Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
8 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 16 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Amigos Por Vida-Friends For Life C
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted June 29, 2015
- a community member
People who are sharing negative information are probably those who were not asked to come back because they were not doing their job. This principal holds all staff accountable. The best way to see how good the school is? Check the scores reported by the state and compare them to the schools in the same neighbourhood or with similar demographics. Also, students were removed do to truancy and discipline problems. I am sure parents are not too happy about that. Some parents were treating the school more like a daycare and were not too supportive when it came to education.

Amigos Por Vida-Friends For Life C 1

Posted June 16, 2015
- a community member
Horrible principal, not a great place to work because the students do not matter to the principal and assistant principal. There is not professionalism, they treat you miserable and terrible. This is a place full of lies, sadly the ones that pay are the students. This school should not be run by the people currently running it. Parents and teachers, please do your research about this school before counting on an education for your children or working here.


Amigos Por Vida-Friends For Life C
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted June 16, 2015
- a community member
The students are disrespected here and so are the teachers, it is sad to see how the principal does not care for the education of the students.

Amigos Por Vida-Friends For Life C
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted June 16, 2015
- a community member
This place is all lies, horrible principal and in general all the people running the school.

Amigos Por Vida-Friends For Life C
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted June 16, 2015
- a community member
This is a horrible place for children to learn and for teachers to work. The principal does not care for the students and he has no intent to help them. There is no professionalism, no sincerity, no honesty, etc. there are only lies in this school. I cannot believe the district has not realized who the people running this school really are. Terrible principal, terrible place for children to learn and terrible place for teachers to work.


Amigos Por Vida-Friends For Life C 1

Posted May 31, 2015
- a community member
I can't give any rate to the administration to this school, they don't have any idea how to treat parents, students and teachers and staff. Principal is rude and don't have any felling to kids. He fired most of the great staf and live trash. ...... Board do something about! !!!!!! Front office is jog, always late,never answer a phone, the document send home late with some errors and more, more, more......

Amigos Por Vida-Friends For Life C 1

Posted October 09, 2014
- a parent
Why does the school board continue to let this principal take the school down, with no direction of what he is doing, don't they see it, they should come and visit the school and see and hear first hand what the parents are saying, we will be taking our kids somewhere else, to bad it was a good school, but since he sarted last year, is been going down.

Amigos Por Vida-Friends For Life C 1

Posted October 08, 2014
- a parent
IF I COULD GIVE THIS SCHOOL ZERO STARS I WOULD, THIS PLACE IS A JOKE...THE NEW PRINCIPAL THAT STARTED OUT LAST YEAR IS NOT PROFESSIONAL AT ALL, THE OFFICE STAFF IS A JOKE TOGETHER WITH SOME TEACHERS. I SERIOUSLY DON'T KNOW WHERE THIS PEOPLE CAME FROM THIS NEW SCHOOL YEAR STARTED WITH COMPLETELY NEW STAFF IN MOST GRADES THAT OBVIOUSLY DON'T KNOW WHAT THEY ARE DOING, THE KIDS ARE THE ONES PAYING THE PRICE NOW THE STUDENTS ARE NOW HAVING LONGER SCHOOL HOURS AND ARE GOING HOME WITH A CRAZY AMOUNT OF HOMEWORK. PLEASE SEND YOUR KIDS SOMEWHERE ELSE OR HOME SCHOOL THEM IT WILL PROBABLY BE A BETTER OPTION THAN TO GO TO THAT PLACE.


Amigos Por Vida-Friends For Life C 2

Posted April 25, 2013
- a parent
This year it started good, but as time passed, we (parents) found out that there was no principal at this school, the board should have made a priority to find a principal, by their lack of action, they give the impression to parents and students, that we are not important enough to find a principal, the year is almost over and still no principal.

Amigos Por Vida-Friends For Life C
no rating

Posted September 16, 2008
- a parent
My daughter attended the Pre K-3 program at this school. Both her mother and I are of Hispanic decent and are fluent in Spanish and English. At home we speak both languages with neither being the predominate one. My wife convinced me that Amigos Por Vida-Friends for Life Charter School had an excellent bilingual program and for that very reason I agreed to allow our daughter to attend this school. Before the start of the school year my daughter spoke Spanish and English. Her verbal skills were at 50/50. After just one year at Amigos Por Vida-Friends for Life Charter School her Spanish verbal skills increased drastically to a 1st grade level which to admit I was extremely impressed. Unfortunately her English verbal skills came to a complete halt. Now she speaks 90% Spanish and 10% English. It has become an everyday battle to get her to speak English. I finally got a chance to speak to her teacher and I was dumbfounded to learn that the curriculum for Pre K-3 does not require them to speak a single word of English. Now my daughter has to play catch up to school children her own age. I do not recommend this school to anyone whose aspirations are to give their children an opportunity to be more than just average!

Nearby schools

Amigos Por Vida-Friends For Life C
5503 El Camino Del Rey Street, Houston, TX  77081
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. (713) 399-9945
Last modified Amigos Por Vida-Friends For Life C is a Charter school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top