Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 18 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


21 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Brandenburg Elementary School 2

Posted June 05, 2014
- a parent
While the campus seems nice and they appear to have adequate resources but not state of the art by any means. The real issue with this school is consistency. They will tell you at the beginning of the year that additional instruction will be needed but then don't start tutoring or additional instruction for "average" kids until close to STAAR testing. I have never spoken with the principal and I was informed once that she didn't wish to be disturbed. The dual language program does not seem to be beneficial to english language speakers; if they stuggle the teacher response is "we can't help". Parent involvement seems limited to school district employees who have kids in the school. There is a communication issue with parents and getting volunteers. Overall, I am disappointed that I wasted several yrs of my child's education in this school. We are moving to charter school that will not be overcrowded and learning can be personalized. Perhaps the new principal coming in next year will improve the school. Just to note, great teachers Mr. Singh, Mrs. Cruz, Ms. Seminario.
1 person found this helpful

Brandenburg Elementary School 5

Posted June 13, 2013
- a community member
Well I just graduated from this school like 2 weeks ago & I really loved it there! I haven't been in Brandenburg since kindergarten, I started going to Brandenurg at the age of 7 I was about to go to 2nd grade but my parents decided to move from the house we where before. So then my dad found the perfect house, and my mom was looking for a school & she found Brandenburg. My teachers of 2nd grade were amazing well all of the teachers are! Even though I haven't been in that school since kinder, I am going to miss that school so much! Oh also Brandenburg has this thing called "Dual Language"! Dual language is something that helps you talk & right in English & in Spanish! I love this school so much!! :)


Brandenburg Elementary School 5

Posted November 17, 2009
- a parent
My son attends Brandenburg and I am totally satisfied and impressed. The teachers and principal go above and beyond in making sure the kids are well taken care of. You will see lots of teachers guiding them at the carpark, every corner of the hallway in the mornings.They have also conducted heaps of programs for parents, e,g , Strong Fathers, Carnival, just to list a few , making it fun for the kids. Great Job !.

Brandenburg Elementary School 5

Posted October 19, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Brandenburg Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted July 31, 2009
- a parent
Had Mrs. Corton and Mrs. Fernandez this year and it was wonderful. They were excellent teacher. Communication was great -- they not only informed you of what was going on but was was expected from your child at different stages of the school year. They push their student to a higher level, they do not baby their student and the students are so much more awarded academically. Both our kids have really enjoyed the dual language program. We are staying in the area just for the dual language program.


Brandenburg Elementary School 4

Posted August 04, 2008
- a parent
My daughter goes to Brandenburg and is in their dual language program. We have really been satisfied and impressed with the dual language. I feel like we are finally catching up with the rest of the world in teaching our children two languages.

Brandenburg Elementary School 5

Posted July 31, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Brandenburg Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted March 27, 2008
- a parent
My daughter attended this chool from K through 3 and we moved to N Arlington. We are planning to move back to Irving for her 5th grade year because of their dual language program at Brandenburg. The teachers worked well together and the students could speak English and Spanish very well.


Brandenburg Elementary School 5

Posted December 17, 2007
- a parent
I too have a child in Ms Corton and Ms Fernandez class and strongly agree with previous parent about communicaton between teacher and parent. He was also at Brandenburg last year and excellent communication between teachers and myself. Both years I was able to have meetings and conference calls when I was unable to make it to the school. I really appreciate the new security proceedure put into place for visitors on campus.

Brandenburg Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted November 27, 2007
- a parent
Hello- I just wanted to take a minute and say mrs. Corton and mrs.Fernandez are awsome. I am very pleased with all my girls have learned so far this year. Communication is great as well as the one on one time. Kuddos to you both!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Brandenburg Elementary School
2800 Hillcrest Drive, Irving, TX  75062
(972) 600-7100
Last modified Brandenburg Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Brandenburg Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 21 reviews. Top