Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

3 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


8 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Kemp Intermediate School 4

Posted August 18, 2014
- a community member
this school is good the teachers are very involved with the students and cares about how the kids are doing in school---from a student

Kemp Intermediate School 2

Posted January 18, 2014
- a parent
Communication between teachers and parents is severely lacking. Emails to the teachers are returned promptly by a couple, others never get returned. The so-called planner should not be a replacement for true communication. The lack of additional assistance for children is a real issue. Special education programs and materials have be cut, or merged into what is called inclusion, these students are not getting the additional assistance they need. Schools have declined over the last several years. Parental involvement is a few parents controlled by the administration.


Kemp Intermediate School 2

Posted May 20, 2011
- a parent
K-3rd was great in Primary school. The Intermediate is horrible. There is little to no communication with parents. The kids are supposed to relay all information via a spiral planner. I have no idea when things are due or even what some paper work is that comes home. When I email the teachers, the responses really don't say much other than "I have a lot of students and the planner is the best way we know how to communicate with parents." Seriously!! In the emails, the teachers are mis-spelling words!!! All I can think is, YOU are teaching MY child!!!!! We want to move so bad to get away from this school.

Kemp Intermediate School 5

Posted November 09, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Kemp Intermediate School 4

Posted September 27, 2008
- a teacher
New principal who is not a micro-manager who's leadership style is very collaborative with teachers and school staff. Discipline has been helped by the school's involvement in the Positive Behavior Supports Initiative. Teachers are good but hampered by low pay and little budget resources. The After School program gives students opportunities to continue learning in a fun and exciting way. I believe Kemp Intermediate has a very positive atmosphere and learning environment.


Kemp Intermediate School 2

Posted March 19, 2006
- a parent
School district is hampered by principal being a Micro manager and not allowing teachers to do their job. Good teachers but very poor management.

Kemp Intermediate School 1

Posted December 16, 2003
- a parent
I agree with the other parent... Kemp COULD be a great place for our kids to attend school

Kemp Intermediate School 1

Posted September 21, 2003
- a teacher
Kemp - could be a great place to go to school, but with the current administration it isn't. There is no discipline what so ever at the intermediate level. The kids at Kemp deserve better.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Kemp Intermediate School
101 Old Us 40, Kemp, TX  75143
(903) 498-1362
Last modified Kemp Intermediate School is a Public school that serves grades 3-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Kemp Intermediate School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. Top