Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
45 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 60 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Carnegie Vanguard High School 2

Posted June 13, 2016
- a student
I recently graduated in the top quartile of my class, distinguished achievement, and I will be attending my first choice university in the fall. In the course of four years, I have had three phenomenal teachers during my time at Carnegie, teachers that embodied the spirit of hard work and integrity, and I grew a lot under their instruction. I learned how to manage my time and how to calculate my strengths and weaknesses as well as the limit of my endurance on minimal hours of sleep. These are skills that I am grateful to have developed at Carnegie. That being said, I did not enjoy my time there. Arguably, high school is unenjoyable for the majority of teenagers, but there are a variety of problems I observed and experienced while I was there. First, there has been a lot of turnover in the teaching staff. In most of my classes, I had to teach myself though internet sources and YouTube videos. Second, there is a rampant cheating problem. One person had been suspended for cheating and yet there was no consequence to their GPA so they nevertheless graduated in the top 15%. Third, Carnegie is not a neutral field. It is expected of public schools that they avoid topics of religion and ideology. Carnegie is an extremely Progressive school. There is nothing wrong with this when balanced with other views and when not directly broadcast in classrooms, but Carnegie felt very much like an incubator for extreme Left wing Liberals. It was not an environment that supported differing views, and teachers did not make an effort to maintain a neutral position in class. Finally, students are almost always in a state of stress. There is little support or relief provided by administration to help cope with the stress and expectations placed on students. Many of my classmates suffered bouts of depression or anxiety attacks. Into senior year, people left the school; out of 225 entering freshman, only 148 students graduated.

Carnegie Vanguard High School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted June 13, 2016
- a student
No because there's no punishment for cheating. There were several known cheaters that were able to graduate even after being caught or reported. One person was suspended for cheating in junior year and yet they graduated in the top 15% of the class.


Carnegie Vanguard High School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted June 13, 2016
- a student
Yes. I had three teachers that were amazing. Two are gone and I said thank you to the last. They were refreshingly honest and blunt about what was expected of us and they worked as hard or harder than the students. Their effort and attitude made high school more bearable.

Carnegie Vanguard High School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted June 13, 2016
- a student
Some teachers are phenomenal, but the majority of the good ones retired. A lot of them aren't that great and you learn how to self teach fairly quickly. There's a difference in studying and learning the material from scratch by yourself or with a tutor.

Carnegie Vanguard High School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted June 13, 2016
- a student
There's too much useless work. Plenty of the work is worthwhile and you definitely need it to practice and learn. However, when it isn't checked for accuracy and is just another meaningless grade in the book, it isn't worth much. A lot of busy work is given out in class and for homework, rather than assignments that genuinely are useful for students.


Carnegie Vanguard High School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted June 13, 2016
- a student
Of course. It encourages competition and the will to rise above others in your class. They emphasize to returning students each year that they are the "survivors" and that they are strong enough to finish. You must have persistence and determination to make it all four years, and even then you have to be invested enough to come back. That's why you see students leaving to attend other schools even in junior and senior year.

Carnegie Vanguard High School
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted June 13, 2016
- a student
The school cares about the ranking more than it cares about developing compassion or empathy. Rather, it's focus encourages students to be neurotic, dishonest and self-centered. People that can withstand the environment and rise above the undercurrent of pressure to beat someone else's scores are not receiving help from administration. They are practicing principles that may be verbally supported by administration but that are not necessarily encouraged in practice.

Carnegie Vanguard High School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted September 24, 2015
- a parent
The focus on the learning and critical thinking process and very small class size teaches students to own their work and really get to know their teachers. No one in this school will skate through unnoticed. Because of that, for a student to be successful, they must find their own distinct voice. That voice will become unmistakably theirs which absolutely encourages honesty and integrity. As for fairness, the way they encourage tolerance can only lead to fairness among students. The environment makes it "uncool" to be intolerant of differences. When it comes to teachers, I have seen nothing that would indicate any unfairness or favoritism. Every student in this school is identified as gifted & talented so the spectrum of intellectual ability is smaller that most other public schools. They know each of these students is here because they are smart and ready to learn.


Carnegie Vanguard High School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted September 24, 2015
- a parent
The commitment level of the teachers at CVHS is amazing! They make themselves available before and after school as well as during lunch to help anyone. Our daughter hasn't had a teacher yet who she didn't feel genuinely cared about how well she understands the work, not just being able to memorize and recite.

Carnegie Vanguard High School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted September 24, 2015
- a parent
I have trouble answering this question. My daughter has 3-6 hours of homework per night. But we expected that. It is an academic college prep focused high school. And she is a perfectionist, so she's not quick. She's really good, but definitely not fast when it comes to homework. If you are prepared for that much homework, you won't be bothered by it. But if you aren't, you would definitely say there is too much. We were prepared.

Nearby schools

Carnegie Vanguard High School
1501 Taft Street, Houston, TX  77019
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 60 reviews. (713) 732-3694
Last modified Carnegie Vanguard High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top