicate well with parents. They also do not provide lesson plans or anything to parents to help you stay informed of what's being taught in the classroom.

St Michael Catholic School 5

Posted May 01, 2013
- a parent
Great improvements in this school the last few years. This school is well on its way to becoming one of the best middle schools in the Houston area.


St Michael Catholic School 5

Posted June 03, 2011
- a parent
Both my boys are starting school at st. Michael's, i've heard only wonderful things about this school from other people!!!everyone was so kind and especially both my boys loved it with the tour they had, they can't wait to start!!!

St Michael Catholic School 5

Posted March 30, 2011
- a community member
I have friends that have their children there and they are very happy with the school. My daughter will certainly attend this school.

St Michael Catholic School 5

Posted September 26, 2010
- a parent
If you ant a catholic education for your kids, sms is thw way to go! We are building a brand new campus and it will be amaing. Our new principal, Ms. Scrowonek, is AMAZING.


St Michael Catholic School 4

Posted October 21, 2009
- a parent
Fall 2009 - St. Michael Catholic School provides a quality Catholic education for my children. As a parent of multiple children at SMS I am thankful for the quality teachers, leadership from the principal and a pastor who fully supports the efforts of the school. The school recently had a large technology upgrade in the classrooms and is currently in the midst of a campaign to build a new school.

St Michael Catholic School
no rating

Posted August 05, 2009
- a parent
This new school year, Fall 2009, St. Michael School has a new principal! We are looking forward to a great year!!

Nearby schools

St Michael Catholic School
1833 Sage Road, Houston, TX  77056
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 28 reviews. (713) 621-6847
Last modified St Michael Catholic School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top