Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-12|Private
200 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
32 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (3 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 67 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


The Banff School 5

Posted July 15, 2016
- a parent
My son who is in 12th was previously attending public school and had lost his love for learning. He dreaded going to school each day and complained of bullying. To make matters worse, his district would not make accommodations for his ADHD. I put him in Banff at the beginning of his 11th grade year. I saw a huge and quick turnaround. I no longer had to wake him up for school; he woke up early. He became excited about his classes and the course work. When I asked him who his favorite teacher was, he named several of his teachers. He excitedly shared information on things he was learning in class. To my amazement, he made all A's last year, and with no ADHD accommodations. The small class size, engaging curriculum, and teachers who know how to teach to a variety of learning styles was all he needed. I could kick myself for not putting him in Banff earlier. I think his earlier school years would have been much more enjoyable and rewarding.

The Banff School 5

Posted July 15, 2016
- a parent
This school has been wonderful. Our daughter is the second generation in our family to attend. It's family oriented, small, and very caring. Perfect for my daughter to get the individual education and attention she deserves. They are doing a great job updating technology and the school building itself while still hanging on to the charm that makes this school special and unique. The teachers are wonderful. Some of the same teachers are there from when I was a student many many years ago, and they still remember me. Returning to Banff school to enroll our daughter felt like going back home. Great school!


The Banff School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted July 14, 2016
- a student
Great job- keep up the great work! I appreciate all that you and Mr. Harbour are doing to advance this school!!

The Banff School 5

Posted July 14, 2016
- a student
My son has attended this school for over two academic years. This was the best decision I made as a parent in advancing my child's social and academic development. The school's administrators and teachers are highly engaged and invested in your child's education. The founder, principal and teachers are all very present and have an open door policy when it comes to discussing concerns or suggestions. Most importantly, everyone at this school cares and deeply understands the purpose and patience it takes to educate children as a whole. They know each and every child personally and I am very grateful for this place.

The Banff School 5

Posted July 12, 2016
- a community member
My daughter has recently started attending this school and I cannot tell you how impressed I am with the level of care, compassion and personal attention the teachers have given her. My family is not just another unfamiliar face to the office staff. They know who we are and greet us personally every day; they care about my daughter's progress in school; they honestly seem to want what is best for each and every student on a one-to-one basis. I have also been happy with the new technology the school has implemented just in our first year here, along with apparently some much-needed changes to their facilities, administrative processes and overall communication. I see this school continuing to get better and I am overjoyed my daughter (and her two happy parents!) have found a home for her where we know she will succeed.


The Banff School 1

Posted January 29, 2016
- a parent
As a certified teacher with ten years experience, I can honestly say that there are underlying problems with the way the school is being managed. After viewing my child's work and listening to my child speak to me about what was going on in her classroom at Banff, I've concluded that many of the claims on the website in regards to the curriculum are untrue. When you tour Banff please keep in mind that anything the admin tells you regarding extracurriculars might be cut after you sign the contract with no explanation. Also, be aware that the science experiment worksheets your child brings home may not actually be taking place. The school is too cheap to provide the materials for those experiments. I would urge any parent interested in Banff to compare the tuition at Banff and notice how low it is compared to the other private schools in the area. THAT is how they hook you. Then, they get you to sign a contract saying that you are obligated to pay full tuition for the school year even if you withdraw your child for ANY reason. The fact that they make you sign something like this should be a red flag! Many of the positive reviews here are from students who don't know any better or parents who only have their kids here because they like the warm fuzzy environment. The curriculum as a whole is horrible. If you want to know what your child should be learning, please refer to the TEKS. Those are the Texas standards. The Banff does a poor job of keeping up with the public schools. Please pay attention to the negative reviews. They are true.

The Banff School
Grateful to: Student

Posted January 29, 2016
- a parent
I'd like to thank the students who left negative reviews of the school. At least you had the guts to speak up. Too bad I didn't take your reviews seriously. Now my daughter hasn't learned anything in math or science, and there is no music theory or art being taught at Banff as per the TEKS Texas standards.

The Banff School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted January 29, 2016
- a parent
Our daughter's teacher made my daughter copy answers from the board for a science experiment that never really happened. The work is sent home to fool parents because the school is too cheap to purchase simple items like thermometers for experiments.


The Banff School 2

Posted January 29, 2016
- a parent
What the second grade curriculum says on the Banff website is not what was being delivered at Banff. There is no Art program unless you want to pay extra. The homeroom teachers are NOT teaching art despite what the website or admin might say. The second grade science curriculum talks about experiments and the scientific method and recording the data. My child told me that the hypothesis, observation, and conclusions were written on the board from the Teachers Edition of the textbook. My child never laid eyes on any science tools nor did she make any observations. When I brought my concerns to the principal I was told that the purpose of the book is for "exposure." The science text is very dumbed down and there is no critical thinking in math or science at Banff. The teacher just writes all the answers on the board and the students copy it. My daughter told me there is not much discussion during science. The math is weak. The teacher does not seem to know how to pull way from the textbook. Everything going on in her class is textbook driven. That does not lead to critical thinking or creativity. Children are naturally creative if we get out of their way, but the only thing going on in this room is worksheets. No meaningful learning takes place in math or science. The music class we were promised on the tour got cut. They do NOT teach a well rounded music curriculum as written in the TEKS at Banff as promised. We even met a music teacher and we were told that my daughter would have the opportunity to learn music theory. Since they cut the music, they changed the website on that subject after we had already signed the contract. They teach nothing but show tunes now so the kids can impress the parents with a show at the end of the semester, but there is no theory being taught. In short, the website is fraudulent in regards to the math, science, and art. Don't believe the hype! If you have a child younger than the age of seven, try Northwood Montessori. The tuition is cheaper, and you can use the extra money to provide good quality extracurriculars elsewhere. We are now homeschooling our daughter.

The Banff School 5

Posted December 13, 2015
- a community member
I actually really like this school. Other people do not like it but I do, the students are very nice, and the teachers really care, and want to help. They give the students lots of opportunities to become better and improve.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

The Banff School
13726 Cutten Road, Houston, TX  77069
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 67 reviews. (281) 444-9326
Last modified The Banff School is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Top