Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

3 stars
Based on 23 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


27 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Griffin Elementary School 3

Posted November 13, 2014
- a parent
I am tired that the school is asking for money all the time. They always say that it is optional but the kids return to school with their brains washed asking and begin for money for everything. Why do the teachers inform to the kids the possible contributions? Let the parent decide! For example, is it necessary have a School Store? why my little kids need to learn how to buy silly toys and learn how to spend money unnecessary? I am no happy at all.

Griffin Elementary School 1

Posted September 29, 2014
- a parent
The principal talks down to parents! I am an adult and your equal not a little kid treat me as such when I enter your school. Not able deal well with children who do not fit their mold.
1 person found this helpful


Griffin Elementary School 5

Posted June 27, 2014
- a parent
I feel compelled to refute the last review before this one that states the school continually asks for money and then awards children whose families donate. The writer also asks "where does the money go?" Most fundraisers are planned by the PTA, not the school. Like all schools, Griffin PTA raises funds to support additional resources - these include purchasing smart boards and other technology for classrooms, developing a garden, hosting teacher appreciation events, and planning fun celebratory events for all the children. The school is blessed with a team of industrious parent volunteers who donate countless hours so staff can focus on teaching. If any parent wants to know "where the money goes" they should simply contact the PTA and they information is readily available. What's more, the school has a focus on service learning so often donations are used towards helping others in the community and around the world. Yes, there is an auction at the annual fundraiser where parents can bid for items (including "first in line in carpool". ) It's a very successful fundraiser since the school is situated among a community generous both financially and with their time.

Griffin Elementary School 1

Posted April 30, 2014
- a parent
The school's main intention is to extract $$$ from parents. Every week there is something or the other to extract $$$. The school plays with children's psychology by awarding students that contribute the most $$$ to the school. Horrible staff and poor parking - pick up and drop off. The school has an auction system for efficient pick up and drop off. Another way to make $$$. Where does this money go?
1 person found this helpful

Griffin Elementary School 5

Posted October 28, 2012
- a parent
My children have been at Griffin for 4 years now and, with the exception of the over-crowding last year, we are very pleased with the education our children are receiving. The school is very good about keeping parents abreast of curricular changes and answering any questions we may have. To round out our experience, we have been extremely fortunate to have exceptional teachers. I have spoken to parents of children who were transferred to Griffin through the redistricting last year. They have all had positive things to say, as well.


Griffin Elementary School 1

Posted October 16, 2011
- a community member
Simply put, this school is overcrowded as are ALL elementary schools in the Cinco Ranch West area. Why parents continue to move to this area and cram their kids into schools way over capcity blows my mind.

Griffin Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted October 13, 2010
- a parent
It is a fantastic school. Kids are inspired everyday.

Griffin Elementary School 5

Posted April 22, 2010
- a parent
This is a great school with a strong focus on academics. The teachers are very caring and help the children give their best. They are rather structured but I think for a good reason. Parents are expected to be very involved with their children's education, which is great. They have and use the resources to bring out the best in your children. Their librarian is great and so is their counselor. The PTA is very active and friendly, I am not a member though. As for the carpool, I have not had issues. We've been in other public schools where kids were not placed in your car like at Griffin, but you had to park and pick them from inside the school (sounds simple but in a cold, rainy climate and younger siblings this can become a journey).


Griffin Elementary School 1

Posted April 20, 2010
- a parent
This school is bad..... Drop off is so bad, pick up you wait 30 to 40 min. The principal doesn't care! Very RUDE people at this school. Watch out if yur not in PTA or have $$$ you are not even human at this school

Griffin Elementary School 5

Posted January 26, 2010
- a parent
We started at Griffin when it opened, then were rezoned to Bonnie Holland for a year, before moving house back into the Griffin zone. What a relief to be back at Griffin!! It has the best teaching staff I've ever come across - involved, caring, and the kids love them. Its extremely difficult to find fault with any of them. The contrast with BHE is stunning - at BHE the principal seems so focused on massaging the parents ego's that she appears to have lost track of the real goal of the school (to educate kids) and the development and management of the primary tool for doing this - the teachers!! I find the comment about the front office staff at MGE being unfriendly odd - maybe it is a case of reaping what one sows.... I would have no hesitation in recommending MGE to anyone moving to the area

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Griffin Elementary School
7800 South Fry Road, Katy, TX  77494
(281) 237-8700
Last modified Griffin Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Griffin Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 27 reviews. Top