Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-12|Private
190 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
15 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 23 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St. Stephen's Episcopal School of Houston
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted April 11, 2016
- a parent
Teachers are very qualified and truly care. Each teacher in the arts is an actual artist that is currently working in their field (visual, music, performing) and the teaching staff is experienced and caring.

St. Stephen's Episcopal School of Houston
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted April 11, 2016
- a parent
Regular homework and monthly projects. All given with enough time to work on them, but not be overwhelming


St. Stephen's Episcopal School of Houston
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted April 11, 2016
- a parent
In even minor disagreements, the children are encouraged to discuss their feelings and find a suitable resolution that they are both satisfied with while facilitated by a caring administrator or teacher. Develops true communication, caring, and problem-solving skills.

St. Stephen's Episcopal School of Houston 5

Posted April 11, 2016
- a parent
This is absolutely the best school. Small classes, lots and lots of programs for the kids across the range of interests (arts, sciences, literature, crafts, tennis, etc), dedicated teachers who TRULY care about each child, very involved administration. It is one of the very few private schools in Houston that is not pretentious at all. Fabulous secret right in the heart of the city. We came after time at another prestigious private school and a very good public one in Houston and could not be happier!

St. Stephen's Episcopal School of Houston 5

Posted June 26, 2014
- a parent
St. Stephen's is an excellent school for the little ones. My 3 year old daughter has attended their orientation program for the past year and really thrived. They follow the Montessori philosophy pretty closely so the kids do work on their mats at their own pace and are encouraged to be independent from 18 months when the program starts. The teachers are absolutely first rate and really make the program. My daughter loves to go to school every day and it's comforting to hear updates with how she is doing in class. Developmental phases and challenges are addressed quickly and with my involvement so we can reinforce the behaviors at home. The one criticism I have is that the administration is a bit disorganized and communication about school events is inconsistent. There are also LOTS of holidays where we have to find other child care. Other than that St. Stephen's couldn't be a better choice.


St. Stephen's Episcopal School of Houston 5

Posted April 10, 2014
- a community member
This school is one of the best kept secrets in the Houston Montrose area! They have an acclaimed Montessori program from 18 months to 6th grade. In 7th and 8th grades that have installed the International Middle Years Program, and now the high school will begin it's IB Diploma Program in the 2014-15 school year! Small classes and a dedicated staff. What more could you want?

St. Stephen's Episcopal School of Houston 5

Posted May 28, 2013
- a parent
We could not be happier with St. Stephens. My son is in Primary and has been attending St. Stephens for a year. I am amazed everyday by the amount he has learned in such a short time. He has grown academically and socially. I love the diversity and the culture of the school. The parents and teachers are very down to earth in nature. I am also very impressed by the Spanish, PE, and Music curriculum as well. My son has already participated in a play and a musical program. We highly recommend St. Stephens for those considering Montessori.

St. Stephen's Episcopal School of Houston 5

Posted May 27, 2013
- a parent
I am so happy that we found St. Stephen's. Every day my children (1st grade and pre-k) come home excited about what they learned at school. The academics are superb. The students are taught broad concepts and problem solving rather than memorizing facts for a test. The lower school provides an excellent Montessori program that has allowed my children to thrive. We are very excited for the new International Middle Years Curriculum and the IB program in the High School. St. Stephen's is truly diverse and very international. Each child is proud of what makes him or her unique and interested in the differences in each other. The community is warm and open. In addition to excellent academics, St. Stephen's is committed to a vibrant fine arts, music and drama program.


St. Stephen's Episcopal School of Houston 5

Posted January 12, 2010
- a parent
My son has been at St. Stephen's since he was about 2 years old. I love that the school is Montessori. Teachers are amazing and really care about their students.

St. Stephen's Episcopal School of Houston
no rating

Posted October 27, 2009
- a parent
St. Stephen's is a wonderful school with some of the best teachers in our city. Their teachers teach other Montessori teachers in Houston! My two children have thrived in this small nurtuing environment. The administration is easy to contact and the Upper School uses Edline well. I enjoy knowing exactly how my child is doint and I am kept up with his grades. Parents at St. Stephen's are mostly professional and value their child's education. The international make up of the school is also refreshing in a large city like Houston. It claims to be diverse and it REALLY is...so rare in most inner-loop private schools.

Nearby schools

St. Stephen's Episcopal School of Houston
1800 Sul Ross, Houston, TX  77098
(713) 821-9100
Last modified St. Stephen's Episcopal School of Houston is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Top